We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YCCS awesome lunch stop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of YCCS - Yacht Club Costa Smeralda

YCCS - Yacht Club Costa Smeralda
Ranked #17 of 37 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tortola
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“YCCS awesome lunch stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Finally organizing our last Summer's stops after 2.5 months aboard the boat. We stopped at YCCS twice last Summer, the first time was my daughter's 7th birthday. The staff was great, but the crowd was just us and another yacht. Keith the manager was extremely accommodating and explained the "previous history" of YCCS and why we feared to go there.
Our next stop was with guests from New York that have been aboard the boat many times and have very high standards, the reaction was "can we come back tomorrow".

In the islands it is hard to get a good hamburger, but YCCS's was awesome, home made bun and not a frozen patty. It was about $4 more than other places, but worth the price. The beers are $5, which is one of the cheapest spots in North Sound, rumor was they were $18 at some point.

Great VIEW!

Mike
S/V Free Spirit II

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikethek147354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuendalinaBuzzanca, Marketing at YCCS - Yacht Club Costa Smeralda, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hello Mike,
Thank you very much. I appreciate it. Hope to see you soon at YCCS.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    10
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bloomington, indiana
1 review
“Fabulous Day at YCCS- Yacht Club Costa Smeralda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

While staying in a private house in Leverick Bay in June 2012, we were picked up by boat for lunch (arranged the prior day with Joan, the bartender, when we wandered over from Fat Virgin). We arrived at 11:00 am and stayed till after 6pm! We had a wonderful lunch served by the pool, relaxed in the luxury of the cushioned chairs under umbrellas, sat in the infinity pool, enjoyed cocktails all day...it was the highlight of our trip. One of our friends preferred to sit inside the air conditioned parlor with his book- and was equally happy. We were treated like royalty and waited on hand and foot. An absolutely beautiful view. The yacht club was newly opened in January and was still partially under construction. Keith, the general manager, sat with us by the pool and entertained us with stories of his life. We understand that YCCS is very formal and exclusive during high season - so we were happy to have had our special day during their low season! A perfect day!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Stunning View with a Rude Encounter”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were invited for happy hour at the resort by some staff members while moored in the north sound. Our guests decided they would like to stay for dinner and remain on the dock for the evening. We called and made arrangements, and upon arriving the dock crew were so lovely and helpful. They got us steps and a golf cart for one of our elderly guests to be transported up to the restaurant. However, upon arriving at the restaurant our guests were greeted with terribly rude service. We tried to investigate asking for the manager and letting the bartender know she was making our guests feel uncomfortable. The manager was busy taking people home for the evening and when we told the staff we were leaving because of the bad service all we got was an "Okay"
The dock staff told us as they were throwing our lines off, that everybody probably just wanted to go home.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Randi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The location is out of the world; the food is not”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We arrived at the Yacht Club two days before its closing for the season. Maybe that was the reason the food was awful. We ordered the filet mignon medium and it came back super well done. We also ordered the snapper with coconut rice and it was overcooked with a burnt crust that was not good eats. However the wine selection and the appetizers were excellent. But the view and the facilities were priceless. Hopefully this was an off day or week and the chef was gone. Other guests had ordered lasagna, because the day before their friends had suffered a similar fate, and they said the lasagna was good. We will try again in the future. We cannot fathom that members of YCCS would enjoy this low standard for a meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank caribislandtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuendalinaBuzzanca, Responsabile reception at YCCS - Yacht Club Costa Smeralda, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Caribislantraveler,
my name is Guendalina and I'm the person in charge for the reception and guest service as well. I'm so sorry for what's happened with your meal. I'm sure it was just a small mistake from the kitchen. Probably, if you will come during the next season you will find a new menu with more choice and absolutely fresh food!
Hope to meet you there. Don't hesitate to contact me for any information guendalina.buzzanca@yccs.vg
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed YCCS - Yacht Club Costa Smeralda also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to YCCS - Yacht Club Costa Smeralda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing