We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific food and view”
Review of Hog Heaven

Hog Heaven
Ranked #2 of 38 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrific food and view”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

A very informal place -- more a bar than a restaurant. Olga, behind the bar, was wonderful. View is spectacular and the ribs are the best we had in BVI!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CRBSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    459
    205
    30
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, TN
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Maybe we are odd...”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This just wasn't our favorite. We tried the ribs and they were average and then we tried the burgers and they weren't great. The service was ok, especially for a small place. We are from TN, so ribs and bbq are quite important to us, so maybe our standards were too high :-) Great views and definitely worth a visit. Decent prices and the drinks were small, but good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ashmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great view, service and food”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We almost didn't go to Hog Heaven based on some of the reviews, but are glad we did. We went for lunch and sat at the bar since it was a little cool in the breeze on the deck. Josie quickly took our order, food was served in reasonable time and it (pork sandwich and slaw for me), chicken for wife was very good. Josie was very conversational and interesting. Just a few customers at the time we visited and since it is a small place it could get overwhelmed with a larger crowd I suppose, but not problem for us. Some locals did come in while we were there and got served quickly, but no faster than we did.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidRose38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
232 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Tasty food and great view”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Josie runs the bar and takes the order. She is very nice even when some of the privileged crowd is less than sweet.

The food is great. We tried a chicken BBQ sandwich, ribs, pork sandwich and fried chicken. All were delicious. Everyone in our party loved the cole slaw, potato salad and peas with rice.

The drinks are adequate, but not the best. Perhaps it is best to stick with beer.

I did not experience any bad service as mentioned in a few reviews. A number of folks working here are from the Dominican Republic and do not speak English very well if at all. This might affect the few complaints.

We ate here twice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JPax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Phenomenal View, great food and drink”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We were on Virgin Gorda for 10 days and ate here 3 times because of the service, taste, and view.
Our hostess Olga was a delight and her husband's barbecued food is off the hook good!
Bring a wind breaker it can be windy up there!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Artshowtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog Heaven also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Hog Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing