We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Certificate of Excellence
Tortola
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Had a wonderful weekend here and it was one of the best resorts we have ever stayed in. We were upgraded to a beach view suite, which had the biggest and best bathroom ever. We could not fault the friendliness of the staff, the excellent food, the beautiful beaches, the spa - everything was outstanding. We had a lovely time on the main beach, but also went over to White Bay, with the resort organising a picnic lunch for us - idyllic and great snorkelling too. We also enjoyed the sunset loop trip to watch the sun set - all well organised by the resort. it was hard to leave and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Beach front suites are extremely luxurious with huge bathrooms, including a gigantic jacuzzi bath tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SMJ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Peter Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

So glad you enjoyed your weekend stay with us! Thank you for visiting Peter Island, and for posting this lovely review. The bathrooms in the Beachfront Junior Suites are a sight to behold - you just can't replace the experience of taking a bath in the jacuzzi with a view of the ocean! I'm glad you found time in your brief stay to visit a couple of our beaches and take part in the sunset loop trip. Please come back and see us again soon! We would love to have you again for the weekend, or even just a day trip. Or, perhaps a week-long vacation?

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    155
    65
    42
    17
See reviews for
111
584
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great day trip on the Mystique with captain Vessel (yes, that's his name) and First Mate Damien. Terrific hosts, really knew the local waters and scuba hot spots. And they have great dance music to boot. Super bartenders too. Ask them to make their special drink. forr some reason i can't remember the name :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arubarich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Peter Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for visiting us during your adventure in the British Virgin Islands! We are always delighted to host those on day trips. We're very fortunate to have a dedicated staff that has an intimate knowledge of the island and area - which is invaluable! Next time, set aside a little time for the spa, it is a fantastic addition to a day trip.

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I simply don't understand any negative reviews of this resort! We stayed in a beach front room for our honeymoon at the end of July. I’d highly recommend the beach front room if your budget allows. The room itself was beautiful, very unique design with gorgeous stone accents everywhere. They have a nice patio with lounge chairs, access to hammocks and a quick walk down to the beach. The resort itself is just amazing; you really are on your own private island. I’ve stayed at many 5 star resorts and this has been one of the most unique. You’re not just paying for a great room, here you are paying to stay on a private island essentially. We though the food was fabulous and we are very picky New Yorkers! Jean’s coconut French toast is awesome! I would recommend getting the meal plan as well. When we did the math it worked out that if you eat 3 meals a day you broke even. So with the meal plan you really make out if you order appetizers and desserts. Also if you do day trips to White Bay Beach and Honeymoon Beach they pack you a lunch which is still part of the meal plan. I would definitely recommend taking advantage of the excursions on the island like White Bay Beach and Honeymoon Beach. The Sunset Loop is great too. If you’re active it’s also nice to hike the 5 mile loop, we did it twice and it’s a great scenic workout. We did massages at the spa, its location is really serene. If you do a couple’s massage in the beach side cabana it’s all open air overlooking the ocean, so relaxing! If you’re looking for active night life, this is not the place. I think dinner actually ends at 10 pm, so literally it all shuts down. This was fine for us since we got to bed at a decent time and woke up early enough to enjoy the day. We were happy that we brought a few bottles of wine with us so we can have a drink back in the room after dinner, if you don’t bring some you can always purchase a bottle from them to take back. By the way, the beds are unbelievably comfortable! We never slept so soundly. The other great thing about staying at Peter Island is that if you do want to change it up you have very easy access to all the other Virgin Islands. We spent a few nights on St. Thomas at the end since we were flying out of there and they have a boat that will take you there 2 days a week. We stayed at the Ritz and honestly I wish we just would have stayed on Peter Island for that time. All in all this was exactly what we wanted for a honeymoon, quiet, luxurious relaxation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jtomnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Peter Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on Peter Island and for posting this wonderful review! We are especially flattered when experienced travelers and those with seasoned palettes are impressed with the beauty, convenience, activity, and food that Peter Island offers. Your review captures the uniqueness and experience of Peter Island so accurately - we couldn't have said it better ourselves! Thank you, again, and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

my new husband and i arrived at Peter Island after being married at Long Bay Beach Resort, we stayed there for two weeks and then finished of at Peter Island for a week. (a week of fun romance and total relaxation) From the minute we stepped onto the ferry from Tortola we were treat like royalty, nothing ws too much trouble, Dormamay at the front of the house was very vey accomodating and very helpfull arranging trips and picnic lunches and anything that we needed, nothing was too much trouble for anyone there, The meals were superb, the views from our bech front room were out of this world, the beach was spectacular, the sunbeds and pool were exquisite, We couldnt believe how perfect everything was and will definatly be returning next year for our anniversary, (we have aleady booked). We cannot wait to return. We had a comlimentary bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room courtesy of the management wishing us a happy honeymoon, which was delicous. we were greeted by almost all of the staff everyday by our names, everyone was so friendly. Please everyone disregard any bad reviews about this resort, The sea is perfect and after hurrican Issac the staff were out cleaning the beach on a morning making it as spectcular as before. there are just not enough good words to say how we feel about this Island and we cannot wait to go back - see you soon everyone John and Jane Straker xxxxx

Room Tip: beach front room everytime
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Peter Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear John and Jane,

Thank you so much for this fantastic review, and for choosing to spend a week of your honeymoon with us! We are beyond flattered that you have already decided to spend your anniversary with us, too. We look forward to hosting you for that occasion, and many thereafter. Here's to this memory and many, many more made on Peter Island by the Straker family!

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Peter Island and Little Dix set the standard for great BVI experiences. Both offer great beaches. They also combine high end dining options with a laid back, casual vibe that's unique to the Caribbean. No Peter Island - Little Dix comparo will convert the faithful; many guests have been returning for years. But for those looking to decide between the two, there are differences and we look to highlight them below.

Accommodations

We stayed in a Beach House at Little Dix and the Hawks Nest villa at Peter Island. These are not apples-to-apples accommodations; the Little Dix Beach House is more a top of the line suite, whereas Hawks Nest is a villa that's separate and distinct from the resort as a whole. That said, both offered great views, great furnishings, and an experience that was part of the resort, but also a little separate. You can't go wrong with either, and if you really want to splurge, go for the Falcons Nest Villa @ Peter Island; spectacular views, and your own infinity pool and workout room.

But what separates Peter Island from Little Dix is the Beachfront Suites v. Little Dix Junior Suites. While the Little Dix Junior Suites score higher on charm and appeal, they are separated from the main beach by a walk and a wall of mangroves. On the other hand, the Peter Island Beachfront Suites are right on the water. Open your windows, and you can listen to the waves land on the beach all night long. This is priceless.

Overall - Peter Island.

Activities

If you're looking to stay active, both resorts offer fitness centers, hiking/running trails, and tennis courts. Both will run you to other islands and beaches. Both offer complimentary snorkel gear and have pools; at Little Dix fhe pool is closer to the beach and more kid friendly, at Peter Island the pool is separatefrom the beach front. And both have a rec center with basic amenities, eg TV, pool tables, etc. Peter Island also offers free equipment for enjoying the ocean - from kayaks to paddle boards to wind surfers.

EOD, if you want a high end fitness center and acces to professional tennis courts and instruction, Little Dix differentiates here. On the other hand, if jumping in a sea kayak and exploring the island is your thing, or lounging on a secluded beach with your signifianct other, then Peter Island delivers. Finally, if you are a runner / swimmer / triathlete keen on morning activity followed by afternoon flopping and relaxation, this is where Peter Island excels. The 5+ mile Sunset Loop is a killer, and Deadman's Beach is a good swim.

Overall - Peter Island.

Food

Both resorts offer superb dining and strong wine selections split between formal and casual locations. Both offer private dining by request. And both offer beach service as you lounge the day away.

What separates Little Dix is menu variety. Net, while the resorts are basically equal on the mix of options they offer day-to-day, the Little Dix dinner menu changes more regularly and offers more variety over a stay lasting a week or so.

Overall - Little Dix.

Service

Service staff at both resorts are friendly and accommodating. Staff to guest ratios are good, you tend to see the same staff regularly, and they commit to getting to know you and making you feel at home.

The real difference is in the level of professionalism and training. LittleDix is run by Rosewood; there's a standard for how things are to be done. For example, every day the beach chairs/area is cleaned, cushions are stripped, and when the sun rises it's as if the beach has never been touched. Peter Island is private. And while the staff could not be more friendly, courteous, and accommodating, there's a crispness and attention to detail that's missing.

Overall - Little Dix.

Spa

The Peter Island spa gets all the press, and with good reason. The setting is wonderful, the range of treatments available extensive, and the private rooms available for couples for half days / full days are amazing ... think about having a room w/ hot tub available to you all day, ability to select any treatments you want, food and beverage delivered on request, use of the Spa pool, and a secluded beach to stroll. The overall experience is simply amazing and not to be missed.

That said, Senses at Little Dix has it's own charm. Smaller and more intiment, the treatments are first rate and the setting is serene. There is a small pool, and a great, secluded area just off the spa to enjoy the sunset while overlooking the resort. It's extravagant and wonderful, and one of the best spa experiences in the Caribbean.

Overall - Peter Island.

Final Results

Food and service break for Little Dix; the resort differentiates here, and people will appreciate this,especially if you're staying for 4 days or more.

Accommodations break for Peter Island, but this is really a result of the Peter Island suites being right on the water v. the Little Dix suites which while somewhat more modern (outdoor showers are a nice touch) are separated from the water by a short walk and row of trees. The differences are small, and you really can not go wrong with either choice.

Activities break for Peter Island, but with a focus on being outside v. indoors. If your passion is a complete fitness center plus tennis facilities and available instruction, this is a Little Dix win. But if you want to be outside and exploring the landscape, beaches, and water, Pete rIsland delivers. The pools are a wash ... both good for adults, with Little Dix better for adults + kids.

And the Spa breaks for Peter Island. This in't a knock on Senses and Little Dix; this is more a statement of the significant investment Peter Island has made in building a state of the art spa that works well with the tranquility and intimacy of the surroundings.

So Peter Island wins, by a hair. And the result is driven as much by what we appreciate - beachfront accommodations, great spa, activities galore, coupled with good food service - as how each property delivers. What's important to you may be different; you should consiider this review through that lense.

Ultimately, you can't go wrong wo either choice.

Room Tip: If not doing a villa, splurge for a beachfront room. Makes all the difference. If doing a villa, F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank l_l_sx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Peter Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

What a phenomenal review! Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review to help travelers decide if Peter Island or Little Dix is right for them. I sincerely appreciate your attention to detail, and will use all of your feedback to continue to improve on our services and accommodations. I especially liked how you noted the unique vibe of the Caribbean - where the dining options are high-end but the atmosphere is casual and comfortable. That feeling of comfortable luxury is what Peter Island is all about. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon!

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Peter Island the first week of July and haven’t stopped talking about it since (3 months later). It is our new favorite place in the world..and a worthwhile indulgence! The island itself is simply beautiful…we enjoyed exploring the island, swimming in glowing blue, crystal clear water and lounging on gorgeous white sand beaches. We always felt we had the island to ourselves. The views of distant islands, glowing blue waters, sailboats passing by…mesmerizing! There is plenty to do…snorkeling, hiking, paddleboarding, kayaking, sailing, day tripping, etc. The watersports center has lots of complimentary toys to use. We loved the stand up paddleboarding! The resort itself is top notch. The beachfront suite was the nicest we’ve ever stayed …very spacious, well appointed and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was amazing too… gorgeous natural stone walls. The staff couldn’t have been nicer. Everyone seemed so happy and eager to please. The food at the restaurants was outstanding…a bit more expensive, but worth the prices, with generous portions. We mostly ate at the beach restaurant and on several occasions ordered something to take back to the room, preferring to eat dinner on our own private balcony. We were not disappointed with any of our meals. Drinks were also a bit more expensive, but not over the top. Our all time favorite drink was a Bushwacker…a real treat and a must try in the Virgin Islands. For us, Peter Island was a splurge and worth every penny! We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Al though the Resort offers transportation for Sun Down Cocktails on teh other side of the Island I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oliver J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Peter Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Your new favorite place in the world - we love it! It was a pleasure to host you, and we're glad you had such an amazing time. Please come back and see us again very soon - surely there must be an anniversary or birthday coming up you could celebrate with a few Peter Island Bushwackers.

We look forward to hosting you again soon!

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

For starters, please do not pay any attention to any poor reviews you may encounter on tripadvisor regarding Peter Island Resort. This place is so amazing. My husband and I have travelled to Bermuda, St.John, St. Thomas, St. Lucia, St. Martin, Anguilla, Dominican Republic, Mayan Riviera, Jamaica and many other places and Peter Island tops them all. The service: top notch. The attention to detail of the staff is unlike any experience we have ever had. I'd like to say a special thank you to Mr. Foreman, who went above and beyond to notice all of the tiny details of our stay and recognized what was important to us without us even having to ask or mention anything. Peter Island Resort is lucky to have you! For anyone traveling to Peter Island, get to know Mr. Foreman, as he is a true professional and delight to be around. I'd also like to say a special thank you to Maxine and Marsha. These two ladies work in the restaurants on site and are just absolutely wonderful! They, too, recognized the details (called us by name, remembered my allergies every day, knew what we liked/disliked, etc). The entire staff is simply incredible, but I can't remember everyone's name.
The beaches: perfect. Deadman's beach was our favorite. It's long with soft sand and stunning calm, clear water and views. And very private. We never had anyone within 20 yards of us. The chairs are so lovely and comfortable, too. Plenty of shade as well for those wanting to get out of the sun.
The food: I wasn't able to really experience the dining due to a medical condition; however, my husband claims it was phenomenal!! Every meal was over the top. You must order the coconut french toast for breakfast, especially. And pay for the food plan... So worth it!
Snorkeling: go to White Bay for this.
Rooms: Whether you choose water view or ocean view, they are all lovely. We had a water view overlooking Tortola. It was perfect! If you prefer a more secluded environment, go with beach view.
Safety: no issues whatsoever. In fact, I felt safer at Peter Island than anywhere I've been in the world.
Hope this review helps!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michelle1234-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Peter Island Resort and Spa, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so honored by your statement that you felt safer at Peter Island than anywhere else in the world! We really pride ourselves on creating an environment that is warm, welcoming, friendly, and personalized for each and every guest that steps foot on the island. Thank you for naming some of the staff members who you found particularly excellent - we will be sure to recognize them! We so appreciate your kind words and look forward to hosting you during your next visit.

At your service,

C. Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peter Island
4.3 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
5.6 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
291 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
383 reviews
7.4 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
18.6 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peter Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peter Island Resort and Spa

Property: Peter Island Resort and Spa
Address: Road Town | Tortola, 00801 2409, Peter Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Peter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peter Island Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, West Indies, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Peter Island Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peter Island Hotel Peter Island
Peter Island Resort And Spa British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing