We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect milestone birthday escape!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
“Perfect milestone birthday escape!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and I traveled from Tennessee to our new "second home" to celebrate a milestone birthday and escape the 2014 Winter. Duncan picked us up from the Tortola airport and his courteous and informative conversation allowed us to start to slip into our vacation right away. Jennifer greeted us at the dock with a smile and Rock took our bags and transferred us to Dead Man's beach for dinner. The food, facilities and staff were beyond amazing from then on out. We opted to skip any off island excursions because we were so content.

When you tell a friend you and your spouse are getting away they always say how wonderful it is going to be. I can truly say this was the case with our trip. Looking back we now know what it means to have a perfect get-a-way. The staff really made the difference. Take the time to get to know them a little. Rosalyn (brought us breakfast in our room a few times) said it best... "Love comes in one size and one size fits all!"

Marsha S, Claudette, Azim, Jennifer, Jennifer, Jeaner, Donna, Rochelle, Tracy, Matilda, Geeta, Rock, Lydia, and of course Mrs Jean, etc, etc etc.... thank you so much.

Lydia has been there for 41 years.. one of three employees who have been there since the start. You simply don't see that commitment many places and there is a reason she has stayed. We looked forward to her coming to straighten our room to chat for a minute though we had to purposely catch her there since she slipped in when were at dinner or the sunset point.

If you see Tracy or Matilda for breakfast, tell them "Mr Everything" told you to order an omelet with everything in it, ask for an espresso, sit as close to the water as you can and soak it in.

Now if only I had managed to squeeze the Ginger Lemonade recipe out of Captain before we left....

Room Tip: Beach front jr suites were fantastic. we stayed downstairs for easy in and out as well as our own h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnriverfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    155
    64
    40
    15
See reviews for
106
578
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

By the time we had completed the international flight, the inter-island flight with three stops, the taxi and the ferry, we really did feel we were in another world!

(Beware: Tortola is a small airport and struggles with even medium-sized groups going through the paper-heavy immigration processes. And LIAT has a clock all of its own... so we arrived very late, with the Peter Island Resort ferry all to ourselves. Happily, the hotel-organised transfer was faultless. The majority North American clientele may have had a simpler journey).

The sense of "otherness" continued as we didn't the leave the island all week, with plenty of activities to sample and - for the most part - blue skies and turquoise seas with a gentle breeze that made 28 degrees feel just right. One day of showers and a sand-blasting wind was the exception.

We enjoyed the beaches - especially the seclusion of White Bay. Hobiecat sailing (from Deadman's Beach) and snorkelling (in White Bay) amongst turtles was a highlight. The freshwater pool was a decent size for swimming though shallows at one end meant a rather restricted style to protect the knees.
It was cool enough to play tennis as the sun slipped below the ridge of the island, and the two courts of the four that had lights had an excellent artificial grass surface. There were plenty of tennis balls in fair condition, but best to bring your own racquets.

The pelicans put on a daily diving show around the harbour, and the brown iguanas (three sightings!) were extraordinary: three feet long with prehistoric-looking heads, and stripy tails. We were surprised by how hilly the island was, and had (wrongly) expected a bigger network of paths so didn't cover as much ground on foot as we had expected, but that didn't actually matter.
We joined the hotel's minibus trip for the sunset view at the far end of the island - even without the most colourful of sunsets the view of the other islands was gorgeous.

Our downstairs beachfront junior suite was spacious and air-conditioned and fanned to a perfect temperature to sleep. An upstairs room would have afforded a better direct view, but it really was very easy to walk straight onto the soft white sand.

Food was tasty and well-presented and the rotation of restaurants and menus for dinner gave adequate variety. We had no reason to criticise the service, and staff quickly learned our names and our preferences.

All in all, a lovely week that felt a million miles from London.

Room Tip: If you choose the beachfront rooms - upstairs suites have an uninterrupted view But ocean view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GJ1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Michaels
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have traveled to many of the high end Caribbean resorts, but Peter Island stands out among the very best there is. What separates this resort from the competition is a rare combination of luxury and a casual island vibe.

We flew into St. Thomas, and immediately appreciated the service oriented approach of the Peter Island Resort. We were whisked by taxi to the dock in Charlotte Amalie, and was surprised to see a luxury yacht, instead of an uncomfortable ferry, waiting to take us to the island. The crew on board offered us drinks, and then after a pleasant hour and a half ride took care of customs for us on Tortola. Arriving at the resort was similarly personal and efficient, no checking in at a service desk and waiting on line. We were met by a friendly and helpful staff member who gave us their signature drink, and took us to our room, giving us a nice tour of the island on the way. Our room was 218 in the junior beach suite area, which was a perfect location. The room itself was comfortable and elegant without being ostentatious. There is no television, but a dock for your iPhone and excellent wireless coverage. The bathroom was huge and elegant, with a large soaking tub for two. Best of all was a great beach front patio, literally steps from the beach, with a delightful hammock to lie in. I would definitely recommend the lower level, which has the hammock and the beach access. The view from our patio was fabulous, so getting a slightly higher view while losing the hammock would not be a good trade off.

There is lots to do at the resort, or nothing at all. There are so many options to spend the day; 4 beaches, a spa, trips to other islands, a day on the yacht Silmaril, that the beaches always seemed empty. Getting up at dawn to reserve a beach chair is not the mode at this resort. Deadman's beach is beautiful, as is little Deadman's beach. White Bay is where the best snorkeling is, and is worth at least a half day. There are 6 huts that need to be reserved, and hut #6 is the prime spot for both privacy and snorkeling, although there is no bad spot.

We booked a full day snorkeling trip to Virgin Gorda, which is well worth it. Snorkeling at two spots was beautiful, and visiting the Baths and Caves of Virgin Gorda is something that needs to be experienced to be believed.

Dining at Peter Island was very elegant, but not quite as outstanding as at Curtain Bluff in Antigua. The lunch menu never changed, which can get a bit repetitive, and dinners, while uniformly good, were not always at the level the rest of the resort led you to anticipate. As others have note, Jean Kelly's french toast for breakfast was unique and amazing, and eating outside overlooking that beautiful harbor makes everything taste good. The best meal we had was the wine tasting dinner, which, while pricey, was outstanding.

The best part of the resort was the level of service. I never met anyone, including the maintenance staff and maids, who did not genuinely smile and wish us well. Their enthusiasm for the resort was infectious. Similarly, the positive vibes extended to the guests. Unlike some high end resorts, the laid back vibe of Peter Island lent itself to friendly encounters and conversation. We met many interesting and friendly couples, and had dinner with different people almost every night. If you want to be alone you most certainly can be, but it is easy to make friends and meet people from all over the world.

In sum, this is a resort well worth the price. We can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Beach front suites are far superior to the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillytraveldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Peter Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us, and for sharing this outstanding review! We are so glad you had the terrific Peter Island experience we strive to give our guests every day. We agree that the location of the Beach Front Junior Suites is amazing, and that our wonderful guests and staff members are what give this island its relaxed vibe. We are so honored that you find our resort to be among the best in the Caribbean! We also can't wait for your next stay! Please come see us again soon, we'll have plenty of beach chairs ready for you.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We traveled to Peter Island Resort at the end of December and stayed for 6 nights through New Years. It was our first time in BVI and we definitely enjoyed it. The property is beautiful, and as prior reviewers mention, the staff was friendly and the service quite good for the Caribbean. Charity at the front desk was especially helpful. We stayed in an oceanview room - it was spacious, clean, and comfortable, but definitely in need of some updating (especially the bathroom). I didn't see the rooms closer to the beach, so I do not know if they are nicer.

The spa was nice and we enjoyed our massages in the outdoor bohio, which offered wonderful views. There are several beaches, plenty of water activities, and a 5 mile hike on the island, which we really enjoyed. It's nice to go back to sunset point at night to view the sunset - they will pack you a cheese plate and drinks of your choice. It is also a must to go out on a boat. We rented one on two separate days - once to sail around during the day and snorkel and another to visit some of the bars on Jost Van Dyke.

We thought the food could have been better (though full disclosure - we are spoiled as far as food given that we live in nyc). We had some good meals, but I feel that if your guests are limited to 2 restaurants that alternate each night, the food needs to be great every time.

I realize the price for the hotel was likely inflated during the peak holiday season, but at the price point they were charging, I think we were expecting more in certain areas. That being said, we did have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LG1171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I traveled to Peter Island Resort for a week over Christmas 2013. The island is absolutely beautiful and impeccably kept. As others have said, the food is amazing - whether dinner at Tradewinds or a casual lunch at Deadman's Grill. What makes PI Resort so incredible are the staff - so friendly and helpful, going above and beyond to make sure their guests are happy.

We flew into St. Thomas and took the "ferry" to PI, which in our case was a yacht. We got there super early and enjoyed some time in the marina with Ash and Lynn, the captain and first mate. What lovely people! The ride to PI took about an hour, with a stop in Tortola to go through customs. The crew did everything - we didn't have to get off the boat until arriving at PI. Upon docking, the staff takes your bags to your room, and you are welcomed with the signature cocktail - ginger lemonade, with or without rum. It was so good, I had it several more times during the trip. With rum. :)

We stayed in an Oceanview room, which is nearest to the lobby, pool and Tradewinds restaurant. The room itself was spacious, comfortable and very clean. The water pressure in the shower was great. There is a small fridge stocked with water, soda, beer; which are refilled daily (beer has a charge). We were on the second floor and the room was plenty large enough. You probably won't spend too much time there, except for a good night's sleep after sun and food! Nightly turndown service, and the room was cleaned daily (unless you put up the Do Not Disturb!)

The closest beach to the rooms was Deadman's Beach, (about a 5-7 min walk) where there were chairs, umbrellas, and watersports (all free of charge for resort guests). We tried stand-up paddleboarding and it was very fun! There were also kayaks, Hobie Cats, etc.

If you walk a bit past Deadman's, you will come to the Spa (about 10-15 min from the room). The Spa itself is beautiful and the staff is so friendly. The pleasant scent of lemongrass will stay with you! Treat yourself to some spa time, you won't be disappointed - a massage, facial, etc. There is an infinity pool and hot tub tucked away near the beach by the Spa. There were never really any people using the pool or hot tub, even though it's able to be used by resort guests as well. Yoga and fitness classes are offered at the spa, either in the Spa Garden or on the Patio, weather permitting.

Honeymoon Beach - Pretty but not very secluded because of all the boats.

White Bay Beach - make a reservation, and order a picnic lunch. There is a limit to how many people will be there. There's little cabanas with chairs that provide shade and a little privacy. We were one of two couples on the beach - but there are definitely boats (yachts, really) that may anchor and take the little boat to shore....so there may be more people there than the resort knows about. Not a big deal.

As I said earlier, the food was wonderful - however, the standout dish was the dessert I had on Christmas - a vanilla bean marshmallow on top of gelato, in a delicate sugared bowl. OMG! Best dessert I have ever had! Jean Kelly's French Toast was also amazing. We had it for 5 out of 7 breakfasts. You won't be disappointed.

The staff was definitely the best part - Collin, Donna, Charity, Rimple, the wait staff, the drivers, EVERYONE - the nicest people you'd ever want to meet. Top notch service 24-7. I had a run-in with a jellyfish with an allergic reaction and had to go to the hospital on Tortola. The resort was wonderful and even sent an employee with us to make sure everything was okay. (It was - I never saw the jellyfish but it got me good!)

Some reviewers have mentioned the walking - yes, you CAN walk from place to place but you don't have to...there's shuttles and vans to take you where you want to go, ready in a few moment's notice.

There are a LOT of boaters/yachters that come to Peter Island and spend the day on the beach. Even though there is a designated portion of Deadman's Beach for visitors from boats, it doesn't seem to matter. There were also a lot of families with the boats. If you are looking for a completely child-free resort, this isn't. Since the restaurants require reservations, make sure you make yours at breakfast because the boating crowd is making them, too.

There no televisions in the room, you may want to plan ahead if you enjoy watching TV or movies - WiFi was decently strong in our room - 104 (closest to lobby). Be forewarned, if you are a Netflix subscriber from the U.S., do some googling on how to make it work out of the country.

This is a beautiful, upscale, laid-back resort where you can do or NOT do as much as you want. The kind of place that slows your blood pressure down just a bit.

Room Tip: Oceanview Rooms are in a great location and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelissaMC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

First of all, let me say that there's no such thing as a perfect resort. There's always one little thing that can be improved or tweaked no matter the location. But Peter Island is about as close as you can get to perfection if you're looking for a place for total relaxation. My wife and I made our first visit to the resort about four years ago for our honeymoon and we loved it so much we decided to return this year, which we did the first week in January. And it did not disappoint! There are so many positive things I can say about Peter Island, from the attentive and friendly staff to the top-notch food to the lavish spa to the most beautiful, tropical scenery anywhere.

Both times, we stayed in an ocean-front junior suites (217 four years ago and 205 last week) which I would absolutely recommend. The view is spectacular, and you can't beat the access to the beach. There's nothing like waking up every morning to the sound and view of waves crashing on the beach 50 feet from the window next to your bed.

There are two restaurants, Deadman's Beach Grille and Tradewinds (which is more formal). Depending on event schedules each is open for different meals, and they change their menus daily. Breakfast is always in the Tradewinds, and you absolutely MUST try Jean Kelly's Coconut French Toast. It's to die for. But even if you don't like French Toast, everything is so good.

And the Spa is a must. Their services are decadent and lavish. At our last visit, we endulged in a couples deep tissue massage, and this time around, we went for the remineralizing body wrap. Prior to our wraps, we spent a little time in the hillside hot tub which has a gorgeous, secluded view of the ocean. Needless to say, we were completely relaxed and refreshed!

Finally there's the staff. Everyone is so focused on making sure your visit is exceptional. Our suite was always tended to so that when we returned from the beach, everything was clean and organized, and when we came home from a late dinner, our bed was turned down, fresh towels were delivered, and everything was picked up and put in it's place. The bartenders and wait staff were attentive, but also cognizant of the fact that the island lifestyle is laid back, so they gave us plenty of time to eat, drink and enjoy!

And I can't say too much about Jean Kelly. Jean is a 30 year fixture of Peter Island and she is the nicest, kindest person you will ever meet. When you order the coconut french toast, she makes sure to deliver it personally to your table. And when you have lunch at Deadman's grill, she'll make sure you don't leave until you've had at least one of her fresh-baked chocolate chip or oatmeal raisin cookies. And Jean exemplifies the attitude of the staff at Peter Island. Kind, caring and genuinely committed to making sure your stay is the best it can be. Even on the last day, as we waited to board the ferry back to Tortola, the incoming staff that was coming off the ferry made sure to stop by to say goodbye, thank us for staying, wish us safe travels and let us know they look forward to our nextg visit. And this wasn't just one or two people. I'm talking about an entire ferry-load of people.

Oh yes, we'll be back! It's that good!

Room Tip: If you stay in an Ocean Front suite, try to get on the first floor so you can walk out your slider t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ggraeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I loved staying here. The staff couldn't do enough for me. For example my ipad charger broke, and the manager lent me his personal charger till the end of my stay. As for details:
Food: Being stuck on an island means you have no choice as to where to eat, but this wasn't a problem as the food was good and varied, and there was a great and interesting choice of wine. I don't agree about glacial service - everyone was very helpful and friendly.
Diving: The diving in BVI is one of my favourite spots. Try and dive with Alan or Sue as they are both top notch and always do interesting dives. HELPFUL TIP: bring as much dive gear as you can, even if you just bring the regulator as renting in pricey.
Gym: It is annoyingly about 10 minutes walk from the hotel, but you get used to it. It isn't the best range of equipment - a rowing machine would be a useful addition. I have seen better gyms in resorts of this quality but it isn't bad.
Tennis: The courts are not bad and rackets are available though they are not very good.
Room: I was in a room close to the reception which was a good size. I think they are going to be refurbished imminently and that will be a good thing.
Access: Free ferry service to the island but the timetable is very unsatisfactory. There are big gaps especially in the middle of the day and I feel the timetable was to get the staff to and from the resort, rather then to be of convenience to the guests. A couple of extra ferries would be a huge improvement.
Internet is free and coverage over the island not bad, except for the beach area where you have to be near the restaurant to get a signal.
Shop: One of the best I have seen for a island resort this size. Good variety of necessities and clothing.
The 8 days I spent here went very quickly and I would be happy to go back.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are slightly larger with direct access to the beach. First floor rooms are slight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peter Island
4.3 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
5.6 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
282 reviews
5.3 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
18.6 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
493 reviews
4.4 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peter Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peter Island Resort and Spa

Property: Peter Island Resort and Spa
Address: Road Town | Tortola, 00801 2409, Peter Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Peter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peter Island Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, West Indies, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Peter Island Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peter Island Hotel Peter Island
Peter Island Resort And Spa British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing