We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice place to eat and generally chill out.”
Review of Neptune's Treasure

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Anegada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Neptune's Treasure
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Anegada
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were on a sailing holiday (our 5th) in the BVI and stopped over in Anegada for a couple of nights. We had dinner in Neptune's Treasure on both nights, and it was an excellent choice. Food was good, as was the hospitality. Unlike many other restaurants in the BVI, we felt that it hasn't lost the personal touch and it has a really friendly ambience. The staff were great and went out of their way to make our visit an enjoyable one. It's in a great location on the beach and it was nice having dinner on the terrace, looking out over the ocean as the sun went down.
What especially impressed us was how the owners helped us resolve a problem we had with a credit card - it had been 'cloned' while we were in the BVI and unknown to us, our bank had put a stop on it. Came to pay and embarrassment all round! However, they were most understanding and offered us their phone to make a call to our bank to sort it out (which we managed to do). A special thanks to Shona for making some wonderful, refreshing, milkshakes for grandson, Kalvin!

Room Tip: We didn't stay there, but from the outside the rooms looked good and well maintained
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian_lane802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Neptune's Treasure
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 108 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here back in February and come from a group of islands in Scotland so used to the boat trips......Just not as much sun where we are from!! :) staff were so friendly and helpful!! location was BEAUTIFUL, the rooms were lovely and we had a hoot on Anegada.....wish I could live there!! Just loved the place! definitely go!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Rocked up and there was only 1 other table for lunch ordered 4 things got 2 out of 4 correct but what I got was very good conch curry. Took quite a while to get our food but lets face it when your on Anegada your chilling out anyway!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank FoodiegoodieGumdrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Once again my wife and I stayed at the Neptune's Treasure after a week on a bareboat charter we took the ferry over to see our friends on the island and to spent some time limin'. As usual, hospitality was great, the food there was delicious and bountiful as always we were comfortable in our air-conditioned room. Pam's delicacies are always on hand in the staff in the bar and restaurant are exceptional. We consider them friends especially Shay, Joanna, Pam and Ingrid. unless something changes my wife and I will always stay at Neptune's and even if you are not locking their or your on a boat you surely should try out their restaurant for a meal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marksmithTortola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

First you have to get to Anegada, this tiny little CoralReef of a place just eleven miles north of Virgin Gorda. Yeah, you're gonna need either a boat or a seaplane, but I suppose you could take a ferry from somewhere like
St. Thomas, but that could be expensive. Not as expensive as renting a sail boat for a week, you're going to have to make the call there...
OK, back to Neptune's, this fun little hotel and Lobster house there on Anegada.
S all the beach places serving food here specialize in lobster, most simply grill it. The waters around this coral reef are abundant in this so don't worry about eating too much. Fact is you get a handsome amount, another fact, don't go on a hot dog budget, these places All charge the same. Fifty dollars per person. For that you get a complete lobster, rice and beans, some sort of steamed veggies, and plenty of melted butter.
One of the things that makes Neptune's different is that they're the only ones here who first steam the lobster, then only grill it for a short while for some extra taste. The cool thing about this process is you don't get an over done lobster.
The other nice thing about Neptune's is that it lends itself to a more intimate dining experience. The other places are in the sand, people enjoying dark and Stormy's or Carib beers, and while I'm cool with that, in a big way, this Lobster experience needs to be more fully appreciated.
So head across the open waters for Anegada, watch yourself with their reef, then walk all the way down the beach to the larger two story grey place and make a reservation, enjoy, Salida1048

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Salida1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had visited Anegada once before on a sailboat and wanted to visit it once again on our island hopping vacation, so we chose Neptune's based upon reviews that we had read here and could not have found a better place to spend our two nights.

The hotel, like everything else on Anegada, is not posh, but is very well maintained and clean. In fact, it rivals nearly any place that we have ever stayed in the Florida Keys, which we visit quite often. The room was spacious and had a very comfy bed with amazing views of the water. I think that all of the rooms there will have great water views. We stayed up on the 2nd story, which gave us a nice vantage point. The room has a small window ac which nicely does the trick and we only used in the evening as we slept. Actually, considering the remote location, the room exceeded our expectations with nice sheets, towels and how nicely it was maintained.

We took the "Fast Ferry" from Tortola, which wasn't as well maintained and quite dated. I understand that there is another ferry that services the island on alternate days, and next time we'll schedule our trip to use them because we understand that they use a catamaran boat and it isn't as "choppy". In our ferry there wasn't an option to go out into the fresh air, which would have been nice.....but we made it nonetheless. Once you get off the ferry at the dock, if you have any luggage at all (we just had carry-ons and a purse/backpack each) you might want to hire a taxi for the short taxi ride (or long, hot, walk) to the hotel. Without bags, the walk is much shorter since you can walk along the beach and be there within 15 minutes. We didn't anticipate this and were "winging it" and got directions from some locals from the beach bar near the dock and as we began our walk a local storekeeper saw our predicament and insisted (He didn't even ask us, he just cranked up his jeep and pulled up to us) that we jump into his car and he would give us a ride. So he closed his shop and we jumped in. Turns out that his wife made one of our all time favorite coffee cups from our travels, that we bought there the last time we visited, who we found to be just a delightful person, and now we know that her husband is the same caliber of person.......although we still feel grateful for his generosity, the point here is to let you know that taking a taxi from the dock is a good idea.

There is a happy hour at Neptune's which is quite lively. Many of the boats anchored in the bay will come ashore to enjoy the libations, which Mark expertly prepares. In fact, Mark has been on this island since he was 10 years old and has such an interesting story about his life's journey here that he really should consider writing a memoir. Swiss family Robinson has nothing on him and his family........it's quite a story.

We ate one evening at Neptune's and the other at Lobster Trap. Both have wonderful views, but Lobster Trap seemed to have slightly better ambiance, with Neptune's having the better food. Everything is fresh and you have to order at least by 4pm so they know how much they have to catch. Lol. Nothing is prepared far in advance, so as they know how many to expect for dinner, then they can prepare the proper amount of food. And there is usually just one time slot for dinner. We really enjoyed this sort of setting. The same method caught us by surprise while visiting Big Bamboo in Loblolly Bay when we stopped our snorkeling and walked up to the restaurant and ordered lunch and the lady asked us "what time would you like to eat?" It dawned on me that we should have ordered an hour or so earlier and picked the time to arrive and eat.....life here is simpler and so relaxed. The daily routine of hustle and bustle that we grow accustomed to is nicely missing. BTW, Loblolly Bay is one of my all time favorite beaches and snorkeling spots in the world. I'll include a few pics of the beach.

We enjoyed our stay at Neptune's and Anegada immensely. We would strongly recommend staying here to our best of friends and cannot imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kindredspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights during a trip to Tortola and fell in love with the place.

Mark and Pam the owners treat you like friends rather than customers and the whole place has a really relaxed atmosphere.

The rooms are simple yet comfortable and as we like - no tv, no phone etc a real get away from it all place. Rooms have air con and fan and wifi around the bar although never tried it in the room.
The views are superb looking out to sea and watching the catamarans come and go, the happy hour is a great place to catch up with everyone and Marks pain killers are memorable!!
The food is very good but do remember to give your choice before 4pm as lots of yachties also eat here of an evening.

There are also other bars / restaurants nearby if you choose to eat out.

Pam is also well known for her bakery and we can highly recommend her cookies and buns, we are still trying to burn the calories off!!

We had never even heard of this place until we were actually on Tortola and the BVI slogan is "Natures little secrets", in this case Anegada really is one of natures secrets we just hope that it stays that way.

The world is a big place and we have a big list of places to see but we will definitely be returning here in the not too distant future.
Pam, Mark and all your staff many thanks for a truly wonderful few days.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view some are single storey but others are 2 storey.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jordan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anegada
1.5 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anegada Reef Hotel
Anegada Reef Hotel
#3 of 5 in Anegada
83 reviews
22.4 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
99 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Tamarind Club
The Tamarind Club
#12 of 25 in Tortola
121 reviews
17.6 mi away
Mango Bay Resort
Mango Bay Resort
#2 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptune's Treasure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune's Treasure

Address: Southwestern Shore, Anegada
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Anegada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Anegada
Price Range: $90 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anegada, British Virgin Islands, BVI - Neptune's Treasure is a family run Anegada hotel with beachfront villas, rooms and cottages. Perhaps best described as "SIMPLICITY" this Anegada resort is situated on the Southwestern shore of the most unique island in the chain of the British Virgin Islands. The secret of "Nature's Little Secrets" offers a family operated Guest House, Restaurant and Bar, situated on the shore under towering palms with breathtaking views of Virgin Gorda and Tortola. So kick back, relax and enjoy our home style atmosphere where the Soares Family will share their hospitality and their stories of their beginnings on Anegada. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Neptune`s Treasure Hotel Anegada
Neptunes Treasure Anegada
Neptunes Treasure Hotel Anegada
Neptune's Treasure Anegada, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing