We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Except for the location....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mermaid's Dockside Bar & Grill

Mermaid's Dockside Bar & Grill
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: MERMAID located on the water next to Andy’s Chateau is a great ISLAND/SEA view restaurant where you can find both fantastic food and impeccable service. Features a variety of cuisine be it Local, Spanish or International. We cater for your events; Birthdays, Weddings, etc.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
113 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Except for the location....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Tried Mermaid and location is cool - on an old pier....tarpons swim in the evening to fed.....food is good but pricey for what it is.....

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Texirican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    57
    15
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food and tarpons at night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Great food and service! This little gem in the Virgin Islands serves up wonderful food and in the evening, they light up the bay so you can see the giant tarpons swimming next to the dock. Free entertainment! You have to walk to an adjacent building and up a few flights of stairs to get to the restrooms but that is all part of the charm.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Emerald_Bud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“200 lb fish swim the dock at night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Enormous (Tarpon?) fish and sting rays swim beneath the breezy dock at night, making this an experience to hang on to.

My husband ordered and thoroughly enjoyed the steak and seafood buffet. I (a vegan) ordered and was repulsed by finding a chunk of meat in my vegetables.

The drinks were watered down and there was no restroom on premises, which made us question how this place passes health inspections.

Nevertheless, the ocean view and wildlife made Mermaid's worthwhile. Until the nicer, new restaurant opens next door to them, they are currently the best spot on the beach for dinner and drinks.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CallwoodCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, On the Ocean, Darts for Fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

I was with about 13 or 14 people staying on Tortola, but we took a Ferry boat to Virgin Gorda for the day and our cab driver hooked us up with this restauarant for lunch. Our table was ready for us when we got there, and we had a great lunch. The atmosphere was awesome. Open air restaurant built on a pier setting overlooking the ocean on all sides. We played some darts and viewed some giant fish and several crabs in the ocean while waiting for our food. Good Times!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Dockside dining, great food and live music!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Oh, this was fun! Our last dinner of our 8 day Virgin Island vacation. They had a roast pork buffet which was the BEST pork ever! And right at water's edge. Enjoyed the cook/serve staff, and the Carib live music. Want to go back!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalGal52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mermaid's Dockside Bar & Grill also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Spanish Town, Virgin Gorda
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Mermaid's Dockside Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing