We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
147 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Wow.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Complete disclosure: Our first trip to Little Dix was 29 years ago for honeymoon. I married young. The property 29 years ago was owned by Laurence Rockefeller (hence "Rock Resorts") and was completely magical. We went back a second time, pre Rosewood, after CSX, the railroad, had purchased it and had a sour experience. Now, 29 years after the honeymoon we went back for a third time and I am very happy to relate that it was a wonderful experience.

Go here if you like spending time either alone, or with your significant other. Do not go here if you want strobe lights, night club scene, shopping, or jet skis, because none of that is here. LDB is designed to give you quiet serenity in a stunning setting. The beach is velvet white sand, the staff are exceptionally welcoming and charming, and your ability to recreate the Corona beer advert with you, your SO, and azure waters lapping at your toes in solitude is unrivaled.

We witnessed a most unhappy couple at LDB last week: "But there isn't a nightclub! There was nothing on the beach! No jet skis! How are you going to make it up to me?," as the speaker curled her French manicured nails into a finger of accusation at her betrothed...

What is perfection to us is lost on some. If you are type A, fingers drumming the table for distraction, this is not for you. If you need quiet, a great spa, good food, a very welcoming staff, and the natural setting of the Caribbean, LDB is great. Our room was very well appointed, with a marble tiled walk in shower, large new bathroom, and terrace overlooking the Bay. Bed was great, fresh flowers in our room every day. Pool was excellent. Staff was overwhelmingly nice and welcoming.

"Beach drops" are the wonder of LDB. We ordered a fresh lobster salad each day for picnic lunch, bottle of cold Sauv Blanc, and LDB will drop you on your own beach with a beach umbrella, towels, picnic, and a scheduled pick up time. The beach becomes yours. Some beaches for "beach drops" are more populated, but if you want solitude with your SO on the beach, they can meet your request. Where else but your own private island? We loved it.

Fitness center is new and well equipped. Multiple new tennis courts, pavilion. Gardens and flowers are beautiful. The food was very good. Lobster night (Saturday) was over the top. Sugar Mill was wonderful, sitting feet from the water and incredibly romantic.The pastry chef/baked good were too good. Honestly the best chocolate chip cookie I have ever had. Ever. Very creative bread making.

There are vestiges of old Caribbean and English heritage. Laurence Rockefeller built this property. The Queen's portrait from her visit hangs in the open air lobby. Tea is served at 4.30 daily. Pims Cup is stocked at the bar. LDB encourages slightly better dress than athletic shorts and tank tops at dinner (am I dating myself here?). There are English roots, a sense of gentility and politeness, quality, and pace.

Will service here be the Four Seasons in NY? Cracking starched napkins with officious wait staff? No, but you aren't in NY and don't want to be or you wouldn't be at LDB. We found staff to be very welcoming and helpful. Perfect service? No, but we were in the Caribbean tracking sand into our room, not hushed settings in Manhattan. We have travel experience across multiple islands (St Maarten, Grenada, Trinidad, Tobago, St Lucia, Bermuda, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, St John to name a couple)? LDB is better. Know what you are looking for and you may well find it at Little Dix.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the spa are quiet, away from the beach house, and less traveled. Rooms between the Pav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rowingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    147
    41
    23
    11
See reviews for
180
543
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Little Dix in late July, a terrific time as it's much less crowded than the Winter months. The beaches are the best in the BVI, and with alternative restaurants around the island it's fun to explore off property from time to time (North & South Sound). The rooms are very well appointed, service top knotch for Caribbean, and the experience lives up to their constant ranking as #1 in the British Virgin Islands! Lastly, the sunset cruise along the coast to Saba Rock is a must!! Enjoy!!!!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank GoldStandard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Both my wife and I come back to the Virgin Island after a long time (15yrs) and visited Little Dix Bay for a week vacation... And though I would like to say it is a well groomed and well laid out property with manicured grounds it just felt it lacked substance!! More like normal average hotel in the service and standards that you might find in a 3* weekend upstate NY hotel...
Food was just so so bordering on poor in its quality the service was ok but lacked quality staffed seemed more to doing the job than for the sake of it, than from genuine warmth for the type of hotel and price you are paying..
Sorry to say we will not be back...

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank GTR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Travelled from the Uk , Worth two flights and a short ferry ride over to this incredible bay and resort hotel. It is situated on a Safe sandy shore with sailing and snorkelling from the beach. It was also lovely to be taken on complimentary boat rides to other sandy coves along this side of VIrgin Gorda which is a small but perfectly formed island. The hotel beach rooms were very clean, well maintained and stylish. The staff were friendly and we had fantastic service for the five days we were there. We would definitely recommend this resort to friends and family as in our opinion it is a hotel without a single flaw. Expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We brought our daughter with us on our vacation to celebrate our 10th anniversary, and we all had a great time. Will upload a few photos so you can see the beauty and seclusion for yourself.

We stayed in a 1-bedroom suite just steps from the beach. Room 14. The staff had set up a cot for our daughter in the 'living' room prior to our arrival, and we set up her coloring books and some craft projects at the suite's table to stay in the shade during the peak sun hours. The neighboring suite had a couple with three young boys, and we never heard any noise.

It's hard to pick a "favorite part" of the trip, but the boat drops at the neighboring beaches were fantastic. Our daughter loved The Baths so much, we went back a second time. Passing along a hint that we learned from the staff: go to The Baths in the afternoon so you can avoid the crowds from the cruise ships.

Even though we were guests during a 'peak season' week, the beach and bay felt like they were our own private property. In fact, we saw more turtles and rays while snorkeling in the bay than we did other guests. If you like crowds, rowdiness, and the "being seen scene," choose another hotel. For us, this was truly a memorable trip we'll not forget. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurrNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was our first time to visit both Little Dix Bay (LDB) and Virgin Gorda (VG). The resort lived up to its billling as a top-rate beach resort, with fantastic service, accomodations, dining, and activities. I will go through our impressions of LDB piece by piece and offer advice where applicable.

PROPERTY: LDB is a sprawling resort that occupies an entire bay end-to-end. Due to building codes on the island, none of the structures extend above the palm trees (with the exception of the trademark Pavilion). Because of this, the resort blends in beautifully with its natural surroundings. Because the resort is spread out along the beach, all of the rooms are situated close to the beach, and pretty much all of the rooms, regardless of price point, offer a beach view. To overcome the distances one must travel to get around the resort, they have a shuttle constantly on call, which in our experience was relaibly prompt after a call to the front desk from any point on the property.

ACCOMODATION: Upon check-in we were very fortunate to be upgraded to an Ocean Cottage, from the Premium Ocean View Room we had booked. The nice thing about the Ocean Cottages is that they are all located on the far eastern end, which we later decided was the best area of the resort, as there is the least activity and the beach is the widest. The room was spacious and was plenty updated for our taste, especially the bathroom, which seemed new, and featured a big walk-in shower and tub. I have read some reviews that some bathrooms have been updated, while others haven't. Since our's certainly was, we snuck into a Premium Ocean View unit (rooms 57-60) next to ours, and it looked like the bathroom had indeed been updated. Rooms on the eastern part of the resort are best for those who prefer a little seclusion but don't mind being farther from the main areas. The map is helpful when requesting any particular unit on the property. http://www.rosewoodhotels.com/en/littledixbay/i/downloads/resort_map.pdf

ACTIVITIES: Due to the reef that practically spans end-to-end across the bay, LDB has a nice sandy beach and very calm conditions for swimming and snorkeling. The resort offers free use of kayaks, Hobie Cats, and stand-up paddle boards. Snorkeling at the resort is mediocre. Turtles were always swimming around, as well as stingrays and barracuda. The coral and variety of fish, however, is much better at the Baths, or the beaches on the northwest side of the island. The best offering LDB has in the way of activities is definitely the beach drops. Reserve a spot the day before, and they will take you to any of 7 or 8 beaches of your choosing around the island...for free! You will be dropped off with beach towels, an umbrella, and snorkel gear if you choose. Because some of the beaches on VG are difficult to access by land, we had beaches entirely to ourselves on multiple occasions. This is a very unique service that LDB offers its guests, especially at no extra charge.

DINING: LDB has three restaurants on the property: the Beach Grill, the Pavilion, and the Sugar Mill. The Beach Grill is open for lunch, and has light stuff...burgers, pizza, salads, etc. The food there was decent but not great. The Pavilion offers a buffet for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as an a la carte dinner menu. We ate there a couple of times for dinner, and the food mostly good. The standout is the Monday night Grand Buffet. The Sugar Mill is the most upscale of the three. The food we had there was the best on the resort, especially the lobster risotto, which was the best meal I had during our stay. For all three restaurants, you will definitely pay more than you think the food is worth. Aside from the normal resort mark-up for dining, nearly everything has to be brought to the island by boat, which escalates food costs I'm sure. For couples, the beach dinner is really nice. For a setup fee of $75, you can have dinner on the beach with a personal waiter.

SPA: We were newbies to the spa experience, as we had never actually visited the spa at other resorts we have visited, but the experience at the Sense Spa was phenomenal. We had a couples massage, which was discounted 24% because we scheduled it within 24 hrs of our arrival. The setting of the infinity pool high on the cliff, and ambience of our treatment room was wonderful.

SERVICE: As with the other Rosewood property we have visited, service was top-notch. Having a shuttle always on call to take you around the property is really helpful, and it was always very prompt. The staff was always eager to please any time we made requests. The concierge was easy to work with and very friendly. The service at the restaurants could have been better. The wait staff at the Pavilion was not as attentive as we would have hoped for the price of dinner.

GENERAL: We were blown away by our experience at LDB. I think what we loved most was just the feel of the place...everything is so low-key and laid back. You feel surrounded by the natural beauty of the island everywhere you go, unlike other high-rise type resorts that stick out like a sore thumb on the beach. We rented a car for our entire trip, which we would not do again. We did leave the resort at some point almost every day we were there, but the LDB does have its own fleet of rental cars, as well as a taxi service that would have been more convenient and cheaper than renting a car for our entire trip. I can't say enough great things about LDB...we will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AGSinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My partner and I recently went to this hotel to escape the hustle and bustle of the the city, and we overall really enjoyed it. The pro's were - beautiful white sandy beach and turquoise water, well kept grounds off the beach, staff is friendly and organized, fantastic tennis courts, rooms are lovely with Caribbean vibe but with modern amenities, and at night the stars are some of the most stunning i have ever seen in my life. the Cons - the beach is a little messy (chairs strewn, people not picking up after themselves, you step in cigarette buts, towels are left all over the place, so they ran out of towels i believe 3 times while we were there for 2 days. The prices were a little bit extravagant, their gift shop/beach store had dresses in there for $300-$400, completely overpriced, and on the night we stayed was "lobster night" so for $75 a person you got a grilled lobster tail, baked potato and veg. My partner and i were SO disappointed, we both love lobster, and I could barely get mine out of the shell, it was SO chewy and grizzly, and my partner said his had no taste. The service staff at dinner were almost invisible, they only came to our table to bring us our meal and then quickly left before we could ask them any questions, and the most unfortunate part is that anything you order had an %18 gratuity tacked onto your bill. Not ONCE did we get service at that hotel for lunch or dinner that was well worth an %18 tip, even on the cocktails they charge you that %. And lastly, while we were swimming i had to run out of the water because a ferry was coming right for me! We were so shocked that a big catamaran style ferry ( that was not in good shape) was coming in that close to the beach to dock on the side, the whole beach started to smell like gasoline, we did not want to go back into the water afterwards.
In comparison for the surrounding islands like Tortola etc it is a beautiful hotel, but we now know what to do differently next time going!

Room Tip: We got a room that was a 2 minute walk to the beach front, all the rooms that they have offered are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coco_Moi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
16.6 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
17.8 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
20.3 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
12.9 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
5.9 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Little Dix Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Little Dix Bay

Property: Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Address: PO Box 70, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Little Dix Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive renovation and is scheduled to re-open in late 2017. The iconic Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive, multi-million dollar restoration, which will be the most substantial beautification project since the resort was founded by Laurance S. Rockefeller over 50 years ago. The restoration will include the complete redesign of the resort’s guestrooms and suites, its three restaurants and overall enhancements to the resort’s gardens and landscaping. New York City-based Meyer Davis Studio will lead the restoration, working alongside Miami-based architectural firm OBMI. Together these agencies will honor Laurance S. Rockefeller’s unique vision of a luxurious hideaway set amidst the pristine backdrop of Virgin Gorda. The renewal will bring about a new level of sophistication in keeping with the natural setting, whilst introducing brand new signature suites for the ultimate in relaxation and style. A rebuilt Beach Grill will offer a one-of-a-kind beach dining experience, while the iconic Pavilion and Sugar Mill buildings will remain intact but will feature extended indoor/outdoor dining areas. Guests will also enjoy an elevated arrival experience and the resort’s vibrant tropical gardens will be enhanced with new lighting, signage and improved access to Little Dix Bay beach. The renovation will also bring the addition of new restaurant concepts for The Pavilion, Beach Grill and Sugar Mill; new world-class amenities; elevated service standards and an increased focus on sustainability. Upon reopening towards the end of 2017, Rosewood Little Dix Bay will reaffirm its legacy as the Caribbean’s leading luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosewood Little Dix Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Gorda
Little Dix Bay Resort
Little Dix Bay Virgin Islands
Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Islands
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing