We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Cottage, Area and Hosts”
other travelers have booked this property
Glan yr Afon Holiday Cottage - Ffestiniog Holiday Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Glan yr Afon Holiday Cottage - Ffestiniog Holiday Cottages
Warm and welcoming lounge with impressive inglenook fireplace and multi fuel wood burning stove Lovely lounge with lots of charm, comfortable seating and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Glan yr Afon Holiday Cottage - Ffestiniog Holiday Cottages
Warm and welcoming lounge with impressive inglenook fireplace and multi fuel wood burning stove
Lovely lounge with lots of charm, comfortable seating and dining area
Well appointed and equipped kitchen
The Ffestiniog narrow gauge railway at Tanygrisiau, high above the cottage
Cwmorthin Lake - a lovely walk from the cottage
Rhosydd Chapel, beyond Cwmorthin Lake - another fantastic walk amongst some dramatic scenery
Black Rock Sands, Morfa Bychan - about a 20 minute drive away
Portjmeirion - About a 15 minute drive away
Beautiful scenery and a small river at the front of the cottage
Welsh Highland Steam railway crossing at the bridge in Porthmadog
The Fairy Glen, Betws y Coed - about a 15 minute drive away
Caernarfon Castle - about a 30 minute drive away
Conwy Castle - about a 25 minute drive away
Harlech Beach - about a 20-25 minute drive away
Llyn Mair - beautiful lake and woodland walks here and only a short drive away
Great Horse Riding in Snowdonia
Antur Stiniog's Downhill Trails, Blaenau Ffestiniog - only a 5 minute drive away
Llama Trekking at Coed y Brenin & Black Rock Sands - only 15 - 20 minutes drive away
Zip World - Bethesda - about a 35 minute drive and Zip World Titan, Blaenau - 2 minutes away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tanygrisiau, Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gareth_Sm...
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage, Area and Hosts”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

As the title suggests, Glan yr Afon was perfect in every way. The welcome gifts were greatly appreciated by all (including the dog) and in all honesty there was nothing to fault about the cottage. Angie and Rich have thought about absolutly everything you would need during your stay and provided it....

The location of the cottage is ideal for exploring Snowdonia and the locality and for the best part, it's right on your doorstep. Plenty of places to eat and drink and the welcome is always warm.

By far the best cottage we have stayed in and we hope to be back sooner rather than later.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted that Glan yr Afon cottage lived up to your expectations. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Warmest wishes Angie, Rich & Billy (our dog).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dippyzx9
Llanelli
1 review
“Overall a really cosy cottage”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The cottage is situated in a friendly little village and everywhere we went we had a warm welcome,if you want to do plenty of walking there are plenty of walks to do with amazing views,and plenty of really nice places to dine out Oakley arms,lakeside cafe and pub in village next to train station,to name a few,overall well worth
staying at the cottage well thought out plenty of information in guest book so
you have plenty of choice of things to do while staying there p's a big thank you for welcome gifts and starter pack and we are planning our return

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2014
So lovely to hear you had a really enjoyable time at the cottage and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Regards Angie & Rich
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra...
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, cosy cottage!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed at Glan yr afon cottage in October 2013. Its a lovely, cosy cottage in a great location. The owners have included lots of thoughtful touches to make it welcoming, for example, a starter pack for the fire, a welcome gift on arrival (wine & cake!), plus lots of information on the surrounding area, walks, maps, even Tupperware for your packed lunch! Great location, from the village there are walks you can do and you can hop on the Ffestiniog railway (station is 2 mins walk up the hill). We also drove to Conwy, Anglesey, port Meirion, Harlech castle, Llandudno and snowdon, all an hour or less away. And there were loads more places to visit, that was all we could cram into the week! A lovely cottage, warm and snug, great facilities in a great location. Highly recommend it, especially for the price.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 22, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted you had a lovely stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Best Wishes, Angie & Rich
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing