We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Carribean Spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I love this resort!!! From the time you enter this tropical paradise you are in heaven. This lush resort is wonderful. The rooms are beautiful and very clean. The beach is fabulous, warm water and nice soft clean sand. There is service on the beach that includes drinks or lunch. The breakfast buffet is the best. The selection is complete and never gets boring. At dinner you can chose between a buffet or off the menu in the main restaurant. Each night they have a different theme and it is fun to see what delicious array they will have. The dessert table is to die for. There is also the more elegant restaurant if you want a quieter more romantic dinner. There is entertainment each evening at the main bar, a casual fun place to hang out after dinner. There is tennis, a kids club and many water sports. The staff is great, friendly, happy and at your service. I love Little Dix and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We had a suite and we really didn't need one that large but it was very nice. You definitely wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 932 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is one of the best places my wife and I have ever traveled to!! Stayed in a Rosewood Junior Suite, and it was WELL WORTH IT!!! Huge bathtub and an amazing outdoor shower. Super friendly staff that was happy to get you whatever you wanted. Definately recommend the trip to The Baths. If you are contemplating a trip here, look no further!!! I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Rosewood Junior Suite!!!!! We looked at many different rooms while we were there, and the Junior Su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I have visited the US and British Virgin Islands many times with my family, but my husband and I wanted a unique experience when we went for our honeymoon. We decided to stay at Little Dix (rather than in a private rental as we usually do). We were definitely happy with our decision! Though we arrived shortly after a tropical storm had swept through the region, the staff was hard at work to clean the property up as quickly as possible. Though the debris was not really that big of an issue, the property provided a generous resort credit as an apology for the condition of the property during our week-long stay. We were incredibly pleased with our daily breakfast!! The omelets were superb, the Mahi-Mahi filet bagel sandwich was amazing, and the fruit selection was wonderful. The dinners we ate in the Sugar Mill were 5-star, but extremely expensive with very small portions. The beach drops and picnic lunch were beautiful and a lot of fun (though I don't know if we would have paid for them separately if they had not be included in our package). We loved snorkeling in the area and couldn't get enough of the infinity pool at the spa (which was the only open pool during our stay due to the recent storm). We were also thrilled with our couples massage experience and would definitely recommend booking a session while at the resort!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine48104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stunning setting on Virgin Gorda. We didn't stay at the hotel, however, we visited while on a business cruise with clients. We had a massage and facial, both were nice, but not over the top as one might expect at such a wonderful resort. The Spa is more rustic, outdoor setting with huts that serve as the service rooms. All in all wonderful. We spent time by the spa pool and you must walk down the steps to the beach on that side as the view and rock formations are amazing--great photo opportunity. The beach itself is quiet and gorgeous, great swimming beach. We had lunch at the beach bar which was good--but I got the impression we weren't totally welcomed as we weren't guests of the hotel. Still worth the trip whether you are staying there (great honeymoon location!) or just visiting for the day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EliStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this resort for 5 nights in March. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our time here. The resort was lovely, the rooms were luxurious, the spa was fantastic and the service was outstanding. We found the food to be excellent - both the ala carte and the buffets. We probably most enjoyed the causal dining at the bistro by the dock - the food was fresh and creative. The resort definitely lived up to our expectations!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jennyv526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We tried to stay at LDB last March (2012) but they were booked, so we made our reservations 1 year ago for March of 2013. Based on the spectacular reviews of LDB and the high demand to stay here, we had very high expectations. LDB delivered on some but missed on others. To keep the review short and sweet, here are a few points worth mentioning.
The GOOD:
- the beach is beautiful, the sand is nice white in color and very fine and soft. The bay is secluded by the hills to the east and west and a coral reef about 100 yards out. There are palm trees and cabanas for shade. The water was the nice clear multi-hue blue you expect in the caribbean.
- overall resort facilities were nice; the resort pool, fitness facility, spa, sugar mill restaurant, and eating pavilion - very picturesque and in good condition. Two hiking trails were nice for some exercise and provided good views.
- the beach drops are a nice option to explorer the surrounding area but the ocean was too rough during most of our stay and they were cancelled.
The NOT SO GOOD:
- we were disappointed in the food, especially the daily dinner buffets. I got the lobster appetizer buffet one night and the risotto was pre-made and underdone, the lobster salad was just a few 1/4" thick pieces of lobster on shredded lettuce, and the lobster shooters (bloody marry mix, rum, and shredded lobster) did not make for a good combo. We got the taco buffet the day before and it was just OK, the ceviche was excellent though and saved the night.. We tired a few a la cart meals and they were not much better. Being on an island i would think there would be plenty of fresh local fish options but i was told the fish was all imported. The breakfast buffet was good with lots of fresh fruit, smoothies, cereal, eggs, bacon, sausage, breads, meats and cheeses. The only disappointment was the waffles and french toast, they would make them, put them on a tray, then reheat when you ordered. The sugar mill restaurant was better and had we tried their meals earlier in the week we would have gone there more often. BTW, the sugar mill was closed 3 of our last 4 days, once for a private event, once because it was Thursday, and once for caribbean night buffet.
- the service was what really disappointed the most. We were not given wash cloths one day and had to ask three times to get them. We sat a dirty plate out by our door one day and it sat there three days before it was picked up. One evening we came back to our room after dinner and there were two maids and a security guard sitting in our lounge chairs and hammock relaxing, laughing, and shooting the breeze. We often had to ask for water refills, spoons to stir our coffee, etc. Overall, it seemed like no one went out of their way to help us and the basics were often overlooked.
- our room was not up to the standard we have come to expect of a resort of this caliber. Our shower curtain rod was rusty, the curtain was ripped, the shower head was dirty and rusty, and they used drywall screws to attached the soap holder, which are not intended for use in wet environments and were rusted. Most alarming was probably the 110v halogen mini light in the shower with no glass lens over it. The bare light bulb terminals were exposed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Kirk P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our eighth trip to Little Dix. We are a family of 5 with 3 kids under 12. Little Dix has one of - if not the - best settings in the entire Caribbean: excellent beach, great rooms, nice staff, lots to do and high quality food. The beach is superb and, because of the protective reef, it is very safe for children. It is a great place to stay and, unlike some other places in the Caribbean, it is very safe. You do not feel like you are confined to a resort compound. The BVI is very welcoming and lots fun to explore. Highlights of our stay were scuba diving, exploring Virgin Gorda (The Baths, Gorda Peak), and playing at the beach.

Room Tip: The Ocean cottages (rooms 40-80) are a fair walk from the main restaurants and pool (~600 yards). To...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
20.2 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
192 reviews
7.4 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
293 reviews
16.7 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
501 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mango Bay Resort
Mango Bay Resort
#2 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Little Dix Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Little Dix Bay

Address: Lee Road, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price Range: $600 - $787 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Little Dix Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive renovation and is scheduled to re-open in late 2017. The iconic Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive, multi-million dollar restoration, which will be the most substantial beautification project since the resort was founded by Laurance S. Rockefeller over 50 years ago. The restoration will include the complete redesign of the resort’s guestrooms and suites, its three restaurants and overall enhancements to the resort’s gardens and landscaping. New York City-based Meyer Davis Studio will lead the restoration, working alongside Miami-based architectural firm OBMI. Together these agencies will honor Laurance S. Rockefeller’s unique vision of a luxurious hideaway set amidst the pristine backdrop of Virgin Gorda. The renewal will bring about a new level of sophistication in keeping with the natural setting, whilst introducing brand new signature suites for the ultimate in relaxation and style. A rebuilt Beach Grill will offer a one-of-a-kind beach dining experience, while the iconic Pavilion and Sugar Mill buildings will remain intact but will feature extended indoor/outdoor dining areas. Guests will also enjoy an elevated arrival experience and the resort’s vibrant tropical gardens will be enhanced with new lighting, signage and improved access to Little Dix Bay beach. The renovation will also bring the addition of new restaurant concepts for The Pavilion, Beach Grill and Sugar Mill; new world-class amenities; elevated service standards and an increased focus on sustainability. Upon reopening towards the end of 2017, Rosewood Little Dix Bay will reaffirm its legacy as the Caribbean’s leading luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosewood Little Dix Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Gorda
Little Dix Bay Resort
Little Dix Bay Virgin Islands
Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Islands
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing