We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Captain Dexter=What Grand Cayman is all about! Excellence Sting Ray City Snorkling”

Dexter's Fantasea Tours
Ranked #5 of 182 Tours in Grand Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sting ray sandbar and snorkeling on the reef with a sail boat. Small groups - 20 maximum
Kent, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Captain Dexter=What Grand Cayman is all about! Excellence Sting Ray City Snorkling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Our family of four was referred by our hotel to take a half day trip to Sting Ray City and Snorkling on Grand Cayman. We are glad we did. One of the best experiences we have ever had. Captain Dexter and Mate Simon are what Grand Cayman is all about. Experienced Guides--made you feel safe and secure at all times. Expertly brought us to Sting Ray City--let all of us handle a "pet" Stingray of theirs! at the site--all most unbelievable really, then ample time allowed at the reef snorkling. We even sailed back (without use of the motor)! Lots of guides out there--this is the one to pick.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank VincentLaFontan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    996
    50
    4
    2
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“We loved Dexter and his tour of Stingray City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

If you want to have a great time seeing Stingray City and meet a great guy with a ton of local info and stories go with Dexter. We looked at a number of tours for Stingray City and decided to go with Dexter based on the recommendations from the hotel staff and local cab drivers. It was a great decision! He charges less than half the price of Red Sails Sports and provided a great experience. His catamaran is a blast to ride on and he does everything he can to ensure you have a great time. My family and I felt this was the highlight of our Cayman Island vacation. Highly recommended!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank neo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We signed up with Dexter's not knowing what to expect. We got picked up at our condo, by the most friendly, pleasant tour guide I've ever met and he's the owner of the business! We got on the catamaran, motored out to the sting ray area and were shown how to feed and hold a sting ray. Then over to the reef for the best snorkeling I've ever had. Lots of encouragement from Dexter and his crew for those who were a little timid. Just an all around great trip with nice people who obviously love their work.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Libby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Dexter and his deckhand were extremely knowledgable about the sting rays & and very reassuring with those who were a bit scared! ( no need! ) it was definitely one of the highlights to our trip, especially after we needed to pops on a week DUE to WEATHER! Which is uncommon! We stopped to snorkel as well & the area was beautiful. Dexter's catamaran was in immaculate condition we felt at home, they made you feel so comfortable! We plan on going back & taking Dexters tour again! Thanks Dexter!!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing Tour Company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

I can't say enough about Dexter and his assistant Oscar. They are the most hospitable, wonderful folks I've ever taken a tour with. We did the Snorkeling and Stingray City tour and they were so kind and helpful with those who were not great swimmers or who were a bit nervous. First off, the trimaran was a pleasant surprise. We loved riding in the open air. They also provided cold drinks for us as well as hosed everyone down as they came out of the ocean. They couldn't do enough for us. They treated us so well and gave us an experience we'll never forget. My husband can stop raving about his interaction with the stingrays and Dexter & Oscar were so good about making sure everyone had personal time with them.

It was a perfect size group of 14. They provided door to door service and wouldn't collect any monies until we came back and they assured we had a good time. We will definitely book with Dexter's the next time we are back in Grand Cayman.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jamy208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dexter's Fantasea Tours also viewed

Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
George Town, Grand Cayman
 

Been to Dexter's Fantasea Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing