We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I just returned from Peter Island after celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary there. I can honestly say that our expectations were not only met, but surpassed by a mile. The island is beautiful, the staff attentive to your every need, and the food is beyond 5 star quality. We were treated to perfectly grilled steaks and lobster, rack of lamb, veal, a large variety of seafood, and other caribbean inspired dishes on a nightly basis. (And the desserts are not to be missed!)
Deadman's Beach must one of the most beautiful beaches in the entire caribbean. It was private and yet active enough from fellow resort guests to be fun. Deadman's Beach Bar and Grill is located there. A steel drum band played there twice during our weeks stay. (The manager even had them play "Here comes the Bride" on our anniversay day and allowed us the dance on the beach as a couple. Champagne soon followed!)
White Bay Beach was best for privacy (only 6 huts on the beach) and for snorkeling. The tropical fish on the right side, near hut 6, was some of the best in the BVI.
I could literally write a book on this resort and everything would be positive. If you are thinking about visiting Peter Island, stop thinking and JUST GO!!! I have been priveledged enough to travel quite a bit in the US, Mexico and Caribbean. Peter Island is by far the BEST place I have ever visited! My wife and I are already planning our next trip back there! GO TO PETER ISLAND AND EXPERIENCE IT FOR YOURSELF NOW!!!

Room Tip: The Ocean View rooms are quite a bit less in price than the Beachfront Suites and more than satisfat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cajundan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    155
    65
    42
    17
See reviews for
111
585
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte Amalie, null, United States
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

i can recommend this island as a great getaway, even for a honeymoon.
i had a bad room that leaked water all over and it was too late at night to fix it. but when i told the manager he immediately comped the room.
Also beware this is the islands and thus to be kept waiting on a taxi for an hour is par for the course.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Amazingly quiet, beautiful and relaxing island. True paradise with great, great food and excellent service. Hospitality was great and the staff was always flexible around our schedule. The grounds were especially beautiful with such easy access to everything. Wednesday buffet was outstanding that drew a nice yacht crowd to deadmans beach bar/restaurant with steel drum band. Island tour was great with steep elevation changes and views of the mountainous islands as far as the eye can see. Constant gentle breeze all week kept the sweat down and the bugs at bay. Comfortable beach chairs and the most relaxing experience on a beach I've ever had. Dozed into a couple of beach naps each day which is hard for me to do normally. Clear water to snorkel in right off the sand and at very comfortable depths. Saw sea turtles, rays, squid, tons of fish and other things. Mini fridge in beachfront jr suites is stocked each day with free water, soda and beer for a small fee.

Convenient location to snorkel at cooper is. and just 30 or so min from tortola, ginger, virgin gorda and other islands by boat. Baths trip is worth the time. The 2 boat rides at first seemed a tad long to get from St. Thomas to Peter but once you get there you are glad you did it. And the Tortola airport is closer to alleviate that concern. The trip is nothing after seeing this place in person. If laid back beauty, great food, service and privacy are on your agenda for vacation this place is money. You pay for it, but if it was cheap and/or easy to get to then it wouldn't be the private amazing place that it is. Looking back it was worth the money. Only problem was a few tiny black ants by the in room coffee maker. No issue after 1 day though.

Bathroom was fantastic with 2 shower heads, 2 person jacuzzi tub and stone work. Comfortable bed. Sat on the comfortable 2nd story lounge chairs and watched a pelican scoop up fish out of the sea for an hour during each sunset as I sipped on the complimentary, private labeled "peter island" Moët the resort had waiting on us upon arrival. Top notch Caribbean resort deserving of the awards it has gathered over the years. My wife was blown away and that is all that matters, right!?! Simply put, a special place.

Room Tip: Upstairs beachfront towards the beach restaurant for us. Can't really go wrong with any lodging...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thammer62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Peter Island was a destination we had dreamed to visit for many years. Choosing it for an 11 Day honeymoon was the best decision we have made as a newly married couple. We stayed in a Beachfront Junior Suite, 2nd floor. Views from the balcony over Deadman's Beach and Bay were fantastic, beach access was outside the door, and it was only a short 5-7 minute walk up and down a hill to the main lobby/Tradewinds restaurant, or 5-7 minutes the other way along the beach or road to Deadman's Bar and Grill. The room is very spacious, double shower with jacuzzi tub is luxurious, and the balcony right on the water is priceless. With very good AC and two fans, it never felt hot or stuffy, it was cool inside to balance the breezy warmth outside.

Food was phenomenal! We took part in the Vintner's Dinner twice! Thank you Robert Knock for the picking great wine pairings and information on wine. The Saturday Night Buffet is a highlight, don't miss it! The new emphasis on island grown ingredients and farm-to-table dining adds a delicious element to the already delectable menu. Some have mentioned the islands menu seems limited: yes the items are consistent except for some specials like fish of the day or a big shipment of Anegada Lobster. But, speaking as a foodie who was there for 11 days of meals: there are many great dishes offered that you will want to have your favorites a few more times and not feel disappointed.

The spa was beautiful and accommodating - check out the gardens. Plenty of services available as expected of a high-end spa, but no crowds and not at all stuffy or pretentious (true for the entire resort!).

One can be as active, or passive, as desired. With 11 days, we were able to get the best of both. We participated in: Sunset Loop Wine and Cheese, Manager's cocktail reception, island tour, full day sail on the Silmaril (THANK YOU JUDY and ROBIN!), day trip to Virgin Gorda on a catamaran, afternoon on Tortola, tea time, picnic lunch on White Bay beach, honeymoon beach, tour of the villas (awesome!) and three, 2-tank dives with Paradise Watersports (Thanks Randy!).

Peter Island exceeded our expectations, and we had high ones going in. The island is beautiful, snorkeling right off the beaches is great, and the dives nearby are even better.

The secret to Peter Island? The staff! They go out of their way to make your stay wonderful and to exceed your requests and expectations. A personal thank you to: Wilbert Mason GM whose professionalism and high standards lifts Peter Island into a class of its own; and of course Jean Kelly who represents the warmth and heart of Peter Island as a welcoming destination for people from around the world to share in a wonderful island experience that will leave you feeling relaxed, refreshed, and alive.

Room Tip: Beach Front Junior Suites are worth it for their location, space and updated decor. Suites numbered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Both my wife and I stayed for a short time in Peter Island Hotel... Loved the hotel management and staff were excellent ... I would like to highlight the food as being some of the best in the islands .. Kudos to the Executive Chef... The hotel has great waterspouts and a wonderful beach at the back of the island not to be missed...a great trip all ought we will stay longer next time ... Thank you for a wonderful experience... Not forgetting AMAZING FOOD...!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GTR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 30th anniversary at Peter Island. It must be the most peaceful place on earth! Upon arrival you are greeted by a staff member and offered a glass of delicious ginger lemonade followed by a tour of the island. The rooms are very nice, the food is wonderful and the staff are friendly and helpful. Sunset Loop is a must! Be sure to order the fruit and cheese tray and your favorite beverage to enjoy while watching the sunset.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vickiem56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Peter Island is an ideal place to get away to enjoy beaches, snorkeling, hiking, sailing, and peace and quiet. We visited late April and it was very quiet and exactly what we were looking for. There are no TVs in the rooms ( which is fine) but excellent wireless everywhere. The food was very good and the packages have good value. The snorkeling tours are excellent. The spa is fabulous and has a separate pool, hot tub and beach. Your lunch can be delivered to the spa or the more remote beaches. All the beaches were beautiful and good for snorkeling. We stayed in a beach front suite and would do that again. It is a perfect escape from crowds.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peter Island
4.3 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
4.1 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
440 reviews
1.0 mi away
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
#6 of 13 in Road Town
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
385 reviews
7.4 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
18.6 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peter Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peter Island Resort and Spa

Property: Peter Island Resort and Spa
Address: Road Town | Tortola, 00801 2409, Peter Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Peter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peter Island Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, West Indies, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Peter Island Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peter Island Hotel Peter Island
Peter Island Resort And Spa British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing