We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was so good we went back twice!”
Review of Hog Heaven

Hog Heaven
Ranked #2 of 38 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
507 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Was so good we went back twice!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Ribs are the greatest!! We went back a second time and had to waiting longer. Reason was obvious. Lots of islanders yachters and vacationers standing in line for carry out. Is a must stop for the day and night views of northern harbor and Anegeda

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeJennyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    211
    30
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good island BBQ with great views!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Hog Heaven has great views and good BBQ. We had the ribs and it was tender with a nice smoke flavor. Our group ordered the pulled pork sandwich and pulled chicken sandwich which was tasty - we got extra sauce on the side. The shack open-style restaurant is perched on top of a hill with amazing views, casual environment and good food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lobstersummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“great food with a great view”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Had a great bbq rib dinner and beer with a killer view of North Sound. Hog Heaven sits in the middle of no where, but is an easy drive to get to and well worth it! Good food at a good price.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikeandkimtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heavenly Ribs”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

the home made meal was super delicious and the view is fabulous, casual environment who you will meet there, we saw Morgan Freeman!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank fcheng56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Wyoming
Level Contributor
154 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy here...just really good food, prices and view.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hog Heaven sits at the top of a mountain overlooking the North Sound, Virgin Gorda and the view could not be better. It's a small little joint specializing in BBQ, namely pork.

We had the ribs, which were very good, the sauce was sweet and tangy and really yummy. Also tried the conch chowder was good and I'm not normally of fan of that rubbery, chewy meat, but the conch in this soup was surprising tender and it was quite tasty. Fried plantains were delish, as was the potato salad.

The prices were the best value I've found on VG.. $15 for the ribs and you got to choose two sides.

It was cool that night and the server kindly loaned me her jacket! You can't beat that!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog Heaven also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Hog Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing