We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dive BVI” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leverick Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Virgin Gorda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Leverick Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Cibolo, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dive BVI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

This was our third leg of our trip and the reason for trip. :) We stay on the top floor and the view was awesome. We were able to hang our diving gear and it was safe. This place is very laid back and it's bar is known to the local boats and all those who sail trough. They stop off for a few. People we meet here we ran into at other places around the island. Very cool. A few Tx Ranger fans. Back to the laid back part.... Our bathroom shower was very moldy and I kept my shoes on but I hated looking at. My was not ruined by this at all. The rooms are modest but have tv, sm fridge, and a safe. We were happy we were only in at night anyway. The owner was very nice as too. We even ran into him & his sailing friends at the best BBQ in BVI. Hogs Heaven. We enjoyed our visit. I even did a diving course here and it was great.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of the Ocean. We stayed at the top it was steep climb but we had a car as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunVaLiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Leverick Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write about experience with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed the whole Leverick Bay experience.
We hope to see you again with us.
Warm regards from Virgin Gorda.

LB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    41
    22
    13
    7
See reviews for
28
42
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder CO
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Executive Summary- if you dont go expecting a perfect 5 star resort and like a more laid back island style place, you will have a great time. otherwise, skip it.
We just spent 8 nights here over easter week 2014. Lots of variety to the lodging so ask alot of questions about which actual room you will be getting. Some have been mildly updated and others are very tired and worn down. Beds are nice and firm and feel new. There are std hotel rooms and villas, by far the villas are the way to go. Villas have full kitchens and most have pools. The resort sits on a VERY steep hillside so it is not for anyone with mobility issues. Some villas are at sea level and others are way up the hill with lots of steep steps and roads.
Major issue is that there is NO breakfast served in the restaurants- none! So if you are in a hotel room, you will need to scrounge something from the well stocked store. Hotel rooms have a small fridge and coffee maker but no coffee or filters, instead you get instant coffee bags, like tea bags.
There are 3 areas where food are served. Bar type food is served at outdoor restaurant and at adjacent bar area, same menu, pricey but everyplace we went in the area was similarly priced. Our favorite was the Mahi tacos with either a salad or fries for $17. You get 3 hard corn tacos with tasty mahi and lettuce, tomato and cheese. Bar area has a singing pirate happy hour just about every day that is usually busy and entertaining yet cheesy and touristy. Kids love it.
The upstairs open-air dinner restaurant is nice and pricey, ave dinner will be $40+/person. Nice big bar too.
Also there is a spa, laundromat, boat and jet ski rentals, and DiveBVI has an office there for scuba trips. As mentioned there is a well stocked store where you can find just about anything including beer, wine, liquor, personal items, vegetables, made to order deli sandwhiches, coffee in the morning, etc.
Side trip- ask the front desk to call the free boat from Saba Rock and go out for happy hour from 4-6 and watch the staff feed huge tarpon and a green moray at 5PM. Carib beer, painkillers (the local pina colada type drink) and rum punch are all $3.50 during HH instead of $7. Great food too but very expensive. Pina coladas are $8.25 and not on happy hour. Surrounded by water and great views of north sound boat activity from bar and killer hammocks and expansive seating areas on opposite looking out toward open water. We went for late lunch and drinks then took naps all afternoon and went back for HH and tarpon feeding, it was great.

Room Tip: Lots of variety in quality and location of hotel rooms and villas, ask specifically where you will s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonezinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Leverick Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your review. We really try to have every guest happy. As a Caribbean Island our products are more expensive and that´s why we try to offer our best with our extended Happy Hour and other events. We hope to see you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Leverick Bay for a week during our Swimtrek holiday. We really liked it - our room was spacious, had a balcony and also a fabulous view of the sea. It isn't a spa, it isn't pristine, and it isn't a designer resort, but it is friendly, comfortable, the food is good value, it has a small, but quiet beach, and it is a lot of fun. We thought the plastic cups and cutlery were a bit naff until we realised that broken glass or dropped forks don't mix with sand and bare feet. Try the local lobster in the Leverick Bay restaurant

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank fmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Leverick Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your review and kind words! We're very happy that you had a wonderful time!
Lots of love from Leverick Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

There is the only jet ski rental place in Virgin Gorda located here. It is called Blue Rush. We took our family for a fun spin around the bay on jet skis. They had a blast. 30 minutes or longer, it was reasonable and easy to do. Getting out on the water like that is really fun and easier than renting a boat or waiting for a ferry or excursion. You can explore and feel the freedom to go where you want.
It was awesome and we can't wait to do it again. It is an activity that just about anyone can do -it is easy and the speed is up to you. brilliant way to explore the water and surrounding areas.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Coco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Leverick Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thanks a lot for your review! We really appreciate your comments and thoughts! We hope to see you back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We did not stay at the resort, we had villa within walking distance. We eat several times here and to food was always terrific. The upstairs dining is outstanding in quality and presentation, although it is pricey. We had a pizza downstairs on a Sunday night when the upstairs is closed it was better the the Papa Johns we get at home. The BBQ buffet on Friday night is very good with lots of selection. The location is great right on the water and the little marina there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OKhokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Leverick Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your review, we try hard to satisfy our guests and we're very glad that you enjoyed your Leverick Bay time with us!
Cheers!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

My husband and I spent one week in Leverick Bay in V.Gorda.The place is old,in need of some renovation and not well kept.We got sick because of the smell of mold under the kitchen sink. The workers tried hard to conceal it after we complained, but the MOLD is settled behind the walls.
Leverick Bay is falling apart and the owners does't care because they make money on the marina.
The sleep is very poor due to the banging noises on the dock starting 6am.They are very devoted to the boaters not to the hotel guests.
RanN Franklin Square,Ny.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cris571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Virgin Gorda hotels

Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have always moored offshore on a private yacht when in the British Virgin Islands, so I can only review the beach bar and restaurant downstairs, not the accommodations. Burgers are good. Pain killer drinks are the best around, and the conch fritters keep bringing me back here time after time. It's a fun spot to,spend a few hours when cruising around. A guy plays guitar dressed like a pirate from 5-7. Very hokey, but it fun to see the tourists get into it. Conch shell blowing contest...get it?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3679lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Leverick Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your review!! We will keep cooking these conch fritters for you! See you soon!
Cheers from Leverick Bay Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
0.0 mi away
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
#1 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.0 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leverick Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leverick Bay Resort

Property: Leverick Bay Resort
Address: PO Box 63, Virgin Gorda
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Leverick Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leverick Bay Resort and Marina is located in Virgin Gorda, the third largest of the British Virgin Islands. Known as the newest seaside recreational complex, Leverick Bay Resort and Marina, is lapped by the pristine waters of a magnificent blue lagoon best known as "North Sound".The resort offers tranquility with its spacious hillside rooms exquisitely decorated a few steps from the sandy beach. The suites located above The Leverick Bay Resort and Marina are surrounded by the outstanding view of North Sound, Mosquito Island and the Caribbean Sea.Leverick Bay Resort rewards its guests with a perfect getaway offering gourmet dinners at The Restaurant, overlooking the marina, with fresh local seafood, house cut steaks, and a wide selection of fine wines and spirits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Leverick Bay Hotel Virgin Gorda
Leverick Bay Virgin Gorda
Leverick Bay Resort Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing