We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way overrated!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Way overrated!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed May 26, 2007

As a part of a group of 20+ attending a wedding in April, we spent 4 nights on Peter Island. Having suffered through a tough NYC winter, I had high expectations for this trip--especially given the reviews on this site--unfortunately the property did not live up tp the hype.

Our ocean front suite was relatively large and the immediate access to the beach (which was beautiful) a real plus--but it was not worth $1200+ a night. The linens were cheap and scratchy and the decor rather dated and the outdoor showers did not work.

The food was mediocre and the service was horrendous. We waited 30 minutes for drinks and 1 1/2 hours for sandwiches at lunch at the grill. I understand that "Island Time" is slower but that was ridiculous! Simple and polite requests (water,salt, sugar,etc) were frequently responded to with a sullen, sometimes surly, attitude. I observed similar treatment of others in our group--the one exception was the bride and groom. They were treated like royalty!

With so many other wonderful tropical resorts availabe, I do not know why anyone would go through the all the trouble to get to Peter Island--I know we will not go back.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Service and food
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BigAppleTraveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    155
    65
    42
    16
See reviews for
110
583
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas TX
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2007

This is a wonderful resort. It takes a while to get there (fly to tortola, cab to pier, hour wait for their private ferry).. but it is all worth it once you get there. The resort is beautiful, very private and quiet, well maintained - truly spectacular beach. The best thing about it after the location is how truly uncrowded it is.

We stayed in the beach suites. They are wonderful and truly right on the beach. There are only 20 beach suites and it's a perfect location.

The food was very good and included in price. Alcohol was not included in price but it's not a place to sit and drink a lot anyway.

Suggestions -- pack a carry on that you can live from for a day or two. Those who did not waited a day or so for luggage to catch up. Dress code for dinner is not shorts, so dress like a upscale summer restaurant.

We can't wait to visit there again.

  • Liked — uncrowded and truly lovely
  • Disliked — took a long time to get there (long wait for private ferry)
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dottie dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2007

Let's not get carried away. Peter Island is a tired, barely four star resort on a five star island. Those seeking five star luxury, food and service will be unquestionably disappointed.

Property: Spectacular. The island is almost surrounded by gorgeous beaches, water and vistas. The pool was simple, small, but nice. The lobby was airy. Tradewinds restaurant shared the same view of as the pool area and, true to its name, enjoyed a pleasant breeze for our every meal there. Deadman's Bar and Grill was nicely situated on the stunning Deadman's Beach. Deadman's was our favorite place to eat because of its breathtaking views and calming palm trees. We did do the sunset drive which we recommend. You really get a chance to see other parts of the island along with a splendid sunset. The spa is the jewel of the island. Secluded and overlooking Big Reef Bay, this is one of the best spots on the island. We spent hours here listening to the surf and watching the clouds roll by. You must spend some time at the spa for its views and location. The spa itself was fairly nice with nice treatment facilities, but utilitarian, small locker rooms.

Rooms: We booked an Oceanview room but were upgraded to an Oceanfront suite through our AmEx Platinum card. We did not have a look into the ocean view rooms, but we thought the location alone made the Oceanfront rooms a grade above the Oceanview rooms. The Oceanfront rooms overlook the turquoise waters of Deadman's Beach. The Oceanview rooms should be renamed "Poolview rooms" with a token view of the ocean (and no beach). The rooms were remarkably clean. The floorplan was spacious and accomodating. We had an upstairs room with a vaulted ceiling. Although the first floor Oceanfront rooms open up to Deadman's beach and hammocks, we would still choose the second floor room for the vaulted ceiling, the better second floor view and the balcony. Our balcony was fantastic. It was furnished classy, comfortable patio furniture. [The balcony could be the highlight of the room]. Our room had so many windows. By my count there were at least 10 windows in the place. The bathroom was quite large and well appointed. We had no television (which was fine with us), but there was no place to play an ipod or other mp3 player (which is becoming commonplace these days in many hotels, including lesser hotels than Peter Island). The room, however, was not without flaws. The furniture was fairly worn and dated. The multicolored fish pattern on the furniture and bed spread was more reminiscent of a Holiday Inn in Jamaica circa 1989. This was hardly proper for a resort that bills itself as a luxury resort. In addition, we had a roach infestation. I spotted three large roaches during our 4 night stay. One of them ran across the bathroom vanity next to our toothbrushes . . . which we promptly threw out. I understand that I am in the Caribbean and that roaches live there, but three in four nights was a little much and indicative of a larger problem. We did not contact management, because we did not want our room fumigated during our short stay or want to move rooms. Some may say, then, that I am not entitled to comment on it. I'll leave that to your discretion. There were also some awkward room details. The shower basin was tiled with this mismatched rusty-colored small tile that clashed with the white tile of the whirlpool and the remaining stone-colored tile in the bathroom. The window treatments were remarkably cheap. The AC unit is located above the whirlpool, making for a noisy bath while the AC unit is running. The bed sheets were Hampton Inn quality.

Food: This could perhaps be the biggest disappointment on the island. Yes, we are foodies from Chicago and our expectations are admittedly, but not intentionally, elevated. However, we have been to the Caribbean many times and have had much better meals at different resorts. We had read so many good reviews about the food. Unfortunately, the food was your basic country-club fare that flirted only with mediocrity. The portions were remarkably small. My jerk chicken sandwich contained a filet of chicken no larger than .3 lbs in a HUGE bun. I felt cheated. The shrimp appetizer was two average size shrimp. The crab cake appetizer was one crab cake about an inch in diameter. Sometimes these size portions are fine for a gourmet restaurant where the emphasis is on the flavors, not the size. Trust us, there is no gourmet preparation or presentation at Peter Island. We were not looking for Olive Garden sized meals either. We just wanted a standard portion.

The lack of culinary variety is also noteworthy. The menu changed very little day by day. Perhaps there would be one fish dish that would be new. Otherwise, it was the same old menu. Moreover, the menu at Tradewinds varied little from that of Deadman's. You were essentially choosing locations to eat, not cuisine options. The lack of variety of fruits was also vexing. The most exotic fruit: pineapple. Daily fruit plates or selections included, honeydew, canteloupe, bananas and pineapple. No mango, no papaya, no kiwi. Room service was also awkward. There is no standard room service menu. You get what ever is on the menu at the restaurants (which, as discussed, is the same menu). If you want to know what that is, you have to call and have the menu read to you over the phone or you have to wait for a menu for that evening to arrive in your room; then order; then wait again for the food (which was likely plucked from the buffet). Lastly, conch fritters are a staple at many restaurants in the BVI. I repeatedly asked for conch fritters at my meals and I was repeatedly told that they did not have them. We never left a meal with anticipation for the next. Disappointing to say the least. We did, however, find a friend in the key-lime pie and the coconut french toast. Easily the best dishes. Sidenote: the evening entertainment, especially the jumby stilt walkers, was quite good. Another sidenote: the restaurants tend to get quite crowded on some nights because only one restaurant may be open for the evening and because the dining window is quite short, only 2-3 hours. You will see the same guests and servers repeatedly.

Service: The service was good, but certainly not 5 star. Most requests were met with a smile, some genuine; some contrived. Also, this property has one of the most inviting, gorgeous beaches we have ever been to (Deadman's beach). Yet, no beach side service exists. What a travesty! Trekking through the sand to get a drink to haul back to our lounge chairs was not appealing. We had many minor requests that were dropped. On two or three occasions it took 10 or more rings for someone to answer the guest service line. Housekeeping came twice daily. The rooms were cleaned well, but nothing was neatly straightened or folded like you might see at a five star resort.

Overall, we felt like the Resort runs a little ragged and off the cuff and lacks the precision and polish of true five star resorts.

Other notables: the ferry service was great; we were promptly picked up and dropped off with no hassles. We visited in April and there were many, many kids. More kids than I ever would have imagined given the web site's discouragement. The kids, for the most part, were well behaved, but don't expect the resort to be childless. Also, consider doing your own research for activities off island. Given our conversation with a local vendor, Peter Island, we believe, places a markup on these services. The trip to White Bay was great for getting away from the more crowded Deadman's beach. However, it is not nearly as pretty, in our estimation as Deadman's. We'd suggest sticking it out at Deadman's.

It is with mixed emotions that we write this review. We wanted so much more. For the five star price we expected five star luxury, but were severely disappointed with the 3.5 to 4 star luxury and service. We loved Peter Island, but we did not love the Resort. It is a fine place to stay during the offseason when prices are more commensurate with the quality of luxury, but even then do not expect a five star property. Next time we are in the Caribbean we will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank ChgoDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2007

The resort/island was beautiful. The weather in March was perfect. Room was mediocre and was dated and dark. We supposedly had a full ocean view near the Point but it was mostly obstructed by the palm trees. The bed was comfortable and the porch was nice except the obstructed view.

Coming from Manhattan, we found the food fine but not great. The daily lunch by the beach and the Sunday buffet were mediocre. Only the a la carte dinner was good and would rate it 23-25 on a Zagat scale.

The beach was amazing and not crowded. The complementary water sports were nice but I found the instructor unhelpful when I tried to learn windsurfing. The sunset excursion was beautiful but don't order the cheese plate as it was a bit stale. The ground was nicely manicured with beautiful flowers and trees. The spa facility and its jacuzzi by the beach were first-class; my Seaside Bohio massage was memorable.

Overall it's a good experience but not likely would come back any time soon. For the price it charged, I expected more than what it offered.

  • Liked — Spa & the beach
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MindWideOpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2007

Stayed at the resort the first week of May for a much-needed vacation, and this resort exceeded expectations fostered both on this site and the hotel's website. What really struck us about Peter Island was the extraordinary privacy, as well as the warm staff that made everything easy and flawless during our visit.

We stayed in the oceanview (poolside) rooms, and while I'll agree with other viewers that they are not fancy for the price, our room (upper level) was comfortable, immaculately clean, decent sized, and stocked with very nice amenities (his and hers flip flops, waffle weave robes, good bath products, etc.) A nice balcony with a table and chairs, and two comfy chaise lounges, all teak, overlooked the palms, water, and pool area.

I'm a beach person, he's a pool person, so the location worked well for us -- we'd have breakfast served in the pool area and then head to the pool (which we had to ourselves for hours on several days), then head "over the hill" and have lunch at the beach and spent the afternoons there, with early evening spent poolside before dinner.

Many people we met had major delays flying into Tortola with connections...we were fortunate to be coming from the NYC area, where a nonstop flight to STT can be combined with a transfer to Peter Island (only on Saturdays). This worked out great -- the resort's yacht was waiting for us dockside in downtown Charlotte Amalie (a 10 minute cab ride, which the resort provides as part of the transfer); the yacht stops in Tortola, where the captain takes your paperwork into customs (we didn't even have to leave the boat) and on to Peter Island, about a 1 1/2 hour very pleasant transfer. The reverse trip stopped at St. John to clear customs (note that you still have to clear customs again at the STT airport), and since we had a considerable amount of time between the boat's arrival and our flight, the captain stowed our luggage so that we could roam around St. Thomas and have lunch. Nice!

We were not bored with the resort food and thought all meals excellent; we alternated between Tradewinds and the Beach Bar and thought both equal quality. I am not a buffet fan, but the two buffet nights were fine as far as they go -- the seafood, especially the crab claws, were particularly delicious.

The spa is as fabulous as all say. We also did the Baths snorkeling trip, which is certainly worth doing, although you will spend much time on the boat than snorkeling and it might be better advertised as a sailing excursion.

What struck us most about Peter Island compared to other resorts was how many times we found ourselves completely alone, at the main pool, at lunch and all afternoon at the spa's pool/beach/patio, and even the uncrowded Deadman's beach. We often wondered where everyone was (and the resort seemed full from what we saw at dinner)!

What also struck us was the unfailing friendliness of not only every staff member and management, but of our fellow guests. In a place this small, you know most people by face if not by name quickly, and in the laid-back vibe, acquaintances became friends quickly. This held true across age groups (from 20's honeymooners to vacationers and honeyemooners in their 30's, 40's and 50's.

Don't go for the night life (you have to make your own), but for the serene beauty and complete relaxation, where everyone has a smile!

  • Liked — The peaceful atmosphere and breathtaking scenery
  • Disliked — Could only stay a week
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank vabeachgirlinnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2007

We just got back from an amazing honeymoon at Peter Island!!
It was a perfect week to go - great weather and no kids. The food was absolutely delicious and the people are so friendly. Everyone is very attentive and we were impressed that many remember your names. Look for Natalie, Stephen, Collin, Akim and Mary Ann, so sweet! Also Jean Kelley is quite the entertainer!
We were also joined by quite a few other honeymooners. It is a very private, quiet place to relax which is just what we needed after the stress of a wedding. There was no overcrowding of the beach which was very nice. It was like our own private getaway. Deadmans beach is THE BEST! White Bay beach is nice as well, but not much there. Definetely do the day trip to Virgin Gorda to see "The Baths" and for snorkeling - it was beautful! If you want more of a nightlife, this is not the place to go. There was entertainment a few nights a week, plus the managers' reception on Monday nights which was very fun. Our oceanview room was nice, didn't get to see the beachfront room. Will definetely go back for one of our anniversaries. Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank jaime250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2007

Overall we very much enjoyed our week at Peter Island Resort and would like to give particular kudos to the dive team who were professional, safety-driven yet very warm/inclusive. The reefs were in great shape compared to much of the Caribbean. Many visitors are repeat guests. The island itself offers a plethora of activities with several miles of running trails, an overall underutilized exercise room which was great and bicycles. The thoughtful touches such as water stations on the high trails were much appreciated.
Our one criticism relates to the large number of children present at the facility. We were there in March, which was undoubtedly school vacation time for many families. I am a pediatrician who purposefully chooses vacations without younger children. Peter Island Resort makes a point of not recommending children less than 12 years of age on their website. It is quite obvious that many of the guests outright disregard these recommendations to meet their own needs. However, it is also obvious that the resort is aware younger children are guests as most of them were seen wearing the small beach sandals provided by the resort.
My recommendation is either better enforcement of their age recommendations or change their advertising to better reflect their actual customers.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
17 Thank mjmorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peter Island
4.3 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
5.6 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
291 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
383 reviews
7.4 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
18.6 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peter Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peter Island Resort and Spa

Property: Peter Island Resort and Spa
Address: Road Town | Tortola, 00801 2409, Peter Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Peter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peter Island Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, West Indies, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Peter Island Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peter Island Hotel Peter Island
Peter Island Resort And Spa British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing