We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food to decent prices but in a dull atmophere!”
Review of Eats Cafe

Eats Cafe
Ranked #34 of 304 Restaurants in Grand Cayman
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Sollentuna, Sweden
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food to decent prices but in a dull atmophere!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

A rich variation on the menu that most likely will give everyone in a party a meal of their choice. The food is good and the portions are plenty and this to very nice prices. The service is good and accurate, unfortunately the location and atmosphere is not something to write home about. This restaurant is a mix of sports bar/restaurant and take away.

Helpful?
Thank Mhumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    399
    104
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Eats Cafe, versatile, multi-culture, outstanding food!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

First off, it's tough enough to find a decent place to eat while on vacation somewhere new. Even when you have friends that have been to Grand Cayman, they may not know about Eats Cafe. So when we got in late to Grand Cayman on 12/29/13 we were hungry. Sunshine Resorts front desk told us to hurry and catch Eats Cafe (Legends Bar is affiliated) before they closed (11pm I think on a Sunday).

Wow, what a great recommendation.

I had the Indian curry, my wife had chicken pad Thai. Holy crap, they were both great! We went back there two more times, more pad Thai, then breakfast (American eggs/ham/pancakes) as well.

What can I say? Huge selection on the menu. Everything we tried was good to excellent tasting, and not a wallet killer...didn't hurt that you could order a beer or liquor libation to go with your food, if you wanted it.

I bounced between the Sunshine Grill and Eats Cafe for half of my meals in Grand Cayman (yes, I had access to a car!). This would be where I take a family with kids for SURE!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScumOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EatsLegendzYoshis, Manager at Eats Cafe, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Eats Cafe. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us- and took the time to help other customers and fellow travelers by posting your review. We hope to see you again soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great for Breakfast!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed in Grand Cayman for 5 days and ate breakfast here for 4 of them....the wife wanted to try somewhere else...bad choice. The menu is not large but they offer the standards and the portions are generous. We sat at the bar everyday, leaving the booths for the families, so we never had to wait. Your breakfast arrives quickly and hot...they don't fool around in the kitchen. Give this place a try. It's easily found across from the Westin.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SatFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EatsLegendzYoshis, Manager at Eats Cafe, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thanks for your review! Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice, standard fare restaurant”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I was surprised at the size of the restaurant between the standard restaurant and the adjoining sports bar. There was a large variety. The food was fine and the prices were very reasonable. I would recommend this restaurant for a nicely priced meal for sure. Nothing 'islandy' about it. This could have been a good restaurant anywhere in the US. But again, I liked it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joelnf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Review from a Caymanian...”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Please note that the Cayman Islands is located outside of the United States and Canada. We may do things a little differently here but you are sure to find good service, good food and great value at Eats. Locals love this place. With lots of variety for lunch and dinner and a great
breakfast menu you will get bored eating here. I have been going to Eats for 15 years and I have never had any of the negative experiences that are claimed in the other reviews. Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naomi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EatsLegendzYoshis, Manager at Eats Cafe, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hi there,
thank you for your review. It is so nice to hear that we are doing a great job, especially from a regular customer! We value your business and are so pleased that you took the time to review us. Hope to see you again soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eats Cafe also viewed

Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman
 
George Town, Grand Cayman
Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands
 

Been to Eats Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing