We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Really great family vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bitter End Yacht Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Sound
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My family and I just returned last night from a 1-week stay at The Bitter End Yacht Club. Although my wife and I have stayed there before having kids, it was our 2nd stay as a family. The kids (13,11,7) love coming to BEYC. The two youngest really enjoy the kids' camp. But the real draw for all of us is the water sports. Snorkeling, paddle boarding, sailing, windsurfing, kayaking, kite-surfing, scuba diving...BEYC has it covered! The watersports staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. Other points: a) The restaurant has a new head chef from last year and the food is plentiful and really terrific. The kids always enjoyed breakfast and Chef Harry's "Little bit of Magic" while preparing their eggs. b) Our accommodations were updated from last year and though we spent very little time in our rooms, the rooms were comfortable and clean. c) We found the staff very helpful and cheerful. d) We saw a number of families there this year that we met at BEYC last year (kids' spring school vacation) e) There is no room service, but we didn't care at all. f) We did not use the spa.

If there was room for improvement anywhere it would be the wait staff in the restaurant, which was somewhat inconsistent. Most of the time the service was very good. But a few times during the week our server disappeared for very long periods of time.

BEYC is not easy to get to, but it is definitely worth it once you get there.

We are planning to rebook for a week next year!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobbyfromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
There are newer reviews for Bitter End Yacht Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 501 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

When you're going to a destination wedding you really don't want to sweat the details. We never got a call back or returned email from supposed property manager who was never "on site" when we tried to reach her during the day. Hmmm...
It was also a bit upsetting for family members to see a wedding listed without the bride's name (especailly her parents).

The hotel's communication is awful, their website leaves out much of the critical information needed to book. Why not clearly list room costs? Are all restuarants covered in the Admiral's package?

The best is that you have to pay 100% in advance of even arriving. I've never heard of such a thing...and the hotel gets rather snippy when things aren't done the way they want them done.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank PamelaA758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

So, Ive never written a review before, but after our recent trip I wanted to share my thoughts:

(1) My first few visits to BEYC occured on a boat (pre-kids). I always loved going up there and it was the highlight of the bare charter

(2) Post kids; we began staying at BEYC ... this was my 6th time staying there

(3) Our kids are 4 and 6 (almost 7) and this year was absoluely incredible

(4) The 4 year old played on the beach with all the kids; spent her days swimming and sailing, playing with hermit crabs, etc. She just loved it

(5) Our 6 yr old spent a ton of time in the kids camp and had a wonderful experience. He did his first sailing lessons and I have to give a huge thank you to water sports folks (especially Nick)

This was possibly the best vacation we have ever taken as a family and the kids and I are looking forward to next year. If there is ANY downside; I would say that the rooms are nice - but not a 5 star room. However, we were in the rooms only to sleep and shower, so I dont really care.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pi2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

BEYC gets it! A family vacation where you can just appreciate the environment or be completely immersed in all that they offer: SAILING!, snorkeling, kite boarding, windsurfing, hiking, swimming, SCUBA and more. This is a sophisticated T-Shirt and flip-flop crowd. Everyone we met was friendly and our kids made instant friends. The staff and crew want to be there and appreciate your respect for their home. There is no TV!, WIFI, etc. It is true peaceful vacation spot.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zachary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My family of four just returned from a week
s stay at the resort. We loved it. We stayed in 10 N/S. While the views and location were perfect, be forewarned that there are 76 steps up to this particular bungalow. The bed was adequate, but I prefer extra soft anything. I had brought my own pillow, which I suggest if you are the type that likes feather pillows. The layout and feel of the room were lovely and it was nice to had a fridge and coffee maker set-up there. The hammock and lounge chairs were great to relax in. Our two tween girls felt completely secure and happy to run around on their own, snorkeling, swimming on the pretty beach, and taking sailing lessons. The food, for the most part, was very satisfying. We also enjoyed two days of spa services when we weren't out sailing. All of the staff was very friendly and accommodating. I guess my only "complaint" would be that the pool was very small and at the other end of the resort. So we only went there once during our trip. Overall- I would highly recommend for families that like to sail.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pontevedragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We just returned from our 4th consecutive year's Spring Break at the Bitter End (and my 8th overall time) and it's every bit as terrific as it has always been. Let me be clear - if you need tv's and on-demand movies and wifi everywhere with incessant noisy power water sports, this is not the place for you. If you want to slow down a bit and spend some time at more traditional Caribbean sailing vacation - a place without tv's (except for the movies in the Sand Palace at night or at the Pub for March Madness) - a place where your kids of almost any age can spend a day on their own, or with you - a place where you sleep at night without locking your door, letting the tradewinds cool you off through open windows and unlocked screen doors, there is no place better. There are more sailboats to take out than you can shake a stick at and your kids can, as ours did, get a group of people out to sail together or join in the 2x a day camp activities. There are boats to sail, trails to hike, reefs to snorkel and of course a top notch diving center for great scuba dives. What really makes this such a special place is the people and every year our kids connected with different members of the Bitter End staff. Everyone is so pleasant and they go so far out of their way to ensure you have a good time. This year, for example, Chef Harry who ran the egg/omelette station befriended our 9 year old who was taken with Harry's "little bit of magic" seasoning for his eggs. On our departure day, Chef Harry had made up a large batch of his secret "little bit of magic" spices for our son to take home and we got a picture of the two of them together. Our son has told EVERYONE about it. Every year, all our kids talk about all of the great things they did at the Bitter and and what they want to do again next year so we will keep going back to this very special place.

Room Tip: North Sound Suites are bigger and have AC so if you have little kids, it's easaier to get at cot...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Once you are tired of the gold and glitter of St Barths, St Tropez, Mauritius, and Maldives and have visited the various "hideaway" resorts from Aman, Four Season, or other exclusive 5* chain - perhaps you are ready for a real luxury family vacation.

The location is probably as "in" as you can possibly find anywhere in world. North Sound on Virgin Gorda. Here there are no roads, only small sail&motor vessels from the resort and visiting yacht renters/owners sailing by. One mile to the north lies Google founder Larry Page private island Eustacia. A further mile north you will find the favorite haunt of Hollywood elite; Richard Branson's Necker Island where they pay more than $ 40.000 a night. To the south inside the same bay lies Yacht Club Costa Smeralda new multimillion dollar harbour for superyachts 80 feet and up. And to the east - Oil Nut Bay, Caribeans most exclusive villa development. So why are the rich and famous flocking to this area? miles and miles of untouched coastline, gorgeous beaches with turquise water, and unbelievable year round weather. But perhaps most importantly - absolutely no mass tourism. The few small resorts that are here are spread over hundreds, if not thousand of acres.

BEYC is heaven for activity seeking kids of all ages. But this is probably is not the place to be if you prefer lazy days in a sunbed lapping up cheap Pina Coladas listening to Jimmy Buffet pipped over some resort-wide stereo system. Nor if what you are looking for is a week of party. And if you don't like walking a bit - this is a LARGE resort - certainly not in terms of guest, but it is a good 25 minute walk from one side of the resort to another. So most people that come here and love it, are people that enjoy having lots of fun & privacy while meeting likeminded people in a friendly easygoing active atmosphere. And especially those that love to sail, snorkel or scuba! This is Mecca for those enjoy playing in, on or under the sea. Joe and his plentifull watersports team of 8(!) instructors (always with a smile) helps you out with a boat or a board. There is world-class diving and snokling with great sights and a amazing array of fish with Shaun and the diving guys. Scott &Ross do their utmost to get new and experienced kiteboarders some good wind and a just great guys.

A typical day for our family of five was breakfast at 8, the youngest soon running off to join new friends in the Kids Club with some water activity (snorkeling, beginner course in sailing, sandcastle competition etc), the two older teens either kitboarding, windsurfing or scubadiving. A noon meeting for a great healthy lunch served right next to the water, then soon running off again to sail either a Hobie, a Lazer, a Sunfish, a Bug, or anything else that floats. My wife and I might take out one of the many Boston Whalers they have and go on a expedition to some empty beach on one of the many uninhabited islands near by, or do yoga with an instructor on the dock, or even chill on the beautiful beach with a book. But most likely I will soon run off again for some new sailing fun. By the time sunset comes, we will all have sailed, surf'd, scuba'd/snorkled countless hours. Now is a great time to relax on our cabin deck in one of the hammocks or lounge chairs and excitedly tell about the days adventure. The youngest saw her first sting-ray, a wild dolphin playing about and array of exotic fish. I circled around a large turtle with a Hobie for nearly 10 minutes. My wife tells about seeing her first lemon shark. The teenagers admitting they are scarily looking forward to a dive exploring a 140 year old shipwreck tomorrow. We are all now hungry for a hearty dinner with day-fresh fish, or huge lobsters accompanied by a wide choice of great salads. Desserts are my speciality and I can attest that they are all great. Thanks Chef Winston!

If you feel the need for a change of scenery once in a while, eating at one of the "neighbourhood" restaurants is fun and easy - just borrow a boat and go. There is Saba Rock 2 minutes away, YCCS, Fat Virgin cafe or Biras Creek about 5 minutes - all with very different atmosphere and price levels. But believe me, an meal at BEYC with Beluah and her great staff is by far the coziest and best alternative. Special mention must go to Mr. "Cool" Kerlon who cheers up the sleepy-eyes in the morning with his jokes, stories and smiles while cooking up some great omlettes with "a special bit of magic".

The cabins are just that - cabins. We stayed in a premium beachfront unit with two rooms with a common large terrace. The rooms are rustic, with roughly cut wooden walls and roof, and mahogony floors and furniture. The bathrooms are large and offer a beautiful full view of the blue lagoon just below. This is not Las Vegas, so do not expect marble and gold faucets. But the beds are great, and everything is clean and sturdy. The real treat ofcourse is the view, both from inside the room and from the porch. This same standard runs though the entire resort. Sturdy furniture mostly out of mahogony, much of it home made. There are artifacts from boats and ships spread throughout the entire resort, priceless orignal lamps from some lost treasure mixed with hundreds of donated sailboat flags adorning the main dining room celing. Sure there is some rust here and there, some broken tiles or lamps. Yes there might be mosquitos or mice (although we unfortunatly never saw any), but there is also Iguanas, pelicans, turtles and any number of exotic other animals or fish. This is real nature, not the Disney version. Yet there is very little "roughing it" at Bitter End. You might awake to the sound of the friendly garden crew in their daily raking of the beach. Or partake in the morning yoga session on the hidden exercise dock. Or even have a massage in a cabin up on a hill overlooking the entire North Sound. Hollidays are great at BEYC, just not in the traditional bland way of "designer resorts".

The heart of Bitter End main buildings are spread along a long dock that runs (interupted by the watersports beach) for about 1/2 mile. Here is a provisioning store for visiting sailboats and yachts, a popular pub&cafe, a scuba center, a general store with everything from shirts to watches, a outdoor cinema, an open aired reception area, a women clothing store, and finally the large dining area including the renown bar. All kept in a cozy, old maritime style. Along these docks and piers there is constant action - dozens of dingy's from moored sailboats, tenders from various private yachts, a privileged few vessels having secured a valuable dock place, some courtesy watertaxis from BEYC or nearby resorts, but most of all lots of Boston Whalers, kayaks, windsurfers and sailboats from the watersports center coming or going with some guest aboard.

So if you are a happy, active healthy family or couple wanting a great, fun & adventurous vacation I can think of no better place to go. And at a price that is basically a steal. So run and book your holliday, your family will thank you forever - because this is a place where dreams are reyalized and memories made

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Munchthore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sound
22.4 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
16.9 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
189 reviews
13.1 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
99 reviews
22.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
11.2 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitter End Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitter End Yacht Club

Address: Virgin Gorda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda > North Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Sound
Price Range: $514 - $1,316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bitter End Yacht Club 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bitter End Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitter End Yacht Club Hotel North Sound
Bitter End Yacht Hotel
Bitter End Yacht Resort
Bitter End Yacht Club Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing