We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mango Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
347
Reviewed March 25, 2006

We stayed for 2 nights at Mango Bay Resort, and we were delighted at the resort and its location.

Having had a long delayed flight courtesy of LIAT airways, we arrived several hours late, at Virgin Gorda. The lady at the North Sound Exress ferry terminal at Tortola informed us that Gino the resort
manager had been in touch with her to check our arrival. We arrived in the Dark, and were met by
the car rental man at the Ferry Terminal who took us to the resort with our Jeep.

The unit had a "lived in" look, but it was clean and well equiped. The next morning, we thought we had woken up in paradise, it was perfect. Quiet, except for the waves crashing onto the beach, with just a handful of other people on the beach.

There were a few mosquitos about and we had a few
bites, but after a few sqirts of the insect repellent
supplied in the unit. we had no more problem.

The Roads around the Island require a 4 wheel drive
as they are steep but they are quite wide and safe, unlike Tortola roads.

The outdoor kitchen was a godsend, but we didn't
cook much. There is an excellent supermarket at the
valley ferry dock which catered for all requirements.

We ate out at The Rock restaurant, which was First Class.

We will return to Mango Bay, and have a much longer stay. It was Great.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 306 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
New Castle, PA
19
Reviewed March 16, 2006

My wife and I spent three days here at the end of two week VI/BVI vacation. I wasn't too sure what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised. Gino, the manager, was pleasant, attentive and helpful. Our unit was a few yards from a beautiful, uncrowded beach, and was clean and well-furnished. Snorkeling is great with plenty to see. We didn't see any sea turtles, but heard they visit the area occaisionally.
Mosquitoes were annoying, but not enough to ruin the experience. They left my wife alone and zeroed in me for some reason. A few shots of bug spray kept them away, though, as well as the breeze. Overall, we loved it and the island, and plan to return.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2006

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank ptraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Massachusetts
113
Reviewed March 4, 2006

We were at Mango Bay Resort for 10 days in February and had a wonderful time. The beach was gorgeous and suitably terrific for both swimming and snorkling which is frequently not the case in the caribbean. Often what looks in photos to be a spectacular beach has so much coral in the water that you cannot swim. This beach has great areas of clear sand for swimming and then with very little effort you can swim out to the reef for snorkling. The reef and the side of the island it was on also kept the water calm and from having loads of boats anchored out in the bay. All in all, beach perfection!

The resort is making a huge effort to remodel all the units and we were fortunate enough to be in one of the remodelled ones which was totally comfortable. The bedroom had a king size bed with divinely comfortable mattresses (I want one at home). Our bathroom was lovely, all new tile, and the kitchen and living area were colorful, and functional. The kitchen was basic but had a full size refrigerator and everything necessary to actually cook in which we decided to do. Shop at Bucks at the yacht basin. My only suggestion is try to get into one of the remodelled units and get one where the kitchen is totally enclosed in the unit. Some of the units have a kitchen which is essentially outside of the screened area (under the roof but outside) and I would not like this as you do need to manage the screen doors well to keep out mosquitos and no-see-ums. I think the resort would be well advised to at least screen in those outside kitchens. I was concerned about mosquitos after reading some reviews, but my experience was fine. I just shut the doors every 3 days or so and gave a spray when we were going out and then when reopened the breeze quickly clears it out. I didn't even need the deet I brought with me and I'm mosquito-phobic!

In short, it is a great place to go and we plan to go back again next year. If you want glitz and glamour, go elsewhere (at 3 or more times the price) but if you are self sufficient, happy to do a lot of sitting around reading, love a really usable and beautiful beach, and want to do it without breaking the bank, I heartily recommend Mango Bay Resort. D&J from Massachusetts

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PeppeNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York
112
Reviewed February 9, 2006

Stayed: January 2006
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2005

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank tnvoldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
19.1 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
193 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
99 reviews
13.8 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
8.9 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
18.2 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Address: Plum Bay Road, Mahoe Bay, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price Range: $99 - $880 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Resort adheres to a strong commitment to serve our guests and make sure they enjoy their luxury beach vacation at its fullest. We strive to deliver what we promise to all our guests: a caring and attentive management and friendly staff who will accommodate any guest requests or needs. Mango Bay Resort is a small and cozy yet easygoing luxury resort that provides all the necessities needed for the finest Caribbean vacation. We strive to provide a quiet, peaceful and tranquil location for all of our visitors to enjoy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Virgin Gorda
Mango Bay Virgin Gorda
Mango Bay Resort Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing