We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spa weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Creek Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Village Creek Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Westerose B&B and Inns
Edmonton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great spa weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our weekend at the Inn. Very clean, friendly and accommodating staff. The trails right out your back door were great! We had our little dog with us and it was perfect for us. Bed was very comfortable pillows were awesome I wanted to take them home, lol. The spa was very reasonably priced and the staff was professional and clean! The location was perfect for us as its only an hour drive from Edmonton! The first night we were at the inn we ate at Pappa's CookHouse, not good at all, my husband was a chef for over 20 years and didn't like how they prepared the veal cutlets it was deep fried and way over done, the gravy was very bland, I had the lasagna which was also very bland. ): The next day we ate at Eco Cafe which was awesome, needless to say we had the rest of our meals there. Overall we highly recommend the inn to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewel B, Owner at Village Creek Country Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to tell us you enjoyed your room and your stay. You made me smile when you talked about the pillows:) I will pass your comments on to the other businesses
in the Village, as I know they value your review as well.
Thanks again, and come see us again:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    12
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
17
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our hope was to relax and enjoy private time. Firstly, I want to say, " the Inn is kept very clean". However, there was no hot tub working, no exercise room, only coffee in the common room and the bed we had was very uncomfortable. Wow, 4 dollars for old DVD's to rent !
The restaurant close to the Inn had problems with staffing and was partly closed. Food needs improvement big time. One waitress & cook did their best in a bad situation.
At check out, the Inn staff wasn't understanding when I explained my feelings about no amenities at the Inn. Room price isn't reasonable for what is provided. I can go to Calgary, AB and get a room with a breakfast, swimming pool, hot tub, exercise room, & a comfortable bed for the same price as we paid on this weekend.. So disappointed. I hope your owner and management can improve the accommodation for future costumer enjoyment. Thanks.

Room Tip: Don't get a room above the party room. Also, air conditioning in these rooms is very poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie777B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewel B, Owner at Village Creek Country Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest
We are sorry that your stay on the beautiful September long weekend was a disappointment to you. Summer weekends and especially long weekends, are busy at any resort area, and that is certainly true here at the Village at Pigeon Lake. We did host a lovely wedding that weekend; there was no band, no DJ and the meeting room was quiet by 11:30pm; we thought that was awesome.
We did not receive any calls concerning an AC unit, we absolutely would have done our best for you. Sometimes on these very warm days, the AC unit is turned to it's coolest setting, but the patio door or windows are left open. This causes the AC unit to freeze up. I do not know if that was the case in your room.
We have had multiple compliments on our Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, sorry that it was not your choice.
Mechanical issues happen no matter where you are...and unfortunately our hot tub needs to be replaced. The good news is, the new tub had already been ordered, and we are looking forward to that big job being done! Thankfully our hot tub will be up and running for the really chilly weather:)
We appreciate that you noticed the hard work housekeeping and our grounds maintenance staff do...I have passed your compliment to them.
Thanks for staying, maybe you would like to give us another try in a quieter season. We are pretty cozy in the winter too!!!:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I had the great pleasure of staying at Village Creek Country Inn for a corporate retreat in June. What a fantastic place for a retreat. We cooked our own meal as a team builder one night, the facilities are perfect for this. My room was located directly beside the meeting room so totally great for the prep of our dinner and BBQing outside the meeting room. The staff ran around like crazy people to make sure we had everything we needed. ice, plates, anything really.
My room was cozy and very clean. My bed was comfortable.
The really great thing about the place is the meeting room design, for smaller groups its awesome. We had the formal meeting area and then a nice living room setting with comfy chairs. The Stanley Cup Playoffs were on so we all cozied in and watched a game, with a big fire roaring (The weather wasnt to great)
The whole experience was great. The Town at Pigeon is so cute and has some great little shops.
I would highly recommend this lovely place with all its charm and fantastic service!! Thanks for a fantastic and productive meeting!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTvacationgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewel B, Owner at Village Creek Country Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest
We appreciate that you took the time to let us know you had a great stay. Your review is encouraging to each one of us, it brings a smile, knowing that hard work was noticed and valued.
Thank You from ALL of us:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Check in was rude. We requested early check in. We arrived about 1:20 pm and were coldly told no rooms were to be released until after 2 earliest and 3:00 was check in. That was it. Not even checking to see if room was ready. This guy...probably the owner...didn't even pretend to check. We were slightly stunned at this cold reception and we walked out and said Wow. Never have we been treated so coldly at a hotel or even here in the past. We went for walk in the rain and winds had a bit of lunch. We went back in 2:45. He asked us if we were checking in. Well duh. He pulls up reservation and says oh I see you requested early check in. Oh well sorry that didn't work out for you. Sometimes the room is just not ready. For real? He hands are our keys and says its down the hall. Of 2 room keys, we could only make out the room number on one of them. But glad one key we could read as buddy sure didnt tell us our room #! Rooms and beds are small, yes fine. Nice view from our patio, no complaints. Old fashioned coffee makers, tiny shot glass size for drinking cups, fridge and microwave. The Internet? Slow as molasses! And that's IF you're lucky to find it. Apparently, down the hall is too far to get or keep the signal. Enough said. We will stick it out for the one night, but this place has lost it's charm for us.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twinspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jewel B, Owner at Village Creek Country Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest I am so sorry that you were not greeted warmly by our front desk staff at check-in. Chilly weather and a chilly welcome was not what you needed! Sorry the weather also made it uncomfortable to sit it on the glider swing and enjoy the sound of the waterfall that was just outside your room. We are glad our queen size beds were comfortable and cozy. The coffee service tray in your room has juice glasses, wine glasses and mugs, we do have Keurig brewers in our King rooms. New internet hardware, including a 30m tower have been installed and our internet service account is the best we can get here in the country. I don't know if the weather was affecting internet that day. I am sorry, I know it is sooo frustrating when the internet doesn't work properly. New key tags are actually on order. Please give us another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

The staff and accommodations were great. Didn't give it 5 out of 5 as it's not a 5 star hotel. It is a comfortable Alberta Inn and a reasonably priced get away for the girls with their awesome PJ party, which I have now done 3 times. If you can get the Superior Suite! And book early. I booked in January and had a difficult time coordinating the spa and hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elfandbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel numerouse times for business and pleasure and have never written a review so thought it was about time. This hotel is a lovely little getaway from the city. It has a cozy country feel yet the rooms are tastefully done. Each room has a coffee maker, small fridge and microwave. The rooms facing the ravine with a patio or balcony provide a nice view of the woods however these rooms are darker as they face north. Having just returned from a weekend getaway, I really appreciated the gas fireplace to heat the room in the chilly temps.

The Village itself has a great spa (Essentials), a large ladies clothing store with unique clothes, a household store and a couple of restaurants. The Eco Cafe is the only upscale place for meals. The owner/chef used to own Moveable Feast in Edmonton. In the summer the golf course across the highway (Black Bull) serves some decent food.

Business-wise, the meeting rooms open up to a patio area which is great for having lunch or after meeting socializing. The food selection for meetings is limited but you can also order from the pizza place in the Village which has a selection of the usual plus some good salads.

All in all an inexpensive getaway an hours drive from Edmonton.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JetboyJetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I didn't notice this Inn when I visted The Village at Pigeon Lake a few years ago during a summer camping trip. I recently stayed there for a work related trip and the beautiful, quiet little Inn was more than impressive. The staff were more than friendly, greeting us everytime we entered the lobby. The room is great - beds are comfortable but the actual comforter I found too heavy. The room is clean and comfotable. Just a great place to stay in the country - especially if you want a cozy Inn experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Village Creek Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Creek Country Inn

Property: Village Creek Country Inn
Address: 15 Village Dr | Village At Pigeon Lake, Westerose, Alberta T0C 2V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Westerose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Westerose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Creek Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of The Village At Pigeon Lake Resort & Town Centre, our hotel accommodations have all the warmth and charm of country living. Picture yourself in the midst of tranquility with all the modern conveniences at your fingertips. Our 35 room hotel offers the perfect location for business retreats & personal getaways.The Village Creek Country Inn at Pigeon Lake features fireplace suites, full kitchens, satellite TV, high speed internet, WIFI and more. We offer resort tranquility within mid-week reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Village Creek Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Creek Country Inn Westerose, Alberta, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing