We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Slice of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Slice of Paradise”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Peter Island Resort is wonderful. I spent a lot of time sipping rum by the pool. The restaurant facilities were all amazing, and some friends had a beautiful little wedding while we were there. Certainly not the cheapest place on earth, but hey, you're in the BVI... what would you expect?

I would also recommend the dive shop here to anyone! Very professional and accomodating dive team!

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the docks in order to avoid noise from the boats at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASeanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Peter Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review your experience! We are glad you so highly recommend the dive shop - we take a lot of pride in the quality of diving we have to offer here and the staff. Thank you for kind words! We hope to have you again sometime soon.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    153
    64
    39
    15
See reviews for
106
573
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudsonville, Michigan
Level Contributor
145 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

What a beautiful island. The beaches were just glimmering by the ocean. Laying in the sun on the beach was so relaxing that I fell asleep because the breeze was perfect. The water was just the most brilliant blue and clear at the same time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Teessm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have been to Peter Island 4 times and will continue to go back! From the second you arrive and are met with cold towels and drinks while staff whisks your luggage off to your room for you to the CD's of island music in your room - the attention to detail is phenomenal!

The food is out of this world and the selection is endless. Want something not on the menu? Just tell them and they will accomodate. My husband went "Conching" and brought back his conchs and the chef prepared them for us for dinner!

I cannot say enough about the staff - they are fun, courteous, go out of their way for you and reach out to us via phone and facebook to tell us they miss us when we haven't been in a while!

The island is completed secluded and the staff keep an eye on everyone in your party so your kids are completely safe. Although we do see few children there - mostly couples.

The beach is the most beautiful in the world! Every morning its swept early and chairs, rafts, towels put out. The view faces Dead Man's Bay where lots of catamarans come in to anchor. There is another beach on the other side of the island - White Bay - Peter Island will pack you a picnic and drinks and drive you over in the morning and come back to pick you up in the afternoon. Great snorkeling and palapas on the beach for napping.

You will not be disappointed with Peter Island - no matter how much you travel or where you've been - its just awesome!

Room Tip: We love the beachfront rooms but our adult and teenage children love the rooms up by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Peter Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your repeat visits to see us - we so appreciate you choosing to spend your vacation with us again and again! We also appreciate you taking the time to write and share this fabulous review. I'm glad that you and your family had the chance to experience some of the most "signature" Peter Island activities - like conching and going to the beach for a picnic lunch. We look forward to seeing you on your fifth (and sixth, and seventh...) visit!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We just returned from our second trip to Peter Island and it was better than we remembered. The staff was outstanding, making a point to remember our names and preferences, even discussing basketball with my husband. Chef Lisa is a rock star! Her food is outstanding in every way. We also enjoyed wonderful drinks made by Captain and the rest of the crew. The beaches were spectacular, and there were plenty of goodies for us to try, like Hobie Cats, SUP and snorkel gear. We loved the spa too and had a couples massage during one rainy afternoon. After visiting Hawaii many times over the years, I can now say that I like Peter Island better...and it took us 5 plane rides to get there. That should really sum up how special this place is. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefBette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Peter Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for coming back to enjoy another stay with us! We are always so honored when guests return to us again and again for their vacations. I have shared your kind words with Chef Lisa, and she sincerely appreciates it. We are so proud to have such a wonderful chef. We can't wait for you to return either! Hope to see you soon!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Went for 10 days last April as a first family holiday to the Caribbean and we were not disappointed. Stunning beaches, great food and you're treated like part of the family.
The breakfasts were particularly impressive with both a buffet and a la carte menu- highly recommend the french toast, it was to die for.
Lots of activities to do from snorkelling to spa days, you can organise a lunch delivery to a more secluded beach which was great fun.
I hope to visit again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afoodielyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Peter Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to bring your family to stay with us for your holiday, and for taking the time to post this wonderful review. We are glad you had a chance to try Jean Kelly's famous french toast! It is surely an unforgettable breakfast item. I'm also glad you had the opportunity to experience a secluded lunch on the beach - that is such a unique experience our guests always enjoy. We hope to see you and your family again sometime very soon!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We throughly enjoyed a slip on shore power at the marina with our sailboat. While a bit pricy you get a lot of value for your money. As a yacht harbor guest you have access to the full resort amenities as if you are a shore guest in a room. Beaches, pools, bars, spa, tennis, workout room, small sailboats on the beach, hiking trails all available for your pleasure. Service food and amenities all extremely high for a remote and exclusive resort.

On the other hand as an out of character observation, the air conditioned hot shore showers while convenient to the harbor guests are in a state of disrepair with missing drain covers and bare light bulbs. This is totally out of character with the rest of the resort which is immaculate. Since we were here a decade ago and it doesn't appear that any updates have been made to these showers that get extensive use by both guests and staff about to depart on the ferry to Tortola. How much trouble could it be to raise the standards at this small bathroom up to the rest of the extensive resort that approaches perfection? Lack of attention to detail is this small public bathroom corner of the resort is why cleanliness score is moderate.

It really is

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ejerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The food was great, the staff treated you like family, and there was a lot to do. From diving to hiking and all water sports in between. One could enjoy solitude, or party. Everyone in our party had a great time on both trips this year, and can't wait to go back next year. JJJ

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gulfstreamrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Peter Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very honored that you consider Peter Island to be the best place to stay in the British Virgin Islands! Thank you for staying with us and for sharing these kind words with us and other potential guests. We hope to have the chance to host you again!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peter Island
4.3 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
4.1 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
7.4 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
4.4 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
12.9 mi away
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
#1 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peter Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peter Island Resort and Spa

Property: Peter Island Resort and Spa
Address: Road Town | Tortola, 00801 2409, Peter Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Peter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peter Island Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, West Indies, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Peter Island Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peter Island Hotel Peter Island
Peter Island Resort And Spa British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing