We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Want to go back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virgin Gorda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guavaberry Spring Bay Vacation Homes
Certificate of Excellence
Graham, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Want to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Our group of three couples stayed in the three bedroom "Flamboyant" for three nights before a 10 day sailboat charter. The way it is set up, it offers a lot of privacy, with each bedroom having an en suite bathroom. The bedrooms have very good AC, which was important to us. There are several patios, which made it easy to get away for some quiet time, when needed. It would be well suited to multi-generational family trips. Beautiful Spring Bay beach is a 4 minute walk away. The commissary is well stocked and we were able to get what we needed for a light, late nite supper when we arrived, as well as provision for breakfast the next day. The full size kitchen was great. As it got closer to time to leave to pick up our sailboat, several of us mentioned how nice it would be just to be able to stay there. Guavaberry really suited us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    23
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
43
107
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Back again after 2 years and the great accommodations, hospitality and views persist. TIna knows here clientele and delivers just the right amount of service and support. The privacy of Spring Bay
and it's picture postcard beach are stunning! The 2 bedroom unit was just fine and a greater value you will not find in BVI. First came to VG in 1972 and will continue...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cambria147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

This was our second stay at GSB and was more enjoyable than the first as we had our daughter and two grandsons with us .

We have visited VG since the mid 70's staying at Little Dix Bay, Old Yarde Inn ( now Old Yarde Village),Casa Luna, managed by GSB, and most recently at the 3 BR house, Flamboyant, owned by GSB. We would go to VG every year and stay with GSB but there are so many islands to see and so many experiences each one offers.

We began our trip with a flight from DFW to SJU staying at the Hotel Milano in the heart of Old San Juan. We selected Hotel Milano because of its location and the fact we had stayed there before. It is too convenient not to stay there if you desire to see Old San Juan. The personnel behind the desk are very knowledgeable and helpful as to the best way to see Old San Juan. Our room, while plain, was clean, comfortable and cool. There is a continental breakfast served upstairs for a very reasonable price.

We wanted to stay in the Old San Juan area to take advantage of a least one nice restaurant. As we had our two grandsons, ages 8 and 11, we selected CAFE BERLIN and it was a treat. Great food ( Pizza, calamari, crabtini ( to die for) shrimp w Mango sauce and terrific mojitos) with a wonderful waiteress which was a great introduction to Puerto Rico for our grandsons .

The next day we visited the two forts, San Cristobal and El Morro. The boys enjoyed San Cristobal more as it had tunnels and actually appeared larger. Go early in the day as it gets progressively hotter even if you are from Texas and are acustomed to the heat. the free trolley is great and even stops across from the Hotel Milano. The only disappointment was the ranger talks have been reduced from every hour to three times a day. I guess we can thank our congressman for cutting the budget of the Park Service while giving themselves a raise they surely do not deserve.

We ate lunch at Raices which serves typical PR food . I would love to rave about the dishes but they were only so so and I think there are better typical PR dishes served at some of the older established local restaurants within Old San Juan.

The second afternoon we had chartered with FLY BVI. They had arranged with Rome International, their ground service, to initially meet us in SJU on our incoming AA flight to store our luggage, deliver us to our hotel ,pick us up the next day and return us to SJU for our charter flight on FLY BVI. ROME was wonderful. It was the most seamless travel into and out of any airport we have ever experienced ! The person who met us at the gate also picked us up the next day to take us to our charter with FLY BVI and walk us through to our plane.

Fly BVI and its pilot, Jeff Brown, were exceptional. They initially arranged the ground transportation and were on time both going to VG and leaving to return to SJU one week later. I would highly recommend them for charter throughout the Caribbean.

We arrived in VG and GSB had arranged a car through Mahogany Rentals. Rent the car through GSB as you get a discount with Mahogany. The lady with Mahogny was very pleasant and informative.

Upon arrival at GSB, we met with Michelle who went over the particulars and showed us the way to our 3 BR, 3 bath house. It was great as it has flow through ventilation, A/C in the BR's and a wonderful covered deck half way around the house. There is also a smaller deck above and behind the house where we would eat breakfast every morning. The house is a five minute walk to Spring Bay & a 3 minute drive to The Baths and Devil's Bay. It is five minutes to the Spanish Town and Buck's Supermarket and the VG Yacht Harbor. The GSB Commissary probably has much of what you would need anyway and is cheaper than Buck's in many instances, especially wine.

Virgin Goda is just great if you want to sit back and relax, go snorkeling, diving, boating etc. While it has changed in the 35 years we have been going there, the people are still friendly, accommodating and what you expect th Caribbean should be. If you talk to the islanders who know anything about tourism on VG, you will learn that GSB is held in high esteem in the manner and efficiency they run GSB.

We went to Spring Bay almost every day for the kids to play in the sand and among the granite boulders, snorkel in the crystal clear waters and go to the Baths both early and late before and after the sail and power boasts descend upon the Baths. If you have not been to the Baths you must go as it is truly a "Bucket List" experience with caverns, walk thoroughs and wading among the huge boulders.

We also ventured across island to Savannah Bay, still one of the prettiest bays, to snorkel and on to Leverick Bay to call on Pussers for a few trinkets.

We managed to eat at many of the restaurants and started with the newest on the island, Coco Maya. It is a "grown ups" restaurant and really did not have much that appealed to the kids but is a real treat fo the adults in any party. The wait staff was very pleasant. the fish tacos weree great as was the fish of the day and the Virgin Gorda shrimp wrap was great, even for kids. The beach and fire pit was very close and a draw for children.

We ate a lunch at Mad Dogs which serves good drinks and has "free ranging chickens" running around. The hot dogs were microwaved but the turkey club was great. Good stop from walking around the Baths.

The Top of the Baths is also great for lunch and breakfast with great French toast, sandwiches, really good drinks. I heard had the best fish and chips on VG .The key lime pie is great as are all the sandwich type foods. It has fantastic views across the Sir Francis Drake Channel and is also very convenient to the Baths.

Mermaids is right on the beach next door to Coco Maya's and serves good local food, good drinks, a dart board to play and a beach close by that the kids can play on while waiting fo rthe food to be prepared.

Another new place overlooking North Sound is Hog Heaven which serves some of the best bar-b- que anywere in the USVI or the BVI. We ate there twice and the food was really that good and at reasonable prices. The ribs were fantastic as was the chicken and the sides. If you are going to Virgin Gorda go to Hog Heaven, if not for the food and drinks, go for the view and company as there will always be someone there.

We also ate at the Rock Cafe which is truly a romantic setting. The food was good with the Rock Pasta and Pizza Margarita very good but the 4 cheeze pizza is really not for kids. The coconut shrinp and the fish were also very good.

The Mine Shaft Cafe was a hit and the food very good . They have a putt putt golf course that keep the kids occupied while you watch the sun setting over Tortola which is a fantastic view. Very good drinks, and good fish and chicken dishes,. Also good burgers and other kid foods. The only disappointment was as this is low season Morris Mark was not playing on Friday nights.

We really could not recommend the Bath and Turtle as the burgers there were really not very good. the beer however was cold and refreshing.

Our last night we ate at Georgio's which has moved from Maho Bay to the location just above the Rock Cafe. The food is fabulous and has lost nothing in moving from its old location other than the view.

This is one fo the few times we did not go to Little Dix Bay to eat but will probably do so on one of our return trips.

We dived with Dive BVI and I cannot say enough good things about them. Our 11 year old grandson had been certified the week before our trip started and there were two to three other junior divers which made his dive experience in the Caribbean all the more enjoyable. Special kudos to Lance , Laura and Bryan for their help with all the kids who dived with them that week.

If I dwelled on places to eat and go which are kid friendly, it is because many of us who go to VG and other parts of the Caribbean are there to truly get away and I do not see and have not written in the past about restaurants and businesses that go out of their way to assist families with children.

The trip home on AA was delayed in SJU for 8 hours due to mechanical problems and I would recommend the Margaritaville restaurant inside the terminal after going through security as a good place to eat. the fish sandwiches and the burgers and fresh cut fries were very good.

It was a great vacation and GSB Vacation Homes and staff made it all the more enjoyable.

RJRDIVED

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rjrdived
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Just back from our 1st visit to Virgin Gorda, and it was fantastic. We loved our stay at Guavaberry Spring Bay (GSB). It was totally what we were looking for. They have an assortment of lodging types to fit your budget, and we loved our 1 bedroom cottage. Tina & Michelle are great hosts and provided invaluble assistance for us 1st timers. In no time we found fun places to dine, and met so many wonderful locals. GSB arranged our rental car so we explored the island, visited Savannah Bay, Saba Rock in North Sound & Jumbies at Leverick Bay.
It was great though, to return back to our cottage at Guavaberry, spend our time on the beach there, and visit nearby Mad Dog Pub for late lunch and Happy Hour. Fischer's Cove Restaurant provided a stunning start to our day with breakfast, and we also dined at the Mine Shaft, Chez Bamboo, Bath & Turtle and the Rendezvous and Mermaids. All good experiences.
What a great week, we can't wait to book a return trip to Guavaberry with Tina & Michelle, and be back on beautiful Virgin Gorda. Thanks so much Tina & Michelle. Please give Soca & Pearl a hug for us.
Aloha, Al & Jerry

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Tina, the owner/manager of GSB, continues to provide excellent service, wonderful accommodations with the best beach on VG.....Spring Bay. I've gone Guavaberry for about 20 years and just have no reason to stay anywhere else.....

Tina (and Michelle) keep up the great hospitality.....

Mark in Puerto Rico.....

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the houses - Sugar Mill - nice with deck and view over Spring Bay. Beach House...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texirican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had an amazing time at GSB. Fantastic views, right next to beautiful Spring Bay Beach and The Baths. The managers were very friendly and helpful. There is a great commissary with lots of different groceries to choose from. Every other guest we met was a repeat customer, some from 10+ years back. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will_M_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

You won't find a better place on Virgin Gorda to stay!! We have friends who have been going to Guavaberry for 20 years. This was our first time and we stayed at Lime Tree which had 2 bedrooms and a/c in the bedrooms which we needed since we are not used to the heat. All the houses have ocean views and we had a spectacular sunset each night. They have a small commissary to get groceries which is so convenient. Housekeeping brought us fresh flowers everyday. There were flowers blooming everywhere and it was so beautiful! Tina and all the staff were wonderful. Spring Bay is a short walk away and we thought it was the best beach on the island. They provide beach towels, beach chairs, and the beach is beautiful and there is always a breeze to keep you cool. We thought Spring Bay had the best snorkeling on the island and I even saw the resident hawkbill turtle and got some photos. We had a medical emergency the last day of our stay and Tina and the staff were wonderful. I don't know what we would have done without Tina taking care of us. Thank you, thank you, thank you, Tina and all the staff for everything you did for us. We will be forever in your debt for your help!!

Room Tip: All the houses have ocean views. Some are closer to the beach. Lime Tree where we stayed was acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snorkelgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
0.8 mi away
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
16.1 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
22.1 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mango Bay Resort
Mango Bay Resort
#2 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
#1 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guavaberry Spring Bay Vacation Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guavaberry Spring Bay Vacation Homes

Property: Guavaberry Spring Bay Vacation Homes
Address: Spring Bay, Virgin Gorda
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Virgin Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Guavaberry Spring Bay Vacation Homes Hotel Virgin Gorda
Guavaberry Spring Bay Vacation Homes Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing