We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly People-Great Location”
Review of Anegada Reef Hotel

Anegada Reef Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Restaurants in Anegada
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tortola
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Friendly People-Great Location”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Went for an impromptu 2 night getaway from my Tortola base for a little stress relief. If you come from a big city, any city or even a place as small as Tortola, this is a seriously laid back place. 300 people in total for the island, and it is unspoiled. Re: the Anegada Reef Hotel, Lorraine, her mom and staff are very friendly. Everything is easy. We had a few breakfasts at the hotel, and they were good with courteous, and prompt service. Coffee, tea and juice is complimentary with breakfast. The room we stayed in (I think we were the only guests), was large and had the basics. King size bed, A/C a ceiling fan, bathroom vanity and a dresser. A few chairs. Although the interior is a throwback to way back when, it is more of an English standard, as opposed to an American standard. There is a shortage of outlets, no hairdryer (although the desk provided one when asked), and a very dark bathroom. It really needs a renovation, but is certainly clean and a welcome relief after the ferry. You do not lock your room. Although the hotel will store something in their safe, this is a low crime area. Doors are unloved. You leave your keys in the car, and everyone "really knows" everyone else. There is a little history to this place Lorraine's mom told me. Interesting how it got built, and their family took it over--and have run it for about 37 years. Great location; 3 minute walk from the ferry dock. You have to make reservations for dinner here (and all restaurants by 4PM.). As far as getting around, you do not need a taxi. You can rent motorbikes across the street from the hotel or elsewhere. A few places have a car if you want. Motorbikes are an enjoyable way to get around, although we went during a period when there were periodic very short rain showers. There is no traffic. If you head out for the day, you might see 3 cars on the road. No ATM or a bank on the island, so bring cash. The island has a couple of very nice beaches; Loblolly, Cow Wreck and Anegada Beach club are all nice and each have a restaurant/bar. Lobster is king in Anegada and most restaurants will BBQ it or put it in a salad. I think we were on lobster overload as it is so rare to find it this fresh and offered at all restaurants. All and all a very pleasant few days. The hotel is a very nice place to unwind. A no hassle experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigDan133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    34
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
pa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Visited 6/19/13 interesting place”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had breakfast here on Wednesday
- slightly hard to find believe it or not (small signage tucked away)
- Vivian the owner is very nice, her son-in-law provides cab service and is also nice
- food was fine
- would come back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaLookout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Must!!!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We wanted to go to Anegada on our recent sailboat charter specifically for the lobster...We were not disappointed...What terrific customer service...Our captain called ahead and had six 2.5 lb portions of lobster reserved...we were able to book a taxi to take us around the island (to both Loblolly and Cow Wreck beaches - Cow Wreck was much better!) and have the $24 per person added to our dinner bill so we didn't have to worry about cash as there are no ATM's on the island...Able to use credit card for dinner...Absolutely the best beach grilled lobster dinner we have ever experienced...enjoyed watching the sunset and the lighting of the driftwood filled drums...Do not miss this once in a lifetime experience!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ahottoddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Really beautiful spot for dinner and good food.”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We ate here on our sailing trip, spent three days in Anegada. As everyone says, you call in your order before 4:30, the tables are set in the sand with candles on the table. It is a truly beautiful setting to enjoy dinner and your friends. All the food was good. The bill is confusing in the BVI as they charge a grat/service fee which when I asked she said yes the gratuity was already on (which I just hate as we are very good tippers). Another place said part of that goes back to the Brits. Wish they would explain that better as wanted to make sure we were tipping at least 20% but not 40%. Other than that, wow what a wonderful trip!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janeynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good resaturant”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We ate here on our second night moored at Anegada. As with all the restaurants on the harbor, you call in your reservation and menu choice before 4:30 p.m. Then you show up at your reservation time and your food is ready when you get there. They had family style servings of salad and veggies. My husband ordered, of all things, chicken alfredo, and it was excellent. Our steak and lobster was also good. The wait staff was courteous and friendly and timely. You just can't beat sitting on the beach, eating by candlelight under the stars!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MTMama1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anegada Reef Hotel also viewed

Anegada, British Virgin Islands
Anegada, British Virgin Islands
 
Anegada, British Virgin Islands
Anegada, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Anegada Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing