We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent hotel, wonderful location and really outstanding service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosewood Little Dix Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
chesieres
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent hotel, wonderful location and really outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We came here after three trips to north Queensland in the last four years. So, unfortunately for Virgin Gorda, I had an unreachable level of expectation.
If fish watching is your priority, reconsider the Great Barrier Reef.
In my fist snorkel on the hotel’s beach I did not see ONE fish in the first 5 minutes. The day after I saw there a nice friendly turtle and sting ray though.
Having said this, the BVI are beautiful, the quality of the water is top class and the climate is possibly the very best. Never too hot, always slightly windy with perfect perfect (2 times) air temperature.
The resort is extremely well run; the staff is excellent with the perfect mix of friendliness and respect. The service is smiling and efficient. They really give you the impression that you are important to them.
The marina service are friendly and very efficient the (complimentary) beach drop service is excellent and the Diving is professional, efficient and correctly priced.
The rooms are good and very well kept.
They have three restaurants. The best is the beach one, with a simple menu of things made just to your order, fresh and nice. Also the Pina Colada is best there, where it is made to your order and is not the pre-made, minus 50 degrees frozen thing that you cannot taste because too cold.
The main cafeteria called the Pavilion is not a Michelin three stars, but it serves reasonably proper cuisine, basic menus but well done. The weak point is the supposedly top class restaurant called the Sugar Mill, where cuisine is not at the level of the ambition. We dined there two times and both were uninteresting, with overcooked fish and no flavor. I had grilled swordfish that I was obliged to cut with my knife because too cooked.
All in all, after we came to terms with the fact that sea life is Caribbean and not to Australian standards, we had a very outstanding sea experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruggero2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    147
    41
    23
    11
See reviews for
180
543
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Lure, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Can't wait to land at the very hot and very small Virgin Gorda airport again and ride 5 minutes to Little Dix Bay! The beach is white sand and the water is vivid turquoise! Sea turtles swim just off the beach so snorkeling doesn't even need to involve a boat or much effort at all. Our last stay was in Beach cottage #56 barely 100 yards from the sand, a chaise, a palapa, and drinks and food served at the edge of the ocean. Frances entertained us while she made sure our cottage was impeccably clean. If you would rather dine in the open air lunch restaurant just walk a short distance along the beach...food and service is great. The Sugar Mill restaurant on property offers delicious dinners and wine. The Pavillion is a gorgeous setting with a la carte menu or theme buffets and a bar with music some nights. The spa massages are fabulous and the spa is very peaceful with an amazing view. Little Dix is close to several delightful restaurants and a small grocery market for snacks and drinks which can be stored in the very small refrigerator in your room. We have also stayed in the 4BR homes which are beautiful with views to match! Love them, but a golf cart ride away from the beach. Tour all of Virgin Gorda but it is nice to arrive back at Little Dix for bedtime and the next day! Very personable staff and an enchanting setting. We prefer San Juan to Virgin Gorda via Air Sunshine instead of Tortolla and a ferry ride to Little Dix. The 5 min ride from Virgin Gorda airport to Little Dix Bay is complimentary! Enjoy!

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms and cottages closest to the beach and the middle of the resort instead of closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JHJLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I cannot stop talking about this place. It is one of our top 2 vacation places. I was a little freaked out at first because they do not have keys to lock your doors when you leave the room but quickly got over it. The staff at the resort are top notch. Magdalena in the restaurant is the best. When we were leaving she ran to the dock to hug us good bye. If nothing else she will be the reason we come back. You MUST but Venitas hit sauce before you leave. She actually works there and is as sweet as pie. I do not remember her name but the women who cleaned our room (58) we were there April 6th - 14 always had a smile on. One day they assigned her to another room and we called and asked her to clean our room. She would leave flowers in our room each day. Without a doubt the best vacation. The rooms are clean, gym is perfect. All we did was sit on the beach all day of our 9 day vacation. It's pricey but worth every dime. If you are going up be on Virgin Gorda this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCGuys08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

My friend and I treated ourselves to a day of pampering at the spa at Little Dix Bay - it was wonderful. We both had wraps, massages, facials and pedicures. The services were excellent and the setting really can't be beat. The one thing to be wary of with the half day package is that they say there is lunch, but lunch is not included - we found it very misleading.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaStrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsboro, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Excellent service and beautiful location. The resort is well managed by Rosewood. Many of the staff members were long time loyal employees and were more than willing to make sure guests satisfied with their stay. The Island had a very friendly atmosphere and I cant wait to return for another visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JT47_474747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Would give the hotel an A+++ in every category. My husband just returned and are already thinking about when we can go back and bring our kids. Rooms, staff, beach, pool and food was all outstanding!!! Thanks so much for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

At first we thought this property & crowd were a little too high brow and quiet, but rooms along the beach were spectacular, and the location is walking distance to Spanish Town Harbor that had a few good restaurants. The dress code in the Sugar Mill restaurant on the property is a bit extreme and unnecessary for a vacation resort. The Pavilion dining is excessive and the a la carte menu was god but not outstanding. The Beach Bar lunch was the tastiest food, yet it closes at 6pm. It would be ideal for sunset dining. You must try Venita's hot sauce on everything. Miss Hyacinth made everyday a delight. Carlton the bartender was also good fun and added a personal touch to an evening's nightcap. Yoga at the spa pool will make your heart sing. Even if you do not do yoga, visit the spa pool. The infinity edge overlooks the ocean & is dreamy. I wish they offered more yoga classes.

Room Tip: Beach rooms are worth the cost. Rooms 40-60 were just far away enough from the Beach Bar , Pavilio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
16.5 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
12.0 mi away
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
#5 of 13 in Road Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
17.8 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
12.9 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
5.9 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Little Dix Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Little Dix Bay

Property: Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Address: PO Box 70, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Little Dix Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive renovation and is scheduled to re-open in late 2017. The iconic Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive, multi-million dollar restoration, which will be the most substantial beautification project since the resort was founded by Laurance S. Rockefeller over 50 years ago. The restoration will include the complete redesign of the resort’s guestrooms and suites, its three restaurants and overall enhancements to the resort’s gardens and landscaping. New York City-based Meyer Davis Studio will lead the restoration, working alongside Miami-based architectural firm OBMI. Together these agencies will honor Laurance S. Rockefeller’s unique vision of a luxurious hideaway set amidst the pristine backdrop of Virgin Gorda. The renewal will bring about a new level of sophistication in keeping with the natural setting, whilst introducing brand new signature suites for the ultimate in relaxation and style. A rebuilt Beach Grill will offer a one-of-a-kind beach dining experience, while the iconic Pavilion and Sugar Mill buildings will remain intact but will feature extended indoor/outdoor dining areas. Guests will also enjoy an elevated arrival experience and the resort’s vibrant tropical gardens will be enhanced with new lighting, signage and improved access to Little Dix Bay beach. The renovation will also bring the addition of new restaurant concepts for The Pavilion, Beach Grill and Sugar Mill; new world-class amenities; elevated service standards and an increased focus on sustainability. Upon reopening towards the end of 2017, Rosewood Little Dix Bay will reaffirm its legacy as the Caribbean’s leading luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Rosewood Little Dix Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Gorda
Little Dix Bay Resort
Little Dix Bay Virgin Islands
Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Islands
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing