We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock resort little dix bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rock resort little dix bay”
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Fantastic service. Immaculately clean. Completely perfect.

Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingfishh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    148
    41
    23
    11
See reviews for
180
546
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2010

We visited Little Dix Bay last week and I felt compelled to sign up on Tripadvisor and write a review. Since we flew into STT airport, the hotel arranged for a small twin engine to pick us up and fly us over to Virgin Gorda. The flight took about 20 minutes and provided us with one of the most interesting approaches I've ever seen in an aircraft as we had to fly around a 500' hill passing just feet from the deck of a house situated near the runway. (Interestingly enough the government shut the airport down the next day over safety concerns and it remains closed.) A hotel staffer met us at the airport and took us directly to our room. No check in hassles required. We rented a ocean view room and were not disappointed. It was clean and very comfortable and we slept great. The staff was incredible and probably more friendly than anywhere I've been in my life. I'll be back for sure.

I would make the following recommendations to those visiting the resort for extended periods:
1. Consider the meal plan. You cannot eat breakfast at the restaurant for under $45 per couple. Lunch for $35 or dinner for $100. All my wife wanted was a bowl of cereal and you had to pay $20 for the buffet. There is a small fridge and some good places to eat off site as well.
2. LDB has an excellent selection of planned activities, such as the Thursday beach trip to Spring Bay. I would recommend trying a couple.
3. Rent a boat or take a chartered trip. As incredible as the setting is at LDB it would be a shame not to do a little exploring.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 00_nc_state_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Little Dix Bay is what I imagine Caribbean travel once was: isolated, romantic and luxurious. As many of the surrounding islands have become over-developed (McDonalds on every corner), crime-ridden, stopovers for cruise ship tourists, Virgin Gorda has remained relatively unspoiled.

We took a 6 passenger "plane" to the island and were warmly greeted at the dirt-runway by a hotel employee and whisked back to our room. Check-in was completed in the car during the three minute ride back to the resort. Not having to deal with the hassle of a check in line allowed us to be on the beach two minutes after arrival. Our room was beautiful and natural, with stone and wood walls and a newly updated bathroom (with granite counters and and tub and separate shower). Where the beaches on many islands have become dotted with high-rises and faux-Spanish villas, the facilities at little Dix have remained true to its founder's (Laurence Rockefeller) original vision: understated elegance which blends into the natural landscape rather than dominating it. All the facilities are essentially outdoors, thanks to the island's consistently beautiful weather.

We took advantage of the spa (which sits on a bluff overlooking the ocean with a dramatic infinity pool), the three restaurants and the lovely beach service. The staff was consistently friendly and helpful. Two small complaints about items on the bill were immediately removed when I brought them to their attention.

If you are looking for pure relaxation, a 5 star (yet unpretentious) resort, I have yet to find a better place than Little Dix Bay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank red1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cthoya
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Perfect place for a relaxing weekend. Beautiful beach, great workout facilities, personable staff and good food.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cthoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2010

always a treat to sit on this beach and read. the pace of little dix is slow and calm. the service could be better- response time is slow and they need a wireless internet system which works. nothing worse than having to spend extra time doing email due to a VERY VERY slow network. worse than dial up. sign up with Dive BVI and see the islands from underwater- well worth it. and restauarnts are great with true cuisine. loved the afternoon tea. Spa is not to be missed for the atmosphere and view- tranquility at it best.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fastbenjy2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2010

Great view
New rooms well furnished
Excellent position
One half moon beach just steps from your room.
Every day you can get free shuttle boat service to adiacent beaches.
Very expensive, but wonderful
Great cuisine

Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank carriglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

I was fortunate enough to have visited Little Dix Bay as a child in the early '70's when it operated as a Rock Resort. 35 years later, I returned with my wife and it is still as beautiful and unique a resort as any in the world. Time has stood still on so many levels but yet the winds of change did not sweep away its charm. We arrived at Virgin Gorda, via Air Sunshine, from San Juan and were met by Derrik who drove us straight to our room, #112. He even coordinated our return to St. Thomas via ferry - since we were to leave on a Sunday. Within five minutes of arriving - room service delivered our pre-selected beverages/fruits to stock our refrigerator. Our Premium Ocean View room overlooked the bay and I had a great view of the dock as I watched the shuttle boats come and go. Our first night we ate at the Pavilion Restaurant which was delicious and the service excellent - however it was quite expensive (nearly $190). So for the rest of our trip we decided to venture into town and dine at The Rock or the Mind Shaft. Both offered excellent dinner experiences and at half the price of Little Dix. All our meals included four drinks, two appetizers and two entrees. One of the advantages of eating at other establishments is meeting the belongers, other customers and the staff members who come from Jamaica, Nevis, Puerto Rico and St. Lucia to make a living. We often took a cab, arranged by the hotel, and since the island is so small you usually get one of three guys, Andy, Toss or Tito. The cost was $8 to $10 a trip, while riding in a converted pick-up truck with bench seats and no side doors. This kind of local flavor is part of the island charm.

Every day we walked the easy thirty yards to the beach and settled down in the lounge chairs and absorbed the sun and our pina coladas. The weather was perfect everyday, with only one morning of a rain shower that lasted 20 minutes. We took advantage of the beach drops via a Boston whaler and visited Mountain Trunk, Long Bay and Valley Trunk. The hotel provided us an umbrella and one day we got a picnic lunch with two sandwiches, beers, sodas and desserts. All the beaches were beautiful, void of people and offered great views of the ocean and nearby islands. Valley Trunk and Spring Bay were our favorites. One day we rented a car ($50.00) and drove around the island and visited the North Sound. You can see the surrounding islands of Prickly Pear, Mosquito Island and Necker Island - both owned by Richard Branson. We drove to Spring Bay - a National Park and after a long walk we parked by some rocks and snorkeled to the Baths.

Since it was our anniversary I arranged a private dinner for two up at the spa overlooking the ocean and catching the sunset. Our server was Paul, who has worked at Little DIx for 20 years and went above and beyond professional. He gave us time to enjoy each course and shared with us his life experiences which made our night most memorable.

The breakfast buffet was outstanding, offering everything from fresh baked goods to an omelet/egg station, smoothie station to various cereal and eight kinds of fresh fruit. A great way to start out your day.

We took in the Spa and it was quite spectacular. The view from the infinity pool where you wait for your massage therapist is peaceful and breathtaking. My Swedish deep-tissue massage was exactly what I needed to relax and float down stream.

Our eight days at Little Dix got better and better as we felt more relaxed and met some wonderful people from all over the world, NY, Geneva and Washington D.C.
The staff, some having worked at Little Dix for 35 years, many for 10 to 20 years were all
pleasant, professional and willing to go the extra mile. There are few resorts like this one in the Caribbean and the island of Virgin Gorda is peaceful and less developed. If you truly enjoy a simple but yet elegant atmosphere and are able to entertain yourself than I highly recommend this resort. It is not inexpensive, but well worth the adventure at lease once.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ancoraimparo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
16.6 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
7.3 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
291 reviews
12.0 mi away
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
#6 of 13 in Road Town
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
98 reviews
6.0 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
499 reviews
5.9 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Little Dix Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Little Dix Bay

Property: Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Address: Lee Road, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Little Dix Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive renovation and is scheduled to re-open in late 2017. The iconic Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive, multi-million dollar restoration, which will be the most substantial beautification project since the resort was founded by Laurance S. Rockefeller over 50 years ago. The restoration will include the complete redesign of the resort’s guestrooms and suites, its three restaurants and overall enhancements to the resort’s gardens and landscaping. New York City-based Meyer Davis Studio will lead the restoration, working alongside Miami-based architectural firm OBMI. Together these agencies will honor Laurance S. Rockefeller’s unique vision of a luxurious hideaway set amidst the pristine backdrop of Virgin Gorda. The renewal will bring about a new level of sophistication in keeping with the natural setting, whilst introducing brand new signature suites for the ultimate in relaxation and style. A rebuilt Beach Grill will offer a one-of-a-kind beach dining experience, while the iconic Pavilion and Sugar Mill buildings will remain intact but will feature extended indoor/outdoor dining areas. Guests will also enjoy an elevated arrival experience and the resort’s vibrant tropical gardens will be enhanced with new lighting, signage and improved access to Little Dix Bay beach. The renovation will also bring the addition of new restaurant concepts for The Pavilion, Beach Grill and Sugar Mill; new world-class amenities; elevated service standards and an increased focus on sustainability. Upon reopening towards the end of 2017, Rosewood Little Dix Bay will reaffirm its legacy as the Caribbean’s leading luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and Hotwire so you can book your Rosewood Little Dix Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Gorda
Little Dix Bay Resort
Little Dix Bay Virgin Islands
Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Islands
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing