We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Very mixed experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bitter End Yacht Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Sound
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is an incredibly beautiful location and a wonderful place to go with young teens who love the water and boating. The food is above average for an all inclusive. They have a serious problem with mice in the beach front high numbered rooms (e.g 23-29). I was very surprised by the service which was very inconsistent for a resort in this price range. Many of the waitress and other staff had a wonderful island hospitality. However, many were negative and seemed burned out. Restaurant service was often poor and inattentive and there is a generally tendency to say "ya man" and then not take care of problems. All and all we had a great vacation but I expected more for the price. The place could benefit from updating. Boating facilities and excursions were great.

Room Tip: Don't take beachfront rooms 23-29 due to mice problems. Northsound rooms can have 250 steps.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
There are newer reviews for Bitter End Yacht Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 501 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

As a repeat visitor who had considered staying a 5th time, I concur with the review entitled: “Prices increase...service, food, rooms get worse!” The only good thing about the place these days are the views from your room and the location. The food is terrible, with the exception of breakfast (hard to screw up) and lobster salad served by Martin at the pool. Management could give a damn about repeat customers, as evidenced by their lack of response to repeated emails. This year we are renting a house on North Sound with a beautiful view next to a beach. The pricetis way less expensive, allowing us to do everything we want to do a la carte. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We just returned from out second vacation at the BEYC. I can honestly say, that after traveling extensively as a family, to all different kinds of vacation spots, this seems to be the place my family is happiest. It is not exactly luxurious, more like barefoot luxury. Our family of four (2 teenage boys) stayed in two premium beachfront villas which were air conditioned. The rooms don't connect inside, but share a private porch with lounges and hammocks overlooking the water. The rooms are steps from the beach and get great breezes. Other rooms types are North Sound suites which are at the complete other end of the resort, some pretty high on the hill and most people use golf cart service to get to the main part of the resort. I think these rooms might be a little bigger, but I haven't explored down there...was happy in my beachfront villa!
Bitter End is not technically an all-inclusive, but if you get the Admiral's package it is pretty close. The Bitter End has a lot going on any given day. There are daily excursions which are always great, such as a trip to The Bath's, one of the most interesting natural wonders I have ever seen, or Anegada (the only coral island in the Virgin islands volcanic chain). These trips are included in the Admiral's Package and priced fairly if you are not on the plan. My family really enjoyed the extensive, included water sports and the excellent water sports staff. We went to Caneel Bay for a few days after BEYC and we all noticed that the watersports staff and activities at BEYC were far superior. Emma, Lucy, Nick, Captains Kinto and Michael and Terry and the rest of the crew go out of their way to accommodate people and make everyone feel welcome.
The Admiral's Package also includes meals and we found them to be (with very few exceptions) very good. Breakfast buffet was plentiful and fresh and included a delicious omelette/eggs to order station and a menu option to order pancakes, etc. The West Indian barbeque/pig roast was delicious and included the most amazing jerk chicken cooked right on the grill. Many nights the menu included fresh Anegada lobster for no additional charge when on the Admiral's package....really excellent! Eric and Yolanda are two stand out servers in a staff of great people.
My only wish is that the BEYC would take advantage of the real estate they have and turn the area down by the pool into a great beach bar/restaurant. It's perfectly situated and would be a great dining/drinking option for the BVI!
The only available wi-fi is down by the bar and there are no TVs in the rooms. My teenage boys who are always looking at some kind of screen barely notice. There is so much else to do. It's a great place to play and relax..but if you are expecting the Ritz, it's not the Ritz....it's a much more authentic experience than a sterile Ritz. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: If you have any mobility issues ask for a low room. Even the beachfront villas can require you to cl...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jkbmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

RELAXING ATMOSPHERE, great staff, service is exemplary!! Beulah, Annie (the Room Attendant) the Management Team...all GREAT!!

The location, is like none otherThe food is excellent; the entire staff ensured that it was a great stay. The water sports and nearby beaches are an added bonus. It’s a bit of travel to get there but it’s worth the unique experience and great service; the rooms are truly Caribbean which I love, no air conditioning unit, just the natural breeze, but if you are looking for opulence this is not the place for you. I will return in the future for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hcadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in the beach front premium rooms and were so happy with them. The bathrooms seemed newly updated and the hammocks on the porches were great. I know a lot of ppl say rooms without AC are fine but even with strong winds we were hot in our rooms when we turned the AC off. Just like Caneel Bay, do not expect luxury in your rooms. Neither place allows the buildings to compete with the natural beauty, which is nice once you get past expecting Four Seasons/Ritz quality.
Unlike Caneel Bay, the beaches are not great and you can't snorkel right off the beach. But they have so many water sport activities, which are included in your stay, that it really breaks up your day nicely. My kids loved the snorkeling trips and the guides were helpful.
I hated to give them 3 stars for service but even after we got on "island time" the restaurant service was so slow. I had to ask at least 3 times at every meal for water or wait 10 minutes to figure out which person to ask for water. The food was average but lots of options so you never left hungry.
Overall it was a 4 star vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momlindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a week at this tranquil, first class oasis of relaxation in late February. I had moored offshore for a night over a decade ago while sailing in the area, and the positive impressions from that initial glimpse stayed with me. The staff, many of whom have worked there for decades, were totally accommodating. The quality, presentation and variety of food at the restaurants was outstanding. The water sports staffers who accompanied us on snorkeling and sailing excursions were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Everything works unobtrusively, and without any hassles or annoyances. Everyone there genuinely seems to be concerned with ensuring that you are happy and taken care of at all times. The ability to just walk down the beach and check out a sailboat in five minutes was one of our favorite elements. The Caribbean Pig Roast outside at night was also a great time.

What a great spot!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenthumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I just came back from an 8 day stay at Bitter End and we had a ball. This was our 5th trip there. The staff as always was the best--warm. welcoming and helpful in every way. The Anegada day trip is one not to miss--beautiful beaches and great lobster.
The food was by far the best they've ever had. It was truly outstanding. Beautifully presented and everything fresh. They had lobster on the menu (no extra charge for Admiral's package), and I had it 4 times.
Relatively new additions, Executive Chef Noel and GM Mo Sallah making great contributions every day, but anyone who has ever been there knows that Mary Jo keeps it humming. How she can continue to smile and remember everyone's name after 33 years there is amazing.
Looking forward to a trip back

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sound
22.4 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
16.9 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
189 reviews
13.1 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
99 reviews
22.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
11.2 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bitter End Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bitter End Yacht Club

Address: Virgin Gorda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda > North Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Sound
Price Range: $523 - $1,325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bitter End Yacht Club 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bitter End Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitter End Yacht Club Hotel North Sound
Bitter End Yacht Hotel
Bitter End Yacht Resort
Bitter End Yacht Club Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing