We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just right” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stingray Sailing

Stingray Sailing
Ranked #5 of 181 Tours in Grand Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Remember when customer satisfaction came first? We do!! At Stingray Sailing, you will get to experience the main attraction in Cayman, swimming with the friendly Southern Stingrays, and you will get to do so with a company who's bottom line isn't a dollar sign. As a proud, family owned and operated business, we focus on getting to know our guests on a personal level, while at the same time, providing life long memories. With limited spaces, only 25 per tour available, you are guaranteed to be treated as a friend, not just a number. We offer relaxing tours done on board a beautiful, 43 foot sailing catamaran, to the world famous Stingray City Sandbar; and whether it is swimming with the stingrays, snorkeling the coral reef, or just enjoying the beautiful Caribbean sun and water, Stingray Sailing is committed to helping you make the best of your time in Grand Cayman. With daily tours scheduled to accommodate both cruise ship and on island guests, booking your tour is just a quick email or phone call away! Join our family, we look forward to having you on board!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
161 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Just right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went with Stingray Sailing on a recent excursion while on a cruise. They gave great information ahead of time. The meet up directions were very clear. They picked us up at the tender dock. The van to the boat was just fine! Stingray Sailing has smaller groups of around 20. That is much better than the huge "cattle" boats I have experienced on cruise company sponsored trips. We went out on a catamaran for two parts to the trip. The first was with the string rays. Very cool and we got to feed them. The second was snorkeling on a lovely shallow reef. One of the crew took pictures. No pressure to the entire day. Free water and fruit after the snorkel. Reasonable beer and sodas. The staff was friendly and professional. It was a lot of fun and we are glad booked through them!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank cegdoyle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    819
    25
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss this trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were very fortunate to book two excursions through trip advisor during our recent cruise. Both were home runs..... This nice catamaran trip is with a family owned and operated business that is intent on ensuring that you have a great time! From booking the trip via the internet with Michelle to the trip with Captain Chip and his dad Buster, every detail was taken care of. The stingrays were very accomodating, with Chip and the photographer (Mark) working to make sure we had a great experience with cool picture opportunities. Snorkeling was equally as good. Chip takes the time to personally talk with everyone. One other point is that Chip makes sure that his boat is not overcowded. This was very refreshing after seeing some of the other charters. We had 16 people on his 40+ foot sail boat. Chip and Michelle work hard to ensure they are the best! This is a great trip with truly nice people!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another great trip to Sting Ray City with Chip and Buster”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Second time out. Chip and Buster do a really nice job and mate Mark helped get everyone to hold and swim with stingrays. We were a little late getting started due to cruise ship people but once out there, chip has a great spot for the stingray experience then snorkeling afterward. Saw a moray eel for the first time - very cool. Then the sail back was awesome with a few beers and stories of the island, the waters, Chips background etc. Michelle does a great job getting you set up and this time, the weather wasnt great and they were really proactive in getting us a new day and in communicating. A class operation through and through. If you dont want to take the time to sail back, Chip has an Eco speedboat option. That was shorter coming and going but same stingray experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JackT K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stingray snorkeling Grand Cayman”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Booked with stingraysailing.com over the internet. Met us at Royal Watler pier during cruise. Not enough wind to sail unfortunately, but excellent interaction with stingrays. They had favorites that they had names for and spent time explaining how to hold fish( food) and stingrays. Had photos taken which were put onto disc for us but no pressure to buy. Very laid back tour. then moves to reef for excellent snorkeling experience. Huge variety of fish. weather was very calm and great visibility. Would highly recommend Captain Chip and Buster. Provided cool water and fresh fruit. Sodas and beer available for purchase. Trip was everything I could have asked for (except couldn't put up the sails)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suer0nayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burien, Washington
Level Contributor
173 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

What an amazing time! They were there waiting for us and ready to take us on the short drive to the boat. We had 24 people on our boat and it didn't feel crowded at all. Chip and his crew were wonderful and so is his wife Michelle. After an amazing boatride out to stingray city, we got to get in the water with these beautiful creatures. They get in the water and take photos with you and get the stingrays to come around. They are not pushy at all about buying photos or anything. The have water and some fruit they cut up for you on the boat. I was really scared at first, but I am so glad I got in the water and even got to hold a massive one :0) Grand Cayman is an absolutely beautiful place and this trip was a once in a lifetime opportunity. If you are there, I highly recommend going on this tour. You will be so happy you did!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank supersnookers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stingray Sailing also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
George Town, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Stingray Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing