We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Italian in the Islands”

YCCS - Yacht Club Costa Smeralda
Ranked #17 of 38 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best Italian in the Islands”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The outstandingly designed YCCS is a wonderful stop. It is extremely impressive and one YCCS club house you can currently visit without being a member. It is expensive -but worth it. Great swimming pool, wonderful staff, very, very enjoyable This should bot be missed in North Sound.
We love it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vivthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    10
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Figline e Incisa Valdarno, Italy
1 review
“A fine and unique restaurant in BVI.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been traveling in the BVI for two weeks and of course dinner out was a must every night, on my two nights I've decided to give it a try to the restaurant at Yacht Club Costa Smeralda. I was well greeted by the staff and have ordered the food from a simple menu, I've tried the beef carpaccio for starter which was of excellent quality and had a very well made pasta, for the deserts I was offered by the chef a very tasty home made gelato that I couldn't fine nowhere in the BVI. The list of wines is simple and the pricing is within normal as per dinning in the BVI.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 761JoshM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DO NOT DINE HERE! Does not deserve 1 star!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was a birthday celebration! A special evening was planned! We had seen the very good reviews from January but by the time of our visit it had obviously deteriorated. We were greeted by an Italian man who "sold" us on letting him create a wonderful menu for us. We were not shown a menu and the two bottles of wine we chose from the wine list were not available and we were given inferior bottles as substitutes!!! We noticed that he "sold" the idea of his special menu to the rest of the guests that were dining that night! We were not told of the extremely high cost per person and were served very small portions, of pre prepared inedible food. We were not shown a dessert menu. Instead a birthday cake was brought to the table that we could not cut into it was so hard. Needless to say we were horrified. We rang the yacht club and left a message for the Manager to call us and he has not. We paid the bill but it wasn't even worth a third of what they charged! The worst food experience in the Caribbean!! Such a shame as the location is beautiful and the staff tried hard to give us good service but had no control over what was served to us.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
“italian shame”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

we come at YCCS and received by an italian guy that offered us a apetizer with eggplant, well presented but not so good, the past was terrible, and also the fresh lasagna.....pre-cooked and passed at microwave.....no comment!!!!!
Please be advised GO THERE FOR A DRINK BUT DO NOT EAT!!!!!! Then you' ll have also a cheque not appropriate at what you eat!!!! They have to learn a lot before having the first class Italian restaurant review!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pattypedretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“the worst italian food in the world”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

after a reservation , we went to the Yacht Club Costa Smeralda, received by an attendant in dock work dress, (not appropriate), he showed us our table and offered us an apetizer, not requested but counted in final bill at 16 usd x person, he also suggested us a wine without submitting the wine list, it was an italian wine "gavi" not a selected one, billed then at 90 usd x bottle, the food proposed was a simply pasta and a green lasagna, both of them not well done, cold , predone and warmed with microwave. At our complains , the manager answered us that is the way their cilents like, and prepared an express pasta for us " Italians". It is not the way to excuse, means that the normal client, "not italians" are all stupid? I do not think so.....I DO NOT RACCOMAND this place at all, the view is nice but you can have almost the same from any other part of the isle, and from many of other restaurants, in that site.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paolo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed YCCS - Yacht Club Costa Smeralda also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to YCCS - Yacht Club Costa Smeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing