We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOve this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mango Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mango Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“LOve this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Amazing location on an amazing island! Gino and the rest of the staff run a great property, would highly recommend it!

The beach front villas are incredible, we haven't experienced anything that we would put ahead of it in the rest of the Caribbean at a similar price point. It isn't cheap but it is the best place we have been.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bernie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    64
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
55
180
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
buenos aires
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had planned this family celebration trip for a long time. Wanted a small heavenly place in the Caribbean islands with a beachfront cottage and beautiful views. Everything we looked was either very exclusive and out of pirce, or one of those huge vacation resorts with large buffet dining areas and big pools. Luckily we spotted MB in Virgin Gorda and jumped for it. Turned out everything we wanted and more. We enjoyed the beautiful bungalow with beachfront: breakfast on the porche, reading on one of the many long chairs, kayaking, snorkling or just plain hanging around the great sand strip at our doorsteps. The island also proved to be an excellent find, small and not crowded st all, with great restaurants like Coco Maya, The Rock, and Saba Rock, our favorite. We also did day trips to The Baths and nearby beaches, and sailed for a whole day on a sailboat, which ended up being a great outing. Not the same living the Caribbean from the water.
I also have to compliment all the previous reviews in TA cause they allowed us to plan the trip perfectly (rent a jeep, stop at the groceries store on your way to the resort, beware of mosquitoes, etc), and curb our expectations.
Gino and satff were wonderful, and I really hope we can go back some day. Worth every effort getting there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank birdyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We just returned from our BVI vacation at Mango Bay on Virgin Gorda. We have had many trips to the Caribbean but this one was by far our best. Very relaxing stay at Mango Bay. Got to be one of the best views in the BVI with the blue green waters and mountains in the back ground. Gino and Nestor were both very accommodating. The room was very nice, clean, bedrooms nice and cold, grounds really are beautifully landscaped. Furnishings were comfortable and useful. We stayed in unit 7 and were very happy with the 2 king beds 2 nice baths, pretty views of the ocean, even though we weren't beach front. If your looking for a quiet get away with out the tourist feel Virgin Gorda and the Mango Bay should fit the bill. Highly recommend renting a jeep, L&S did a good job, excellent snorkeling and diving, Cocomaya and Hog Heaven were our two favorite eating spots, though the top of the baths was very good too. All the islanders made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 119Shar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

First, I would like to begin by saying that the BVI islands are amazingly beautiful!
Upon arrival on the Island, we had the driver of the Jeep rental company meet us at the Ferry dock (there is a small airport on island but most visitors come by Ferry either via Tortola, BVI or STT, USVI). The driver was friendly and helpful in leading us to our resort. By the time we arrived on the island, it was after dark so of course I could not see the true beauty but already felt a warming presence from our drive and walk to our Beachfront Unit. Most people may not care for a kitchen while on vacation but if you do, this place is even better b/c you have that option to stay in and cook! Whether you wish to use it or not, at least you have the option and the view/location says it all! While the resort does NOT have any on site bars/restaurants, the units are all equipped w/kitchens. It is highly recommended to rent the Jeep, if being offered at time of booking, its best to add into your package.

The next day was when we truly got to experience the beauty of our location. Waking up to the sound of the ocean and beautiful flowers and palm trees was all we wanted! Not to mention the husband was cooking up breakfast so we could eat on our patio. :) (the kitchen did come in handy for the lazy yet relaxing mornings) Not having to get ready to go out for breakfast was really nice and we were happy we chose this option.

End of April/May is considered the start of slow season so it was not that busy at all and we had the last beach front unit #15 which made it seem a little bit more private as some of the units outside space is shared. We loved having the beach right at our toes and not having to pack a bag and walk down to the beach like most of the resorts "beachfront" properties on the island offer.

The daily service was great. They did a great job and always came by to drop off fresh beach towels.

We had a couples massage right at our suite...that was AMAZING (wish I was there right now for another!)

The resort also supplies you with floats, kayaks and snorkel gear at no extra cost. Savannah Beach is just around the corner and well worth the Kayak trip! There are also a few other local spots to take the kayak out. Its also a great spot for lounging on the floats (calm waters feels like a GIANT pool without all the chlorine!) and the reefs are pretty amazing too.

The island is small so getting around is easy and quick. Having been to Tortola with a large group, Virgin Gorda is a PERFECT place for a couple's getaway! If your looking to mingle and meet people going during off season may not be recommended but if you like the feeling of having a beautiful paradise to yourself, then its PERFECT.

Some restaurants and places to visit on the island are: North Sound (Saba rock, Biras Creek, BitterEnd and Levericks Bay), Rock Cafe and Coco Maya are located just right of the ferry (before heading to Top of the Baths) and have amazing Food! At the rock, they have many courses to choose from brick oven pizza to full entree's. Coco Maya is a more ethnic cuisine style but well worth it and the location is right on the water. We went during sunset and it was gorgeous! Top of the Baths is a great spot for an afternoon cocktail. Their dinner was ok and does not compare to the others mentioned above. However a trip to the "caves" at the Baths is a MUST see/do while on VG. Its beautiful and a fun hike.

All in all, we had a great time on our honeymoon and already talking about visiting Mango Bay Resort for an anniversary trip! The friendly staff, great location and clean units and added amenities make for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank eastie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Gino, the Manager, from our initial contact, made everything as easy and effortless as possible. The quality of attention to details and care continued during our arrival and our stay, 3 nights and 4 days. It felt like a home with cleaning service daily. Flowers and a card with all our names welcomed us in a thoughtful basket containing shampoo, conditioner, soaps, coffee and tea. The 2 bedroom and 2 bathroom villa was situated about 10 yds from aquamarine waters, white sand, and live coral reefs. We had everything we needed to cook (an outdoor kitchen with a view!) We do not like all-inclusives because it isolates us from the local scene. This was the perfect combination of privacy and thanks to our car rental, access to restaurants and sight seeing. The first night, through arrangements made by Gino, dinner was served in our "home", and that was a fabulous way to kick-start a vacation we are sure to repeat !!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the villas closest to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aurora45_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roman Forest, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent a week at Mango Bay in May and absolutely loved it!! The beach front villa was the perfect place to lounge and relax just a few feet from the beach!! We loved having a full kitchen to cook our own meals and wireless internet to keep in touch with those not so lucky as to be with us. The beaches at and near Mango Bay have very few people and have stunning views. I still can't get over the beauty of this island!! Gino and staff were very gracious and helpful hosts!! We will be back!!

Room Tip: The beachfront villas are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Greg_con_Carolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McPherson
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I can't say enough about our experience at Mango Bay in Virgin Gorda. My wife and I organized a destination wedding and this was the only resort that was within our budget. We weren't sure what to expect but it turned out to be amazing. Because of the price more of our family and friends were able to attend and we booked all but a couple of the villas and also Sea Palms Villa for us and our wedding party. 50 people attended and the resort manager Gino took excellent care of everyone!

The resort was very secluded and the cove is amazing! Great snorkeling right out our front doors. We saw turtles, sharks and many other kinds of sea life. There were kayaks and snorkeling gear free of charge to use as we wanted. We day tripped to the Baths and town is only a short, curvy drive down a paved road. Maybe 5 minutes. Plenty of restaurants and options for groceries. It is not a commercialized touristy town if that is what you are looking for. It is local people with local businesses, but that is what we love.

Every morning we would walk through the manicured gardens and have coffee with friends and family on their patios and everyone enjoyed their accommodations. We cooked family dinners nightly and watched the sun go down over the ocean and adjacent islands. It really is paradise.

The staff is top notch and always greeted us with smiles and hellos. They are present most of the day which might bother some people but we got to know them and they are friendly and usually singing as they work. None of the villas have locks which is a testament to the safety of the island.

Needless to say, our wedding was a huge success and was very relaxing thanks to Gino and his staff. They took care of us like family and we can not wait till we get to go back for another stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
19.1 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
18.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
4.3 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
#1 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort

Property: Mango Bay Resort
Address: Plum Bay Road, Mahoe Bay, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mango Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Resort adheres to a strong commitment to serve our guests and make sure they enjoy their luxury beach vacation at its fullest. We strive to deliver what we promise to all our guests: a caring and attentive management and friendly staff who will accommodate any guest requests or needs. Mango Bay Resort is a small and cozy yet easygoing luxury resort that provides all the necessities needed for the finest Caribbean vacation. We strive to provide a quiet, peaceful and tranquil location for all of our visitors to enjoy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mango Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Virgin Gorda
Mango Bay Virgin Gorda
Mango Bay Resort Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing