We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Resort - I will be coming back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We met many people that told us they come to this resort over and over. It's clear why. Little Dix Bay is one of the most stunning places I've visited in the Caribbean.

It has the perfect combination of luxury within a natural setting. The spa is built on top of a large hill with each room privately overlooking the ocean. The beach along the bay was long but each area felt private and secluded. The food was very good although a bit inconsistent across meals. The room we stayed in was incredible and each of the buildings we saw, from the front desk, to the "activity room" to the main restaurants were perfectly architected and perfectly placed within the natural setting of the bay.

The Virgin Gorda/BVI area itself just adds to the experience. Snorkeling in caves carved out of natural cliffs, watching college kids jump off the upper deck at Willy T's bar and climbing inside the boulders at the Baths were all as memorable as any vacation I've taken.

It's hard to find criticisms but I was disappointed in the nearby Harbor Town. My wife and I love to find little, out-of-the-place locations to grab a meal or get a unique gift for friends. There wasn't much in this little town. Also, while some of the staff at the Rosewood were remarkably friendly and engaging, a handful came off as bored and distracted.

Weighing all the good and the bad, we will absolutely be returning to Little Dix Bay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 932 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

We came here after three trips to north Queensland in the last four years. So, unfortunately for Virgin Gorda, I had an unreachable level of expectation.
If fish watching is your priority, reconsider the Great Barrier Reef.
In my fist snorkel on the hotel’s beach I did not see ONE fish in the first 5 minutes. The day after I saw there a nice friendly turtle and sting ray though.
Having said this, the BVI are beautiful, the quality of the water is top class and the climate is possibly the very best. Never too hot, always slightly windy with perfect perfect (2 times) air temperature.
The resort is extremely well run; the staff is excellent with the perfect mix of friendliness and respect. The service is smiling and efficient. They really give you the impression that you are important to them.
The marina service are friendly and very efficient the (complimentary) beach drop service is excellent and the Diving is professional, efficient and correctly priced.
The rooms are good and very well kept.
They have three restaurants. The best is the beach one, with a simple menu of things made just to your order, fresh and nice. Also the Pina Colada is best there, where it is made to your order and is not the pre-made, minus 50 degrees frozen thing that you cannot taste because too cold.
The main cafeteria called the Pavilion is not a Michelin three stars, but it serves reasonably proper cuisine, basic menus but well done. The weak point is the supposedly top class restaurant called the Sugar Mill, where cuisine is not at the level of the ambition. We dined there two times and both were uninteresting, with overcooked fish and no flavor. I had grilled swordfish that I was obliged to cut with my knife because too cooked.
All in all, after we came to terms with the fact that sea life is Caribbean and not to Australian standards, we had a very outstanding sea experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruggero2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Can't wait to land at the very hot and very small Virgin Gorda airport again and ride 5 minutes to Little Dix Bay! The beach is white sand and the water is vivid turquoise! Sea turtles swim just off the beach so snorkeling doesn't even need to involve a boat or much effort at all. Our last stay was in Beach cottage #56 barely 100 yards from the sand, a chaise, a palapa, and drinks and food served at the edge of the ocean. Frances entertained us while she made sure our cottage was impeccably clean. If you would rather dine in the open air lunch restaurant just walk a short distance along the beach...food and service is great. The Sugar Mill restaurant on property offers delicious dinners and wine. The Pavillion is a gorgeous setting with a la carte menu or theme buffets and a bar with music some nights. The spa massages are fabulous and the spa is very peaceful with an amazing view. Little Dix is close to several delightful restaurants and a small grocery market for snacks and drinks which can be stored in the very small refrigerator in your room. We have also stayed in the 4BR homes which are beautiful with views to match! Love them, but a golf cart ride away from the beach. Tour all of Virgin Gorda but it is nice to arrive back at Little Dix for bedtime and the next day! Very personable staff and an enchanting setting. We prefer San Juan to Virgin Gorda via Air Sunshine instead of Tortolla and a ferry ride to Little Dix. The 5 min ride from Virgin Gorda airport to Little Dix Bay is complimentary! Enjoy!

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms and cottages closest to the beach and the middle of the resort instead of closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JHJLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I cannot stop talking about this place. It is one of our top 2 vacation places. I was a little freaked out at first because they do not have keys to lock your doors when you leave the room but quickly got over it. The staff at the resort are top notch. Magdalena in the restaurant is the best. When we were leaving she ran to the dock to hug us good bye. If nothing else she will be the reason we come back. You MUST but Venitas hit sauce before you leave. She actually works there and is as sweet as pie. I do not remember her name but the women who cleaned our room (58) we were there April 6th - 14 always had a smile on. One day they assigned her to another room and we called and asked her to clean our room. She would leave flowers in our room each day. Without a doubt the best vacation. The rooms are clean, gym is perfect. All we did was sit on the beach all day of our 9 day vacation. It's pricey but worth every dime. If you are going up be on Virgin Gorda this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NCGuys08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My friend and I treated ourselves to a day of pampering at the spa at Little Dix Bay - it was wonderful. We both had wraps, massages, facials and pedicures. The services were excellent and the setting really can't be beat. The one thing to be wary of with the half day package is that they say there is lunch, but lunch is not included - we found it very misleading.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank HVTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Excellent service and beautiful location. The resort is well managed by Rosewood. Many of the staff members were long time loyal employees and were more than willing to make sure guests satisfied with their stay. The Island had a very friendly atmosphere and I cant wait to return for another visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JT47_474747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Would give the hotel an A+++ in every category. My husband just returned and are already thinking about when we can go back and bring our kids. Rooms, staff, beach, pool and food was all outstanding!!! Thanks so much for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
20.2 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
192 reviews
7.4 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
16.7 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
501 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mango Bay Resort
Mango Bay Resort
#2 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Little Dix Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Little Dix Bay

Address: Lee Road, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price Range: $600 - $787 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Little Dix Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive renovation and is scheduled to re-open in late 2017. The iconic Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive, multi-million dollar restoration, which will be the most substantial beautification project since the resort was founded by Laurance S. Rockefeller over 50 years ago. The restoration will include the complete redesign of the resort’s guestrooms and suites, its three restaurants and overall enhancements to the resort’s gardens and landscaping. New York City-based Meyer Davis Studio will lead the restoration, working alongside Miami-based architectural firm OBMI. Together these agencies will honor Laurance S. Rockefeller’s unique vision of a luxurious hideaway set amidst the pristine backdrop of Virgin Gorda. The renewal will bring about a new level of sophistication in keeping with the natural setting, whilst introducing brand new signature suites for the ultimate in relaxation and style. A rebuilt Beach Grill will offer a one-of-a-kind beach dining experience, while the iconic Pavilion and Sugar Mill buildings will remain intact but will feature extended indoor/outdoor dining areas. Guests will also enjoy an elevated arrival experience and the resort’s vibrant tropical gardens will be enhanced with new lighting, signage and improved access to Little Dix Bay beach. The renovation will also bring the addition of new restaurant concepts for The Pavilion, Beach Grill and Sugar Mill; new world-class amenities; elevated service standards and an increased focus on sustainability. Upon reopening towards the end of 2017, Rosewood Little Dix Bay will reaffirm its legacy as the Caribbean’s leading luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosewood Little Dix Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Gorda
Little Dix Bay Resort
Little Dix Bay Virgin Islands
Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Islands
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing