We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent lunch, reasonably priced” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugarcane Restaurant

Sugarcane Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 37 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Vermont
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch, reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Had a great lunch out by the public pool where some in our party enjoyed a plunge afterwards. The swim-up bar is also fun. The scenery is spectacular as it is most places on Virgin Gorda. The setting is more remote than many but worth the drive. Best lunch for the money we found in BVI.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thawingoutinflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    39
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of Virgin Gorda's best restaurants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

This restaurant was easy for us as we were staying at Nail Bay (see my review of Nail Bay), but it was also very much a treasure trove of local island cooking. We are a tough family to cater to (gluten-free, one vegetarian, one no red meat), but the chef and his team made it all happen for us. One of our party had the duck (twice!), I ate the scallops, another had the tuna. All dishes were wonderful.

Surprisingly, on an island where everything is considerably more expensive than in the US, the wine list was full of decent, fairly-priced wines. We had a simple Malbec for $26 for the bottle. I had seen the same wine on sale in town for $22.

The only negatives for our two visits are similar to other reviewers. First, this restaurant is a bit out of the way (for Virgin Gorda, that is), although it is just 10 minutes from most of the island, so it was rather quiet. Second, the service is so-so. Trying to communicate our dietary needs was something of a challenge - both times the manager had to be brought in to help decipher our needs. Also, the staff tended to disappear once the food was delivered, so any additional requests had to wait.

That would not stop us going back. It is my opinion that a customer can manage around most service issues, but not the food, and the food was the standout at this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gr8BritinUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tortola
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New restaurant is great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

We went for lunch and dinner at the Sugar Cane Restaurant at Nail Bay and both times the food was very good. The new chef there certainly knows what he's doing and the presentation was excellent. The waitresses for the most part were pretty good although a little unsure of how to serve wine properly, but very pleasant personalities. They are the only place in the BVI to sell Red Stripe Bold which is very different from most other local and domestic beers and definitely worth a try. The view is spectacular.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I can't understand why there isn't more love for this place. We were staying at a villa at Nail Bay so it was the closest to us. We went over for lunch on our first day there and had great service in their very nice pavilion. They were very nice to the kids, let them swim, turned on the jets in the hot tub for them. Great burgers and sandwiches. A few days later we went for brunch, also nice. Then our last night there, a friday, my husband and myself had the chef's tasting menu, a bargain at $75, which included wine pairings. The chef even sent over a few extra courses that weren't on the menu, along with a very nice and generous glass of port. They were nice enough to let the kids order from the kid's menu; they were fine without the whole table getting the tasting menu. Shelley was our server several times and on the last night, we all got a big warm hug. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lbacaputo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Could be better, but food was good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We had a good meal but service could have been a little better and it was kind of dead. We were the only ones there for a while until another couple showed up right before we were ready to leave. They did not have the skirt steak that was on the menu and didn't know that until after our orders were put in. I had the appetizer assortment that was very good..conch, conchfritters, sate and wings. Husband had the swordfish which was very good.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank 12soup-er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugarcane Restaurant also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sugarcane Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing