We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BITTER END YACHT CLUB”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bitter End Yacht Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Sound
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“BITTER END YACHT CLUB”
Reviewed July 18, 2008

We stayed at the Bitter end early May 2008. Overall we had a great stay, good times, great activities every day, access to boats, sail boats, snorkeling gear. Definitely go on the excursions to the baths, Normand Island beautiful snorkeling! sunset sail...
Lovely scenery and atmosphere all over the BVI. Resort grounds are very nice but beaches are narrow not as inviting as other areas.
Small pool. Great staff very helpful and responsive.
Accommodations: No room keys and safe is in the lobby area.
We were in a beach villa at first, but there were no curtains or A/C. Although temperatures are cool at night staff kindly moved us to the North suites (slightly older, currently being renovated but clean) which have curtains and A/C. All rooms require a walk uphill sometimes on unpaved roads. There are taxis/golf carts available, but after midnight lobby staff and cabs are no longer available. Food was fine, atmosphere nice, romantic, private, quiet. Good crowd at the resort. All rooms have patio and stunning views. Great place overall.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — no room key, lack of curtains/blinds in some room, can't black out room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank romijude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    100
    38
    18
    10
See reviews for
174
176
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
1 review
Reviewed June 5, 2008

This was my third trip to the Bitter End, and it was just as wonderful as my first two trips there. The rooms have a nice sea breeze, and a fantastic view of the North Sound, and of the sunset. The rooms are not luxurious, but have a mini refrigerator, a large shower, a porch, a clean bathroom, many cabinets, and a few chairs and tables, along with two comfy beds. Though your room doesn't have a tv, you don't need one, because you spend your whole day outside. The food was nothing amazing, but tasted good, and didn't get boring after a week. The beaches are large, quite empty, and have pavilions. The staff seem friendly, and are willing to accommodate your needs. The water sports are excellent, and take you on an optional trip every day, such as snorkeling, sailing, or exploring other islands, or places on virgin gorda. If you aren't satisfied with where the scheduled trips take you, then you can charter a boat, and go wherever you want. The resort has a large variety of boats that you can sail around the north sound, such as Hobie Cats, kayaks, whalers, optis, and more. I plan on going back next year.

  • Liked — staff, beach, food, day trips, water sports
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank johnothan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2008

My husband and my 2 1/2 year old daughter visited the Bitter End in April. It was our fourth trip to the Bitter End (my 6th) and the first visit with our daughter. I have always said that what you pay for at the Bitter End are the outdoor activities and the beautiful setting on North Sound. There are so many things to do and EVERYTHING is included. We're sailors, so having the clubfeet of hobie cats, lasers, windsurfers, kiteboarding, kayaks, sunfish and daysailers at our disposal, not to mention that every day there is a day trip somewhere fabulous on either their sailing Catamaran or large double decker powerboat has made it worth it to us. You get up in the morning, throw on your swimsuit and coverup, have breakfast on the water loooking out over North Sound, go for a day trip, or if staying behind, take out a Hobie cat, play on the beach, take a snorkel trip (2 local snorkel trips offered daily), lunch, beach or then to the pool - some combinatin of this means you're outside all day long.

We only head back to the room when it's time to get ready for dinner. And this is a good thing, because for years we have stayed in the North Sound Suites and they are barebones (no tvs, etc.) and in serious need of some updating. (I've heard the Beachfront villas on the otherside of the resort are wonderful since they were renovated a few years ago.) We stay in the suites because they have a/c. Our suite this year was particularly disappointing (thick dust on light fixtures, sticky counter tops) although when we called down to complain it was cleaned immeditately. While cleaner, it was still old. Also, with a toddler who needs a nap, we were in the room more often than in past years, this was unfortunate.

Beacuse we had our daughter with us, who was too young for the kids club and the day trips and snokeling, we spent most of our time on the beach and at the pool. The pool is lovely but there are better beaches in the Caribbean. Also, there are a lot of steps to the rooms up in the hills. So my advice is to wait on the Bitter End until your youngest is at least 5. Especially when you consider that to get to the Bitter End you take two planes and a boat -- all the travel and transfering can be hard on a little one.

The service is very, very good. There was some mix up with the provisioning I had requested when we arrived, however, everyone I have ever come in contact with at the Bitter End has been lovely, friendly and helpful. They were so sweet to my daughter, and housekeeping went above and beyond on more than one occasion for us. (Washed our daughter's much need blankies in less than 2 hours so she could have them for bed.) You are on island time but the staff really does care. The excellent water sports staff is also willing to go the extra mile and is knowlegable and accomodating.

The food is good when ordering a la carte. If you stick to the meal plan, you could eat all three meals in the same restaurant. There's a pub that's not on the meal plan with pizzas and burger (a sailor/chartering hangout) but lunch at the pool is included. They'll also bring drinks and lunch to you on the beach.

Also, skip Leverick Bay (across the Sound from BEYC), we took out a Bradly (22' powerboat) to have lunch there one day and waited over 2 HOURS for a terrible lunch. We will never return.

The Bitter End is a laid back sailor's paradise that may be in need of some updating. However, if you're outside all day anyway, it's not that big of a deal. Speaking of deals, the Bitter End is one of the best in the Caribbean. Everything, all excursions, meals, some drinks, watersports, sunset cruises is included in their Admiral's package plan. We'll return again and again.

If you go, pack light and casual, you really will spend the day in your swimsuit and only get dressed for dinner.

  • Liked — Views of the Sound from the Balcony, enormous outdoor/indoor shower room
  • Disliked — Outdated furnishings, could have been cleaner
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank alimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental NC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2008

The BEYC is not a luxury resort. It does not have great food or great service, the rooms are somewhat primitive, and the nightlife would be better if it were non-existent. However, if you want to play in the water,(and frankly, why ELSE would you go to Virgin Gorda?), and you are not going to charter a yacht or bareboat, then this is a great place to stay.

My wife and I stayed there a week. We loved our beachfront room. Yes, there were a few lizards to greet us, and there was no AC, but we happen to like lizards, and you really don't need AC when the trade winds are blowing.

The food is buffet style for the most part, and although it was pretty good, it wasn't especially outstanding. We love West Indies cuisine, but most people who stay here are Americans & Euros who are not what one would call "adventurous" when it comes to food. They wanted steak, and they wanted lobster, and by golly, that's what the Bitter End will feed you! The service was not spectacular, but how can it be when there is no room service and you need to help yourself at the salad bar?

The music at night was horrendous! Adult contemporary is not a genre that should ever be mixed with reggae or soca, no matter how white or how pampered the audience!

OK, so why did we like the Bitter End?

First of all -- this place is all about the water. Sail, powerboat, wind surf, sail board, swim, scuba, snorkel -- do it all!! This is the spot. If you don't know how, they'll teach you. And let's remember, the water here is spectacular!

The staff could not have been friendlier. You can imagine the stupid kinds of things these folks need to deal with when Thurston Howell III wannabes show up from Westport CT in their little sailor ensembles. Indeed (and inexplicably), many of idle wealth seem to gravitate to this spot. Yet, the staff at the BEYC were very patient and very warm, and seem undaunted by the trivial pursuits of the uberclass. From the water sports staff to the restaurant and front desk people -- they were all very friendly and inviting. (Share a beer with them, and you will hear some really funny Gilligan stories! You could not imagine the stupid things people will do out on the water!)

For those not wanting to skipper their own craft, the BEYC has excursions every day to neighboring islands, dive spots, snorkel spots, even booze cruises. My wife and I had so much fun on these that we barely had time to take out the boats ourselves.

If you want to play out on the water every day, the Bitter End is the spot. This place is not about service and luxury, it is about sport and adventure. It is about getting wet and playing in the water.

As my wife pointed out, The Bitter End is like camp, a water sports camp for adults and their families, and water sports camp is not for everybody. If you want to be pampered, eat fancy food, and suck down foofoo drinks, go to the Four Seasons. (Better yet, stay home!) However, there are few places in the world I have ever seen that are more suited to playing in the water -- even for the uninitiated.

If you love water -- you'll love the Bitter End.

  • Liked — water sports
  • Disliked — buffets
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank uncleBad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2008

We just got back from our second time at the BEYC, and it's just as it was 8 years ago. The staff was lovely and helpful, which made our stay nice. While you won't starve to death, the food is nothing to write home about. It was mediocre.

The grounds, location and views are spectacular, unfortunately, the guest accomodations are a let down. The accomodations need a complete renovation. I was under the impression they had been renovated, but they obviously weren't.

The bathroom vanity was chipped formica. The florescent lighting is unflattering. The door to the toilet area had chunks of wood missing, as well as a missing towel hook. The showers are huge, but unappealing.

The bedroom had a 'bar' area that was yucky. The utensil drawers and cabinets could barely be opened, and believe me, I'm sorry I made the effort. I really didn't need to see was was going on inside...it was just plain creepy. The furniture style and wear and tear looked like it came from the "Leave It To Beaver" era.

This is not an easy resort to get to, as you have to fly through San Juan, Puerto Rico, then to Tortola, and then a boat ride, and I don't think it's worth the effort.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — It was old and worn out
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BRLTHREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

This was our best family vacation ever! We wanted to take our boys (ages 10 & 7) someplace other than Disney that had lots of activities, both for us as a family and separate children's activities. BEYC satisfied all of our requirements.

After taking the ferry from Tortola, we arrived at BEYC to a warm welcome and rum punch (for us, not the kids) around 3 p.m. We checked in and were given all the details for our stay. Since our bags were left in San Juan, BEYC made sure they had all the details in order to get our bags from the airport and deliver them to the resort. They arrived just before dinner!!

We stayed in one of the lower North Sound Suites with a beautiful view and close to the pool. We found that the walk to all the activities was a pleasant one and we rarely used the golf cart taxi! Rooms were very clean and nicely appointed. They are not luxurious but when you aren't spending too much time there, who cares. For luxury, stay at the 4 Seasons somewhere. The rooms had exactly what we needed: towels, a fridge stocked with water and soda, a huge shower, plenty of storage and a great view.

The food was pretty good. There was enough variety so that if you are staying a week, you don't have to repeat selections. Still, we ended up eating at the pub one night and at Saba Rock another.

But, the best can be said for the watersports staff. What a wonderful bunch of people. We were there at a slow time of year so there weren't as many kids. The staff pretty much tailored the kids activities for the week to the handful (less than 8) of kids there. Kayleigh and Scott were great! They also loved sailing with Jay. The thing we liked about the kids activities was that they were outside doing great activities like tubing, collecting shells, sailing or going on a nature hike. They were not inside and this was not babysitting. The kids were busy. Still, there were great activities for us to do as a family: a kayaking trip, sailing a Hobie, taking the whaler to a beach to snorkel and have a picnic lunch.

We even met another family there that we hung out with the entire week. Both the kids and the adults got along great. We are even planning a repeat vacation together next year.

BEYC is not a place for those wanting pampering, luxury and snobby service. What you do get is a great location & staff, service that is tailored to your needs, great toys to play with and wonderful memories.

  • Liked — Location, service and activities
  • Disliked — Not much
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NewTriChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2008

Were we extremely disappointed with our stay at the BEYC (thankfully we live on Tortola so hadn't traveled far to get there and were only there for 2 nights!!!!) The rooms are dingy and in need of an upgrade (unless you like 1970’s décor), the resort in general could do with some tidying up and general maintenance, the "service" is poor and the staff are completely disinterested in meeting guests need (very much a take it or leave it attitude) and, the food is very mediocre (and it is not like you have the option of numerous other restaurants on your doorstep). Some examples; we arrived at 10am and after 4 follow-up calls our daughters bed was eventually delivered at 7:30pm, when we made our reservation we specifically asked for advice on the best type and room location (given we were traveling with a 3 year old and 7 mth old) yet we were assigned a room at the furthest end of the resort and as high up the mountain as you can get, the shuttle bus is inefficient (and the drivers hazardous) and we spend a good portion of our weekend waiting for it or traipsing up the hill with 2 kids and all their gear. In addition there were mix-ups with our check-out time (having the bellman arrive for our bags at 8:30am when we advised we would only be leaving after lunch), most requests needed to be repeated multiple times, we are still waiting for the General Manager to call us in regard to our complaints, and despite the Rooms Manager promising us she would make up for our experience, we are still waiting to hear from her over a month after we checked out.
The only thing the BEYC has going for it in our eyes is its gorgeous location (the North Sound is one of our most favourite places in all of the Caribbean) and the extensive Watersports program. We have stayed at almost all of the high-end resorts in the Virgin Islands (US & BVI) and have traveled extensively in the Caribbean and if you want our opinion we would highly recommend staying at Little Dix on Virgin Gorda (beautifully appointed rooms, attentive service, awareness of children’s needs, gorgeous gardens and grounds, an absolutely stunning beach and good food) and, if you want to visit The North Sound, go by boat or charter a yacht and do it that way.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Out of date, not comfortable, needs maintenance, poor service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ExpatTravelholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sound
22.4 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
16.9 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
23.6 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
11.2 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
18.6 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitter End Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitter End Yacht Club

Property: Bitter End Yacht Club
Address: Virgin Gorda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda > North Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bitter End Yacht Club 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bitter End Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitter End Yacht Club Hotel North Sound
Bitter End Yacht Hotel
Bitter End Yacht Resort
Bitter End Yacht Club Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing