We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Certificate of Excellence
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Awesome holiday”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We had booked Peter Island as part of our 23rd wedding anniversary celebrations and we weren’t disappointed with our choice at all. We stayed in a beachfront villa looking out towards Deadchest Island. The room itself was immaculate, had a King size bed and seating area, a double Jacuzzi bath with his and her shower and wash basins. We had a mini fridge with complimentary soft drinks and the room came complete with luxury toiletries, iron & ironing board, hairdryer – all the amenities you would require on holiday. There are two restaurants which open for dinner on alternate days. Breakfast is always served in Tradewinds restaurant. The quality of the food was amazing. For breakfast you could enjoy a hot or cold buffet as well as a la carte choices. Lunch is served in Deadman’s beach bar, which is also a la carte. Evening meals were extremely well presented and tasty. The gala buffet was “awesome” – a word we regularly heard from our American friends. The seafood was out of this world. We found the air conditioning in Tradewinds a little bit powerful and you may need a cardigan/pashmina to cover your shoulders. The resort itself is very well maintained, with beautiful gardens with hammocks to relax and unwind. There is a fully equipped air conditioned gym and a tennis court. The only downside to our vacation was the amount of seaweed on Deadman’s beach – the resort attempted to clear this over several days but did not really achieve their goal. We did prefer Little Deadman’s beach which was smaller which did not seem to have the seaweed issue. We spent half a day on Honeymoon beach and some time on White Bay beach. We also took the trip on the Sunset Loop but unfortunately we did not see the sun set on that occasion but the hotel supplied a most welcome plate of cheese/crackers and fruit. The staff were all extremely personable and friendly and always eager to help. We truly enjoyed our stay at Peter Island and would not hesitate to return. Usually we are more than ready to return home but on this occasion we were extremely saddened to depart on the luxury speedboat which took us directly to the airport. Oh, by the way, try and look for the HUGE iguanas sunning themselves on the rocks by the dock each morning. Peter Island is a quiet resort and most guests retired to their rooms around 10.00 p.m. most evenings.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skater-babe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    155
    65
    42
    17
See reviews for
111
584
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

My wife and I traveled to BVI for our babymoon in June and had an amazing stay at Peter Island. The staff at the hotel were all extremely friendly and helpful from our dock side reception to our departure. Everyone always had a smile on their face and were always there to lend a helping hand. Peter Island itself is an amazing property. It is a great place to come and really unwind and recharge (no TVs in the rooms). Fair warning, you should not go to Peter Island expecting a super luxurious resort. Though the rooms are due for an upgrade (especially the bathrooms) the resort is nonetheless charming. The privacy, remoteness and grounds really make the trip worthwhile. If you are looking for very modern luxurious accommodations I recommend you check out the Viceroy in Anguilla. My wife and I went there last year and absolutely loved it. The food at Peter Island was really very good and much better than you would expect from a typical all inclusive resort. We loved the vintner’s dinner on Friday night and the manager's cocktail reception. The sunset loop is a must do as is going to white bay. Overall I would highly recommend Peter Island. The BVI is not as commercial as the USVI and the islands are really breathtaking. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I had my wedding at Peter Island in August of 2011. I scouted all the major resorts in the area while trying to decide where to host our wedding including: Scrub Island, Little Dix Bay, The Sugar Mill, Long Bay, etc. Hands down the Coconut Grove behind the spa had me at first sight. I started working with Event Coordinator Jenefer and mid way I was told to work with Restaurant Manager Kevin Phillips instead. The have two very different approaches both of which worked for me. Jenefer was very attentive and would call me in NY to review items. It was a very hands on approach and a nice personal touch. Kevin and I e-mailed all day long and while not as personal it provided me with a paper trail that I could go back and reference, which is crucial for any bride.

The resort staff was amazing, we were greeted by Kevin and the general manager upon our arrival. We booked 12 rooms for our wedding and each of our guest were completely astounded by the service. We had the all inclusive option (that didn't include drinks) and the food was fantastic. Downfall was service is on island time so for us New Yorkers it took some getting used to. This isn't a location for those that think Cancun is the best destination known to man. This is more of an adult inspired, nature, calming and soothing atmosphere. The pool has views of the ocean, several beaches are never overcrowded, privacy is easily provided. We didn't get the time to visit the spa but all our friends did and they seemed to enjoy it immensely.

By day two every employee knew we were the bride and groom. A ferry takes you to the mainland of Tortola and we went frequently as my husband was born and raised there. The wedding day was amazing and the staff went beyond the call of duty to make our dream wedding happen. Upon our checkout we were met once again by the general manager and Kevin, which was a special touch. We plan to return for our 1 year anniversary.

Overall the resort is beautiful, the staff is delightful, the food ....delicious, service is slow but friendly. I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants a child free, peaceful vacation surrounded by beauty.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are worth the splurge. Double soaker tub and dual head showers with personal h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BourgeoisD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We have traveled extensively throughout the world – Europe, Asia, the Middle East, and Latin America. Peter Island (PI) was our first trip to the Caribbean. Was it perfect? No. Did we have a blast? Absolutely!
What we liked:
−The location. Spectacular, immaculate beaches. Stunning views. It was nice being on a beach without throngs of people. We generally had our choice of beach chairs and huts. In the BVI, despite private ownership of some islands, beach access is considered public domain (even on Branson’s Necker Island). PI does get day-trippers from boats, but PI provides incentives (beach chairs, huts) for the visitors on other PI beaches to make the resort’s guest beach experience more “private” on the main beach.

−Water sports. We did it all – paddleboards, windsurfing, catamaran sailing, sea kayaks, snorkeling. The non-motorized items are complimentary for guests. The young man in charge of the items is an expert on all equipment. So, when some guests got in a little over their heads, he was on the spot for a rescue. Nice to have someone who actually knows how the equipment works on hand. Also, each guest is equipped with complimentary snorkel gear from the on site dive shop.

−Patouche boat/excursion charters. PI uses the company for trips to Virgin Gorda – a must expedition during your stay. Joe is the owner-operator of Patouche and provides a safe, informative excursion on a well-equipped catamaran. He is very accommodating – tailors the experience to his guests. We also called Joe to ferry us around some of the other BVI locations later in our stay. He was prompt and had several recommendations and an efficient plan (a true talent in the Caribbean) to make it all viable in our timeframe.

−The guests. The resort did have a corporate sponsored event occurring during our stay. Since the room numbers are limited, there wasn’t a “convention” feeling. And, the additional guests helped to add to a more festive atmosphere. We also had the opportunity to engage some of the other PI guests in addition to the corporate guests. We met some very lovely people and enjoyed getting to know all of them. Some we intend to stay in contact with.

−Dinner on the beach. For a nominal fee, PI set up tiki torches and a dining table directly on the beach at the water’s edge. We had an excellent dinner by candlelight, lapping waves, a light breeze, and a full moon. (We added Italian opera from our iPod to the mix.) Perhaps the highlight of our trip.

−Sunset tour. The resort has a daily trip to a vista point of the island for guests to see the sunset over the Caribbean. An excellent fruit and cheese plate are provided. We ordered a bottle of pinot grigio to complete the experience. One couple ordered champagne for their cocktails. The kitchen will accommodate whatever your fancy is. Adirondack chairs are set on the edge of a cliff for seating. Once the sun sets, it gets a bit buggy – but the resort van picked us up promptly & they provide bug repellant to offset the annoyance.

−The spa is heavenly. We did the complimentary yoga class taught by a top-notch instructor (Raja). The yoga was as good or better than some of our routine classes we take stateside. We also did a couple’s massage. (The spouse loved the deep tissue massage by Oni. Oni was a hit with other guests we talked with as well.) Request one of the outdoor bungalows (for an additional, well worth it fee). The bungalows overlook the water directly and provide pleasant breezes and surf sounds during the massage. (No “canned” sounds or muzak needed!)

−Meals. We enjoyed the meals, which were expertly prepared. The resort does better on meals not associated with buffet style dining – and buffets are served a few times during the week. We did not opt for the "inclusive" meal plan that was available – we don’t think it was any more or less since many things (like drinks) are a la cart. French toast and eggs benedict at breakfast were terrific. You can get a half order of either if you want a lighter meal.

−Our room. We had a beachside room. And, it was literally beachside. We were on the second floor with unparalleled views of the ocean and white sands. Our balcony was spacious with two steamer style recliners and a café table and chairs. We enjoyed breakfast on the balcony a few times during our stay – loved having coffee overlooking the sea. The room was immaculate. Our housekeeper was a jewel. Fresh sets of towels twice a day. Our room had an enormous bath tub that we took good advantage of. The room including bath area was always neat as a pin. (We left a generous tip because we appreciated not returning to the ton of sand we regularly deposited everywhere.) The bed was very comfortable with crisp linens. We were pre-warned about possible insect activity and the room was equipped with bug spray. It is a tropical setting, so we weren’t put off. Our one insect encounter was with a scorpion running for its life across the floor. (We weren’t fazed – our experience in the Costa Rican rainforest included tarantulas, black scorpions, and giant biting flies. So, no big deal.)

Some things that were not perfect, but not deal breakers for us either.
−Service. The service can be a bit uneven. We had everything from outstanding to really bad service. Speaking with some other guests, we were told that it was endemic to the Caribbean, which can be relaxed to the point of coma in some instances. For the price point at PI however, we felt they could step up their game. They missed several opportunities to give their guests a personalized, exceptional experience.

−WIFI. Sometimes wireless worked. Sometimes it didn’t. We utilized the public area near the front desk to check emails. Also, there are two computers in a common entertainment room near the pool. We appreciated the free connectivity throughout the resort.

−Décor. The rooms are a little tired, but serviceable. The sofa (daybed) in our room was not comfortable to sit on. We think it’s provided for families to have additional beds available. We would have preferred a sofa – we sat on the bench at the foot of the bed, which was by comparison heaps better.

Overall, we give our much-needed vacation an A-. On our departure, we were interviewed by guest services on our experience. The General Manger personally met with us as well to discuss details he could address. We had a great time and have already recommended PI to others with the noted caveats above. Given the opportunity, we would do it again with zeal and look forward to a return sometime in the future.

Room Tip: Beachside rooms are literally beach side! Ocean view rooms are next to a lovely pool area and have e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BiffandJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I loved my stay on Peter Island, everything about it, starting from the arrival at the private departure point on Tortola, where we we offered complimentary beer & water. The transfer itself was on a small luxury speedboat with very friendly staff. On arrival our check in was very quick and our room was really comfortable and spacious with a front and a back door. This is a perfect destination as you have eveything you need to hand, bar, restaurants, pool, spa and gorgeous beaches but as it is an island you can often feel like you have the place to yourself. I recommend a walk up to the top of the island for amazing views and also a private picnic on a beach to yourself. The outside spa, was very relaxing also.
The food is delicious (a little pricey but no more than other hotels in the BVI) The night life is low key and you can even hire dvd's to watch in your room if you wish. There are plenty of exursions and activities to take part in during the day if you prefer something a little more active.

I really didnt want to leave, I would go back in a second

Thank you Peter Island

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somewhere2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My husband and I traveled to Peter Island at the end of July 2011. This was our second trip to the area, because last year we stayed at Scrub Island Resort. Therefore, I find comparing the two unavoidable.
A. Rooms- The rooms are a bit nicer at Scrub Island because we had a kitchen and living area. However, if you are purchasing a meal package (as we had at Peter), then you don't need anything but the mini-fridge in the room.
B. Resort Location- Peter Island is a far bigger resort. It, too, is convenient to Tortola or even St. Thomas. If you dive or snorkel, PI is not far from the Rhone shipwreck, which is very popular.
C. Food -The breakfast at Scrub Island was excellent every morning, though we had a few night time meals that weren't great. We didn't have a bad meal at Peter Island at all. Our favorites were the coconut french toast, ribs, caesar salad, grilled grouper, beef tenderloin, and the pizza was pretty good too! They have a lot of variety on their menu. Loved the Deadman's Beach Bar and Grill. Was a great atmosphere and yummy food. I swear I gained 10 lbs at PI!
C. Beaches -The beaches at Scrub Island weren't great. The "beach" near the marina is tiny and only had a few beach chairs. Deadman's Bay Beach is magnificent! It is probably second in the area only to Jost Van Dyk's White Bay Beach. And, even that isn't by much. The beach was clean and the water clear. There were plenty of chairs and umbrellas. They also have some foam floats you can use at no charge. We spent some time just hanging out in the beautiful water on the floats. It was heaven!!! Then, we wanted some excitement, we loaded into a two person sea kayak and paddled over to Honeymoon Beach. Great experience! We'd highly recommend this. No charge for it and it is fun!
E. Service- We found the service at both resorts to be very good. At Peter Island, we were always met with a smile. The gift shop's Charity and manager Colin were stand-outs for us.
F. Extras- When we arrived we were greeted with ginger rum lemonade (a Peter Island specialty). Once in our room, we found a gift in a cute little pouch, it was a hammock necklace. Very cute! We've never gotten such a precious gift from a resort. Nice touch!
Overall, Peter Island was a better resort to us. We enjoyed Scrub Island, but if/when we go back we will definitely go to Peter Island!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ALaLa722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Our visit to Peter Island was fantastic - aside from a few front desk hiccups initially (it is low season), the resort met our extremely high expectations. This resort is perfect for couples who are looking for a very quiet getaway with beautiful beach, water, and outstanding food. The island is positioned perfectly in the BVI's with great views of the surrounding islands, and quick boat access to others for day trips. For those who choose to stay busy, there are ample opportunities to take part in both on-island and off-island excursions. Those that I would recommend (as many times as you can) is the sunset at the top of the island. Beautiful and romantic setting with a nice little quaint setup with cheese/crackers/fruit, etc. The staff drops couples off who to choose to visit the peak and come back after sundown. Very romantic and quiet - top of the world, it seems. The day trip to Virgin Gorda (baths) is excellent, particularly if you are with a small group - the captain truly will create an itinerary that works for you - and you aren't stuck doing the same thing that all choose. Snorkeling at the baths is great, but my recommendation is swimming in, exploring the baths, and continuing on by boat to some of the better snorkeling spots such as the caves at Norman Island. The weekly wine dinner is fantastic at the resort. The staff creates a very friendly environment to enjoy a fine dinner with 4-5 different wine parings, which really allows you to experience something very unique. The honeymoon beach and white bay beach on-island excursions are fantastic and provide you a truly secluded time with your significant other. It feels like the beach is yours alone (and in the case of honeymoon beach, it is)! There is hiking should you choose to do some exercise - along with plenty of snorkeling/diving through the on-island dive shop. As with most Caribbean islands, the service is very attentive to your needs, albeit at a slower pace than you may desire. My recommendation has always been to slow down on vacation, and don't expect anything too quickly - the same goes for Peter Island Resort. However, with that I will say that you will certainly enjoy the personalities that the staff includes - and most (if not all) will feel like friends by the time you depart. Internet access worked great (wifi) in the beachfront rooms (so-so in the oceanview rooms... however you are next to a business center area, where you can get Internet access, along with TV if you are crazy enough to want to get back to reality). Oceanview rooms are plenty big, and offer great views of the sea or pool, whereas the beachfront rooms give you the breathtaking view and easy access to deadman's beach. The beachfront rooms are almost twice the size, include a chair and sofa/daybed, along with 2-3 times size bathroom with separate shower and two-person tub. There is a big difference in the rooms, so likely worth spending the extra amount for beachfront. The food is out of this world, and I highly recommend getting the mealplan. The food is fairly expensive, and I believe you will enjoy your stay if you go ahead and pay for the plan and not worry about what to order when you're in the mood for something. The various buffets are fantastic, and occur at least twice a week. The menu is very good - and includes both eclectic Caribbean style options, in addition to more traditional options for the less venturous. Wine selections are very good, with very reasonable options - along with many fine wines and champagnes. My personal recommendation is to stay at Peter Island Resort if you are looking for a truly relaxing time with options to eat, drink, sleep, lounge, sail, swim, and all of the other options of the BVI's. Be prepared to spend a bit while you're there, but do so knowing that you're getting the best. Peter Island Resort doesn't market itself as a cheap resort - it shouldn't. It is Fine with a capital F, and is exclusive. With all of that being said, there are always some extremely reasonable deals offered - so take advantage!

Room Tip: Book beachfront because it is the best. If you don't want to pay rack room rate, book the oceanv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmac2382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peter Island
4.3 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
5.6 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
291 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
384 reviews
7.4 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
18.6 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peter Island Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peter Island Resort and Spa

Property: Peter Island Resort and Spa
Address: Road Town | Tortola, 00801 2409, Peter Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Peter Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Peter Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peter Island Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Peter Island Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peter Island Hotel Peter Island
Peter Island Resort And Spa British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing