We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pig, great drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hog Heaven

Hog Heaven
Ranked #2 of 37 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great pig, great drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

What a fantastic place. Not hard to get to, plenty of parking, stunning views. The drinks are great, the pork is absolutely fantastic. Like most places here, it gets slow when it's busy, but the staff really takes pride in their food and it shows.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timboAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    454
    200
    30
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pork with Panorama”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We walked 2.1 miles from Nail Bay to Hog Heaven, at the end of the day, and after cooling off from the hike, enjoyed beers and cocktails, both reasonably priced, and then grabbed a table to enjoy the fantastic view over North Sound as the sun set behind VG hills and lights from the superyachts at the YCCS sparkled. We all opted for a dinner of BBQ pork, which was very good, both the sauce and the ribs. The whole package was $60 per couple plus tip, quite a good deal for what we received. Blondie, the owner, made us feel quite welcome. We definitely will return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
132 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great lunch!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We went to Hog heaven while we were exploring Virgin Gorda. As we drove up up up I saw their sign and remembered the reviews I had read about. I told my husband we had to stop on the way back. We did and WOW amazing views!! It was my favorite meal and day of our whole week!! The food and service is great!!! I wanted to try everthing on the menu but had chicken, rice, plantains and cole slaw. It was wonderful! We sat for a long time and talked with people and took in the beauty of our surroundings. I felt so blessed to find this place and enjoy the food, view and the cooks and bartender all wonderful people!!! Friendly and warm!! This is a place you remember when you get home wish you could go back. I'll be pulling that day out of my memory bank when I go to work and day dream of that wonderful day!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cnhbowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Stunning view! Definitely worth the drive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

First, I want to say that I love this restaurant. Second, I want to tell you that I’m a vegetarian. Sounds crazy that I should love this place, right? Well, it’s really all about the location, the sides, the drinks, and the staff. The view is INCREDIBLE. It is well worth the drive just to see that view! In terms of food, my husband had the BBQ and really enjoyed it. I had the vegetarian burger (pre-packaged, but pretty good). However, the drinks and the sides really kept me coming back for more. I loved the coleslaw. The potato salad and plantains were also very good, too. The drinks were fantastic. They were amazingly flavorful and packed a punch. During what seemed like a particularly bad mosquito season, we only saw mosquitoes there once because it was nice and windy. The staff members are a lot of fun and really make you want to spend all day there. I highly recommend Hog Heaven for fun and casual dining!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mabel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The most important stop on Virgin Gorda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is THE SPOT for the absolute best view on the island. The drinks are good, I thought the ribs were delicious (so much so that I went back twice) and the bartenders were extremely friendly. Overall, fantastic place to take in the view, visit for a while and relax!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcloud2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog Heaven also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Hog Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing