We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still the best!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I were married at Little Dix Bay 7 years ago and decided it had been way too long since we had been back. We headed back with my 32 year old daughter and son in law for a week stay. We landed in St. Thomas and took a small plane (Island wings) to Virgin Gorda. Little Dix Bay helped with all the arrangements for this flight and made it very easy to do. They were waiting on us at the airport when we arrived. We booked a Jr. Suite (room #44) and it was spacious and appointed very well. We were on the beach (a 30 to 35 step walk from our room) almost every day and logged many hours "catchin rays" and snorkeling the coral reef that you can literally walk to from the beach. (The resort furnishes snorkel gear so no need to bring that along). We chartered with Josh Bourg at cruzinaway.com for two day trips and he took us to all the sights (The Baths / The Indians / Norman Island caves/ The Willy T / Jost Van Dyke beach bars / Necker Island / Bitter End Yacht Club / Biras Creek Resort/ Scub Island Resort / etc via his 26ft catamaran twin engine charter boat. This resort does a great job and deserves all the awards it has recieved. The staff is very accomodating and the food was top notch. The only caution I will give is this is not a cheap vacation. The price is very high however we feel it is worth every single penny! Thanks again LDB for a wonderful stay and I can promise you that we will be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    147
    41
    23
    11
See reviews for
179
543
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Perfect place to relax and enjoy the beach and the sun. The staff is very attentive and helpful. They were in the best disposition to please us in everything we needed for our stay was the best!
The people are very friendly everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zcabrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I worked for months researching upscale resorts in the Caribbean. I finally chose LDB because my parents had been there years ago on an anniversary trip and had heard many wonderful stories.
We are used to bigger resorts and I was a little nervous not having TV( pathetic, I know). So, we went ahead and booked and made sure to download books and TV episodes on my mini.
We arrived via St. Thomas And spent the night at Marriott's Frenchmen's Reef the night before. The flight was short and beautiful. Tito met us at the airstrip and took us to LDB.. Best cabi ever, btw!
After previewing 3 rooms, we chose#36 beach cottage.. Just perfect with an outdoor shower( a Must for me!)
Some have reviewed that the food is like a cruise...not so!! They obviously don't cruise.. It is wonderful! We chose a package that just included breakfast, so we could venture out a couple of nights (coco maya!!!)beach grill is Devine !! The sangria is amazing!!
Must do's...Norman Island, Sunset Cruise, spa, jeep rental, the Baths, Saba Rock, lunch at Bitter End Yacht Club, private beach dinner( Magdalena is the best !!!!)

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kristen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We returned to Little Dix Bay this time and found it a much different trip than last Nov. review I did. Everything was perfection! From the time we arrived, to when we left, we a glorious time! They even were able to give us the treehouse we had requested where we stayed when we got married there 22 yrs. ago! This place is beyond nice- your every need is met and everyone is SO welcoming. EVERY room in the resort is decorated SO well. The food is exceptional. The bay is the nicest in the BVI for swimming and laying on a raft and just floating. They do have beach "toys" like canoeing, etc. We had several spa treatments- I think my husband would live there! We will forever return!........going back in November!

Room Tip: We LOVE the tree houses but ANY room there is done to perfection!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heinri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel - resort is very special. Huge property, well manicured with its own private strip of beach and marina. They can pick you up or drop you at any beach or spot in the BVI. That is paradise for lovers of aquatic sports. The strip of beach is very good (not stunning like savanna beach nearby), but very tranquil and peaceful. You can take a Kayak or a Table board and entertain yourself for hours. Or you can rest in a comfortable beachchair until sunset. Sometimes you feel the beach is only yours. If you come for peace and to be away from everything: this is your resort. Good service, attentive and courteous. Say that, Take this into account:
1. Very few restaurant choices exept the Sugarmill and Pavillion. The Sugarmill, the top restaurant is closing saturdays!!?. Breakfast options are limited , almost non a la carte entries, you end up taking the extensive ( and expensive at 75.00 per couple) buffet. We dine outside the hotel , as they are excellent choices 5- 10 minutes away( taxi or car).
2. Rent a car/ jeep if you really want to "feel" the island, as you can explore the dozens of beaches around, including the famous "baths" beach that is stunning and other historical sites and national parks. The winding roads and vistas will take your breath. Having your own transportation open many choices.
3. The rooms are nicely close to the beach sand and well appointed BUT they probably are asking for some renovations as the bathroom fixtures and furniture are somewhat dated. Service at the room was very good and attentive. Good bed, poor pillows. Free water and refreshments.
4. No T.V. at rooms, no music or entertainment at night and exept for tennis ( good 6 courts ), no other activity around exept enjoing the beach and sun. Good, recommended SPA also.

If this is your idea of a perfect vacation, this resort is for you. Overall well recommended with the above reservations...

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the frontdesk, so you dont need to walk so much or as for a ride everytime o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJFRAGAPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We went to little Dix on a family vacation: mom, dad, 7 yr old, 2 yr old and 3 senior citizen grandparents.

We stayed in the beachfront villas--they were lovely and it was fabulous to walk right out on to the well maintained beach. The beach amenities were great--plenty of thatched 'shade' umbrellas with cushioned chaise lounges. Floats, sand toys and water kayaks were plentiful, and the life jackets provided for the kids were new and well fitting.

Cynthia at the Pavilion and Beach Grill was fabulous! She took Henry and Annabelle on beach walks if they got restless while we were eating. They still ask about her and say they want to go back to see her soon. The attention and patience that the staff showed towards our young children was amazing---much appreciated by mommy and daddy! They made the entire vacation easy and stress free.

Room Tip: Beach front is worth the extra money--it was a real treat! Kids club was also great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Little Dix for a week to celebrate our 19th anniversary and loved it. Upon check-in, we were greeted with rum punch. Our room was ready and they took us via golf cart to our room. The resort is sprawling so it's nice to have the golf carts if you don't feel like walking everywhere. You can call the front desk at any time and they will send a cart for you - and they are very prompt!

Our bags were waiting for us in our room when we got there. The mini bar was stocked with complimentary items and fresh flowers were on the table. We had the lowest category room - the ocean view. It was spacious with a king bed, desk area, and round table and two chairs. The bathroom was upscale, large, and had 2 sinks. Perfect! The best part of our room, though? The whole back wall was floor to ceiling window with a view of the ocean. In fact, from our sliding glass door, it was a quick 25 steps onto the beach. So convenient!

During our stay we enjoyed the beach immensely. We were there in July and were told that the resort was at about 42% capacity. Even so, we saw no more than 10 people at a time on our patch of beach. There were beach chairs (with nice thick pads) and thatched "huts" providing shade and we NEVER had to scramble to get one.

The bed was comfortable (although the pillows were pretty bad). Beach and bath towels were provided daily as well as maid service. Ice was refilled twice a day. The only suggestions I would make to the rooms: better pillows, a coffee maker in the room (which I'm told they are going to provide starting in the fall).

We ate onsite at the various restaurants (beach grill, Sugar Mill, and the Pavillion) several times and found it to be hit or miss. We had a dinner directly on the beach and my husband and I both ordered seafood from The Pavillion and it was excellent. However, our one dinner at Sugar Mill was only so so especially given the really high prices. The prices are crazy high - but that's really true for everywhere in Virgin Gorda. Breakfast at the pavillion ran us $80 which was exorbitant. My recommendation would be to stay there but mostly dine offsite. (see my separate reviews of dining on Virgin Gorda)

The resort offers free use of snorkel gear, hobie cat catamarans, guided snorkel tour, and beach drops. On our anniversary my husband and I took advantage of the beach drop. We were taken by boat to a secluded beach of our choice. The Pavillion had made a picnic lunch for us packed in a cooler and delivered it to the dock. (not free- advance order required) We were the only ones on the beach and it was bliss. You'll want to take advantage of this service!

We also did the sunset cruise. It was not free but was worth it. They offered cocktails and appetizers (that were so so) but the ride and the views were worth it.

I would definitely recommend this resort. We hope to come back here. ALL the staff was very friendly and helpful! We loved our access to the beach and the seclusion and the quiet. If you're looking for a partying resort, this is not the place for you. But if you want a vacation where you're relaxing away from crowds and with everything at your fingertips, then this is your place! If you found this review helpful, please give me a positive vote.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 58. Rooms 57-60 appear to be the closest to the beach of all the rooms. We would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sqdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
16.6 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
17.8 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
20.3 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
12.9 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
5.9 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Little Dix Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Little Dix Bay

Property: Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Address: PO Box 70, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Little Dix Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive renovation and is scheduled to re-open in late 2017. The iconic Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive, multi-million dollar restoration, which will be the most substantial beautification project since the resort was founded by Laurance S. Rockefeller over 50 years ago. The restoration will include the complete redesign of the resort’s guestrooms and suites, its three restaurants and overall enhancements to the resort’s gardens and landscaping. New York City-based Meyer Davis Studio will lead the restoration, working alongside Miami-based architectural firm OBMI. Together these agencies will honor Laurance S. Rockefeller’s unique vision of a luxurious hideaway set amidst the pristine backdrop of Virgin Gorda. The renewal will bring about a new level of sophistication in keeping with the natural setting, whilst introducing brand new signature suites for the ultimate in relaxation and style. A rebuilt Beach Grill will offer a one-of-a-kind beach dining experience, while the iconic Pavilion and Sugar Mill buildings will remain intact but will feature extended indoor/outdoor dining areas. Guests will also enjoy an elevated arrival experience and the resort’s vibrant tropical gardens will be enhanced with new lighting, signage and improved access to Little Dix Bay beach. The renovation will also bring the addition of new restaurant concepts for The Pavilion, Beach Grill and Sugar Mill; new world-class amenities; elevated service standards and an increased focus on sustainability. Upon reopening towards the end of 2017, Rosewood Little Dix Bay will reaffirm its legacy as the Caribbean’s leading luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosewood Little Dix Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Gorda
Little Dix Bay Resort
Little Dix Bay Virgin Islands
Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Islands
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing