We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Incredible Journey!”

Gumption's Tours BVI
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gumption's Tours BVI is the ultimate experience that we believe everyone should sign up for. Gumption, captain & owner is very passionate about given you a tour that will have you coming back for more, either if you book for the basis hour glass bottom your, half or full day chater you will have a wonderful time. Looking for a bit of a thrill? Gumption's Night Tours at night where we witness the beauty of the ocean & not forgetting, if you don't see 5 sea turtles you don't have to pay, tour will be on us. Need an adventure? Ask about out limited Edition tours to the Virgin tycoon Island Necker the owner Sir Richard Branson as Gumption leads you on a two hours long, fun,learning adventure as we vist the tycoons lemurs, flamingos, giant tortoise and more, wow after that long journey Gumption will bring you to the tycoons house where you will have a cold glass of fruit punch and cold water as you gaze around the gift shop. The Gumption's Nature Tours are unique and limited, with 6 or more person on a tour, more information on our website. Half or full day of snorking, island hopping and lunch stop and a cool stop is also welcome. Private chater? No problem. Drop us a line and let us secure you're space today
1 review
“An Incredible Journey!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I do Term Charters in the BVI and we go to North Sound, Virgin Gorda on every trip. We had family aboard the first week of June 2013 and decided to call Gumption of Sea It Clear Glassbottom tours for the wildlife tour of Necker Island. This was an incredible journey to the most amazing Island Paradise. We saw flamingos at two salt ponds, four species of lemurs including the beloved ringtail lemurs of King Julien fame. We saw rare scarlet Ibis and some amazing giant but gentle tortoises from the Galapagos. We even met a wonderful Cockatoo named Bella that fell in love with my husband. This trip was unforgettable and our guide, Gumption, is a wonderful person and guide. After we departed Necker, we had a Glassbottom tour of Eustatia Sound and saw three ancient cannons, tropical fish, turtles, coral and sponges. An Incredible journey I will never forget-such beauty and wonder in nature.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaitclearBVI, Owner at Gumption's Tours BVI, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your service & hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
All_over
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pirates!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Gumption - what a great guy. This trip was during the VISAR "Swim the Sound" day at Leverick Bay. I hadn't expected to go on a glass-bottom boat today, but even though I'm a diver, I had a great trip. Right out to the reef, we saw Nurse Sharks in about six fee of water, an Eagle Ray, a Turtle and a whole bunch of cannon, just lying in the water. Gumption was enthusiastic and a good Captain, getting us right over the best sites and following some of the bigger animals around. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank City_Watch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaitclearBVI, Owner at Gumption's Tours BVI, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your service & hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesone experience”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I had the opportunity of taking a tour Sea It Clear and it was an exciting fun-filled experience. Our tour guide Gumption is very experienced and knlowledgeable about the ocean and the surrounding islands. I recommend that anyone thats visits the BVI to please check it out. You will not regret it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank vipeach27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaitclearBVI, Owner at Gumption's Tours BVI, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your service & hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Been going to VG for years, and this is a first-of-its-kind business. "Gumption" (owner's name) is enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and committed to ensuring his guests have a good cruise. Pricing very reasonable, and while we were out we spotted turtles, a stingray, and a shark. Don't miss the cannons from the real Pirates of the Caribbean, which are sunk in the reefs around the island. Worth the trip (and, as noted above, not as obscenely expensive as many other things on the island).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank doctorbchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaitclearBVI, Owner at Gumption's Tours BVI, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your service & hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Shoreham, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We loved our eveing cruise aboard 'Sea it Clear" glass bottom boat.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

One of our memorable evenings was a trip on the glass bottom boat "Sea it Clear" captained and hosted by Gumption who was a most enthusiastic guide off the waters of Virgin Gorda. He took us and other passengers out in the evening and we were able to see more than 10 sea turtles, a couple rays of notable size as well as tarpon, lobster and many other wonderful sights. We also saw two canons left almost buried in the ocean bottom from the 1700's. He was knowledgeable and extremely capable in handling his vessel. We are looking forward to taking this trip again next year for sure.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jestudio80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaitclearBVI, Owner at Gumption's Tours BVI, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your service & hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumption's Tours BVI also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Spanish Town, Virgin Gorda
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Gumption's Tours BVI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing