We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There's nothing like Saba!”
Review of Saba Rock Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Virgin Gorda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saba Rock Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“There's nothing like Saba!”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Saba Rock is an amazing place to vacation, relax, and just kick back. I've been to the BVI's plenty of times and always stay here because frankly, the staff makes all the difference. They're attentive, make their best effort to get to know you, and make you feel right at home. Of course, at such a beautiful place, it's not very difficult to enjoy your time there! as to be expected from a place like this one, everything is clean, updated, and people are ready and willing to help you with whatever you need, so I have to disagree with "dilpickle's" post below because I have never had a problem here, and neither have any of the people I know. Thank you Saba Rock for being such a great place!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    29
    12
    2
    6
See reviews for
25
84
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
269 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We sailed to Saba Rock and got a mooring ball. We went to dinner at Saba Rock resort. The food was very good. The salad bar was a very pleasant surprise. It had really nice salads and cheeses. The entrees were very good. Once the sun we done they switched on underwater lights and huge tarpon showed up. Nice show.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WileyPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise Beach, Missouri
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We set a mooring just off od Saba Rock for two days. It is a beautiful resort and the facilities are very clean. We had dinner there both nights and loved them both. If we ever decide to go on a land locked vacation, this would def be on our top of the list in the BVI's.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warm-Water_Sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Road Town, Tortola
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed from Jun 11 to 13, 2011. After the two ferry rides you’re rewarded with this piece of paradise. We were promised early check in, but it did not happen, which hamper our good service experience while making the reservations.
We stayed in "Tobago" room and it was very spacious; one king and one queen size beds. It had a mini fridge, coffee maker, coffee filter, sugar, creamer, ice bucket, toiletteries, plush towels, beach towels, flat screen TV, satellite TV, table with 4 chairs, nice IPOD style radio and digital clock. There is also a small terrace with table & chairs. They have both, ceiling fans and a/c. Wi-Fi is free through the resort. The decoration is not very Caribbean, but has some nice "boaty style" elements. The room was very clean. They keep the ground in great condition.
The location is ideal for relaxing and snorkeling. It's across from Bitter End Yacht Club and Eustatia Island. From any angle you have spectacular views. The hammocks hanging from the palm trees give you the opportunity to read, relax or snooze at your heart’s content.
We loved the tranquility. We wished it had at least a plunge pool to cool off. The access to the water is through ladders off the dock where small boats and dinghies tie up. It did not seem safe.
At the restaurant they serve the best conch fritters we've ever had after 20 some years in the BVI. The cracked conch and the salmon burgers are also delicious.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HTPWT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Delightful location and fantastic grounds and wonderful food! What more can you ask for!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathiesavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Saba Rock is one of the most unique and beautiful places I have stayed in all my travels. The small hotel is perfectly situated in one of the most prestigious boating communities in the BVI. Rooms are spacious with incredible views and the entire property is immaculately maintained. A big thank you to David (General Manager) as he is the perfect host attending to all the guests wishes. We especially liked the hammocks on the small beach of the hotel, perfect to enjoy your first Bushwacker. The staff at the restaurants rocks, ithe atmosphere is lively at night with great food and reasonably priced drinks. We will definetley come back to Saba and recommend it to all of our friends.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkusSchale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

I called to reserve a room, which would involve a 50-mile boat trip the following day. I was assured that there were two rooms available, and given my choice. I was also assured that there would be room at the dock for our boat. When we arrived after the long boat trip, the dockmaster asked if we were the ones to stay for a week, because he was holding the slip for a boat, and otherwise they were completely booked. So apparently they had a better chance to make money after our phone call. The next story he gave was that the owner was coming in, and taking the last room and he couldn't very well turn the owner away. He turned us away, offering to make a reservation at a neighboring resort, whose rooms were more than 2 1/2x the cost! At that point, we had no alternative but to take it. We usually stay on our yacht in the area but had always wanted to try Saba Rock for a future longer stay and to put up visiting friends in. NO WAY. They got our credit card number to guarantee our arrival, but we had no security that we would have a room after a lengthy and costly journey. He didn't even offer to cover the difference in room price between theirs and the resort we ended up (which was much better, anyway!).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank VItraveler242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
6.7 mi away
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
17.1 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
22.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mango Bay Resort
Mango Bay Resort
#3 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
5.9 mi away
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
#1 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saba Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saba Rock Resort

Property: Saba Rock Resort
Address: North Sound, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Saba Rock Hotel British Virgin Islands
Saba Rock Resort Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing