We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the Hill”
Review of Hog Heaven

Hog Heaven
Ranked #2 of 38 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Portland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Top of the Hill”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great food, view, and drinks. Really friendly owners and help, went for lunch and had to go back for dinner also both were great

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jakeyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    215
    32
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great barbeque with a view”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The restaurant is pretty small; but don't let that scare you away. The menu is relatively short and simple, but every item we had was very good. We ordered the pork ribs, the sliced pork and a variety of the vegetables. The beverage menu was longer than we expected. Even on a hot August day, the location provided comfortable outdoor dining with about a 270 degree view of the neighboring islands to the north, east, and south. My wife, daughters, and I all wished we had discovered the restaurant earlier in the week! The owner "Blondy," is one of the most outgoing, genuinely helpful, caring person you'll find anywhere. He stopped and rescued my wife from the side of the road when our rental car blew a tire in the middle of nowhere (about two miles from his restaurant). He coordinated the pick up of our rental car with the flat, dropped off my wife at Dive BVI in a small Spanish Town mall (my daughters and I were on a dive trip), and coordinated drop-off of the replacement rental car there at the same shopping mall. He recommended this approach because it kept us together while we waited (not knowing how long it would take to get a replacement car). Plus, the small mall included a restaurant and nearby grocery store for purchasing refreshments. For the record this happened before we visited his restaurant, so he didn't recognize my wife, then decide to stop. He just stopped because he saw a visitor to Virgin Gorda was in trouble!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeHikeEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Great ribs, great view!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This place really hit the spot after a long morning on the beach. The ribs were great, although the barbeque sauce is more "sweet and smoky" and less "spicy and vinegary" than I like (my standard favorite is Rocklands in DC -- I prefer more of a Carolina vinegar-based sauce). But super delicious and well cooked. The fries were fab, the potato salad was very good, and the plantains were fine. Nice cold beer to go with. GREAT service, and food was ready much faster than we expected. Incredible view. Total for two for lunch: $42.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pork & stunning views”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Delicious fried pork (chunks of pork belly) and ribs. Fantastic deck overlooking the islands and ocean - great for a meal or just drinks. Food made to order so may be on slower side, but well worth it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MXC0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Maine
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, view, prices, and staff”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

When you have a week on an island, you wouldn't expect to hit a location you had to work to get to more than once. We were there twice and some of our group three times. It came recommended by our taxi driver and when we had freedom in a rented Safari, we got there. Try their signature drink, the Blondie and eat up some good barbeque. We had a blast with our waitress, Olga. The views are phenomenal from this high up perch; you look out on Leverick Bay, Necker Island, and other points of interest. We visited in October and it was very quiet.
Seating is largely on the deck, so if the weather blows, you'd probably want to wait for a better day.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kennebec70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hog Heaven also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Hog Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing