We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got Married Here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Got Married Here!”
Reviewed April 3, 2005

We married on the beach here in 2001. Then did the Ashore/Afloat package. Probably won't afford a trip back but never regretted the trip. A memory for a lifetime. AMAZING food! Even the food was included in our sailing. Local feel vacation with high class!

  • Stayed December 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    154
    64
    39
    15
See reviews for
106
575
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2005

My wife and I, as well as my 16 y/o daughter and my 10 y/o son just spent 5 days at Peter Island. It was a great experience, but there were a few glitches. Still, we will likely return someday.

First, the high points. The resort is the only inhabitant of an 1800 acre island. Most of the island is accessible only by boat and the beaches at that end are rocky. The main portion of the resort is nestled between the marina and Deadman's Bay, the latter containing a spectacular white sand beach. We stayed in regular hotel rooms, which are housed in two-story A-frames fronting on the marina, and opening onto the pool area in the back. We requested an upgrade to a junior suite, which sits at the edge of Deadman's Bay, but these were filled. The rooms are spartan compared, say, to the cookie-cutter luxury of a Ritz Carlton, but at the high end of typical Caribbean accomidations. Our rooms were immaculate, even the bathrooms, which we have usually not found in this part of the world. Beds were comfortable, though nothing spectacular (i.e., not one of the miracle beds the larger luxury chains are advertising these days.) Linens were clean and comfortable. The room was stocked with sandals, a flashlight, and a CD of island music which could be played in the CD/clock radio. There was no TV. For those that cannot escape completely from the outside world, the room telephone has a dataport for Internet access, though it was quite expensive at $2 for connection and $.75 per minute. (There was a spare office that was hastily converted into an Internet room; it had a huge desk with two computers hooked to the resort's T1 line, but only one worked. There was no charge for this.)

There were two restaurants, Tradewinds, which was near the pool and our rooms, and Deadman's Bay Beach Bar and Grill right on the beach. We ate breakfast and dinner each day at the Tradewinds, and had lunch most days at Deadmans. Breakfast included a wonderful Caribbean buffet with an omlette station, and there was ala carte available as well. Lunch at Deadmans usually had a buffet as well with various salads and entrees. Dinner at Tradewinds was always excellent, with the best food we have had in the Caribbean. Service was mostly superb, especially after our waitress, Maxine, took us under her wing. Under the American plan, all food is included, but alcohol is not, nor are the obligatory beach-side smoothies or even Cokes. The rooms are initially stocked with 6 sodas, two bottles of water, and two beers; they are supposed to be restocked during one's stay, but ours never were. Bottled water sometimes was free, and sometimes was not, but after a day we drank tap water, and there were no ill effects from doing so.

There is no nightlife at all, and that was fine. There was usually live music at dinner however. While the resort "discourages" children, at least half the guests had children with them, and this did not detract in the least from the ambience. We spent our days swimming, snorkeling, resting, eating, and hiking. A good time if that's what you expect to be doing. There are several miles of hiking trails, with one trail leading to a wonderful sunset view, and another to White Bay beach, a spectacular but secluded stretch of white sand and blue water. Snorkeling off the beaches was disappointing, but there were some interesting features here and there, with the best snorkeling actually off of Deadman's rather than White Bay as we had been told. We also chartered a deep-sea fishing boat for our last day there ($800/4hrs), and I caught a 65 pound mahi mahi!

And now, the "glitches".... Service was generallly very good, but there was something lacking giving the rather high price of the resort and the exclusive reputation. The resort can hold a maximum of 100 guests, but I never got the feeling that any of the staff (beyond Maxine, that is) even knew our names. There was just no personal touch. I compare this to the Concierge-level service at a Ritz Carlton (which comes out similarly priced), where we were immediately made to feel totally at home. We had phoned the resort prior to arriving to warn them about my daughter's shellfish allergy, and we were assured that all restaurants would be alerted. This didn't happen and we had to remind everyone at virtually every meal to help us with food precautions for her. At one point, a different waitress at Tradewinds (not Maxine!) didn't seem to even comprehend what I was requesting, and I had to ask to speak to the chef (who was very understanding as well as a fantastic chef!) This exemplifies some of the problem...many members of the staff do not speak English as well as some of the others. I am usually good with accents and gently making myself understood (I try not to be a stereotypical American tourist!), but there were times I just couldn't get through. Some of the other glitches (and they were minor) relate to this, I think. We had ordered drinks to be delivered to us at the sunset lookout point, but the message did not get through. We had lunch packed for the deep-sea fishing expedition, but while there were four full set-ups with pasta salad and fruit, there was no cutlery, and two of four sandwiches never made it to the lunch bag.

Peter Island is a haven for yachters, and they were all over the place, some with children that were, ummmm, less well-behaved than the resort guests. They would crowd the bar at lunchtime. This was, however, a minor irritation.

Perhaps the most disappointing, or maybe just annoying, problem involved the attitude of the entire resort about the Spa. It is a beautiful building, but the services are very pricey, and you can't go in if you don't purchase a massage or some such thing. I was not going to spend $130 or so for my 10 year old to get a massage. The VERY WORST part of all this is that the spa has taken over Big Reef Bay, one of the most picturesque beaches on Peter Island, and those of us not using the spa are not allowed. Frankly, this might violate the laws of the British Virgin Islands, which declare all beaches public. Spa personel were minimally apologetic when tellling us we could not walk on the beach, and frankly the attitude left us with a rather bitter taste overall. I would urge the management (Sandra and Tom) in the strongest possible terms to reverse this policy. I don't know who they are trying to appeal to with this resort within a resort mentality, but it is generally not a good idea to shove aside part of your clientelle to appeal to a smaller subsegment.

So, the Peter Island experience is a good one, though with a few glitches. Some are just part of a Caribbean vacation. I prefered Peter Island to Caneel Bay, although my wife feels the opposite. It is definately more upscale than Bitter End, and has overall better service. We will probably try some other resorts, such as Little Dix, but I do expect to return to Peter Island someday.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank nucleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 17, 2005

We went to Peter Island to celebrate our wedding anniversary in August 2004. We spent an entire week there and it was paradise from the beginning.

The food was wonderful and everything was included in the price with alcohol being the only exception. We stayed in an oceanfront suite and the amenities were superb. The jacuzzi tub and glass enclosed shower was wonderful and there was plenty of bubble bath too! We rode bikes to and from the beach, the pool, and our room. They do have an island shuttle but we preferred to ride or walk. The beach, and pool were never crowded.

We also had the pleasure of having a day on a secluded part of the island and we had the beach pretty much to ourselves and the resort packed lunch for us which was delicious. We also rode a hobie cat around for several days. Lessons were free and there was no charge for using the catamaran. Awesome!

The staff was wonderful to say the least. I have nothing but great things to say about the place. I don't know how I'll ever be able to vacation anywhere else after experiencing Peter Island.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pa.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2005

At 65 years old, this resort is my kind of place. During my trip a few weeks back, I brought my two 22 year old assistants down to help out with logistics, etc., and they seemed to have a great time at the beautiful topless beach, and at the vinatge 1970s disco. Our bed was a little tight for three, but we managed...

Helpful?
37 Thank ABC-Corp-Exec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2005

My wife and I spent 5 fun-filled, relaxing days @ Peter Island at the end of January. We were celebrating our 10th anniversary, and opted for 5 ultra-luxe days @ PI, followed by 2 days at the Ritz Carlton, St Thomas on our way home. Here are the highlights

Good
-------
* The resort is just beautiful. The setting, the views, both restaurants, the beach-front rooms, the pool -- all are drop dead gorgeous in their tropical island setting. The grounds are very nicely laid out, and the gardeners work overtime to present beautiful grounds.
* The spa was a-m-a-z-i-n-g...the most beautiful setting for a spa we've ever seen. We're fairly well traveled, but this one took our breath away. We both had massages and enjoyed the full spa experience. Try the bohio if you can (we wish we did), and don't miss the somewhat hidden jacuzzi that looks out over the beach by the spa.
* We thought the food was great...particularly the Caribbean buffet. Breakfast/lunch were mostly the same menus each day, but each offered plenty of variety and tons of fresh fruit and salads (in addition to entrees) such that we were never disappointed. All of our dinners were yummy and fun. After a week I suspect the repetition could be an issue, and there are no other options.
* The small fitness room was more than adequate, with all the equipment you should need for a workout while on vacation. There are great walking options on the trails as well.
* The beaches were fantastic. We spent most time on Deadman's bay, and ventured over the White Bay Beach where we had the entire beach to ourselves. We snorkeled and had a great day there (definitely take advantage of the lunch delivery while you're out there!).
* Service all the way around was top notch. From our pick-up in St Thomas (we were the only ones on the PI boat and the service was impeccable), to our meal service, the spa, and all the way around...we always felt like welcome guests. True...some things happened at "island pace", but this never caused a problem for us.
* We did a 1/2 day sail with Paul & Judy on the Silmaril and had a blast! We highly recommend this.
* We had a draw-dropping sunset out at the Loop. They will drive you out with wine where you can enjoy the sunset and relax...also highly recommended.

Bad
-------
* The bedding was quite disappointing. The mattress was clearly past its prime, and the bedding felt more like Holiday Inn than Four Seasons. This seems like such an obvious and easy thing to bring to the level of the rest of the resort -- get on this one PI!
* There was also some wear and tear in the rooms that should be resolved. Most was quite minor, but attention to detail is what resorts like this should be about. The Four Seasons sets the standard...but, any small gaps at PI were more than made up by the setting, the seclusion, and the fun.

We were both surprised at the wide array of activities to choose from. We expected to lie on the beach the whole time, doing nothing. We ended up running out of days to do everything. Between a 1/2 day on the Silmaril, a 1/2 day at White Bay Beach, the day trip to the Baths, a couple of spa treatments, and a SCUBA class, we didn't even have time to try the sailing or other beach activities. Good reason to come back!

My wife and I are in our mid-30s. We're not big drinkers or disco-types. There is definitely no night life on the island, and that was just fine for us. If you're looking for bars/clubs...look elsewhere for sure. That said, it in no way felt like a place for the over-60 crowd to us.

We spent 2 days @ the St Thomas Ritz when we left. We liked the Ritz a bunch too, but definitely missed the tropical privacy and supreme relaxed environment at PI.

Overall..we highly recommend the resort and look forward to our chance to return. We would likely do the same scenario: spend 5 days at PI, and change the pace by spending a few somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank UpVentoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2005

spent a week in January of 2005 and was not impressed. Deadmans beach is spectacular but that is where the spectaculoar ends. The rooms are dated and full of Amway products. The linen and sheets were sub standard and were not even 100% cotton. Just not up to high standards unless you do not travel a lot and are ignorent to five star resorts the rooms were like camping. Try the Ritz or the Westins and stay away from this place.

Helpful?
18 Thank NewportRI5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 14, 2005

My wife & I just spent 6 days at Peter Island. Our overall experiance was wonderful. From the moment we landed at Beef Island Airport, we were greeted by the PI staff right out side the airport door. Then taken to the boat to get us over to PI. We were greeted at the Resort by both the Manager and Assitant Manager. We were made to feel welcome right from the start. Our room at the Beach Suites was very nice. All of our meals were presented well and quite good. The staff for the most part was attentive & friendly. They made a true efffort to make you feel welcome. The new Spa was very nice and our Spa services were quite good. Even the ground keepers smiled and said hello. We enjoyed the privateness of the beaches. PI did there best to keep the yachters from infiltrating our private beaches.
It also helped that we had 6 days of magnificent weather.
We met many nice people from all over the World that were staying at the resort.
We loved it, and would definate go back to Peter Island.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peter Island
4.3 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
4.1 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
7.4 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
4.4 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
12.9 mi away
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
#1 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peter Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peter Island Resort and Spa

Property: Peter Island Resort and Spa
Address: Road Town | Tortola, 00801 2409, Peter Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Peter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peter Island Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, West Indies, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Peter Island Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peter Island Hotel Peter Island
Peter Island Resort And Spa British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing