We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Week Ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I have worked in the hospitality industry for over 30 years so when I get a chance to travel I have VERY high expectations and on our recent trip to Little Dix Bay not only were my expectations met they were exceeded in virtually every aspect of our stay. First and foremost the housekeeping staff was AMAZING. Friendy, enthusiastic and perfectionists as well, they noticed that my wife loved the fresh plumeria and each and every day they brought her a new bouquet for her bedside table! Now that is the kind of gesture and care that really gets my attention. There really isnt much you can say about the location other than it is an absolute slice of heaven. The grounds are luxuriously tropical and the beach was to die for. The restaurant was exquisite and the staff there was gregarious and attentive as well. The General Manager Duncan Hogarth went out of his was to make sure our stay ended on a very memorable note...we felt like a King and Queen! The ONLY downside was that I take great pleasure in finding things that my property does better than any property I am visiting and I have to say in that regard I was disappointed as Little Dix is my new benchmark for perfection. A big thank you to everyone on staff who made this well deserved vacation more than we had hoped for in every regard !

Room Tip: beach front to be sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 932 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

this place is amazing. Staff is wonderful & grounds are beyond words. We were skeptical wondering whether it would be worth the price but boy were we in for a treat! This place far exceeded our expectations. Especially considering that we live on St. Thomas & are very aware of how challenging finding good service can be in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jillipeppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Little Dix Bay Resort has a wonderful beach with plenty to do. The accommodation was stunning - ours was right by the beach. Each week there is a cocktail party free of charge and every day they serve afternoon tea by the pool with views of the ocean.
The Sugar Mill restaurant was one of the best on our trip.
We came from Biras Creek (with only about 15 guests staying) and so we found it much larger. We chose fLitte Dix for the proximity to Spanish Town (the capital).We spoke to other guests - mainly American who told us how they liked the guided snorkling and other organised tours. We were happy to spend the day watching pelicans diving and retrieving fish,jellyfish and stingrays!

Room Tip: There are some detached rooms so no-one above or below you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband, 21 year old daughter and I stayed at LDB in July as part of a family vacation in the UVI and BVI. From our experience, Rosewood Little Dix Bay lived up to its reputation and was well worth the price. The setting is lovely with a fabulous beach. The rooms are tastefully and thoughtfully designed. The staff was top-notch; unobtrusive, but friendly and willing to help with any request. It was evident that LDB recruits - and retains - a high quality staff. Some reviewers did not like the pool area at LDB because of its small size, but we found it to be pleasant and well-equipped. There are so many "extras" offered on the property that you might not ever feel the need to go off-grounds. (That would be a shame though - you don't want to miss Virgin Gorda's other wonderful places!) We enjoyed the complimentary early-bird breakfast and afternoon tea, the free use of kayaks, the the included "Beach Drop". I only have two caveats to share. First of all, you may want to rent a car for your stay (We used Speedy's, and they were terrific!!!) because evening dining at LDB can be a bit pricey, especially for a family. Car rental also gives you more options and freedom for island sightseeing. Secondly, beware the Cowhill Trail, an on-property hike. It does offer amazing views of both the marina and the bay from the peak. However, despite the fact that the LDB informational binder describes it as moderate, the down hill descent is steep and rocky...and a bit scary by my standards! Be prepared if you go: time the hike for early in the day, wear shoes with a good tread and take plenty of water.

Overall, our stay at LDB couldn't have been better - all three of us loved it. We were sad to leave, but we plan to return someday! This hotel truly offers many amenities for the price and it is well worth a stay

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this resort. We had a fabulous time and the staff was amazing. We are planning to go back next year. The rooms were great (although no tv's) you are steps away from the gorgeous beach. The staff was so accomodating nothing was out of the question, everyone was so friendly and there is enough to do on the property that you wont get board. The beach drops to the baths and other great beaches, the spa, fitness center or just sitting on the beach with fabulous drinks. It was our first official family vacation and we brought our 3 month old newborn. Ths staff new her by name and made sure we had everything we needed for her including a beautiful wooden crib with pink winnie the pooh quilts and sheets. There are no keys for the doors and we felt incredibly safe and comfortable. I love this island and this place and we will go back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scesare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I decided to splurge and stay a couple of nights at the Rosewood Little Dix Bay. It was absolutely fabulous. The rooms are so incredibly beautiful. Ours was just steps away from the beach. The staff is amazing and the amenities and complimentary services, such as beach drops, stocked mini fridge in the room, etc., etc., are really over the top. This place is awesome.

Room Tip: Room 57 is the best! I loved it because it was super close to the beach (like 20 feet away?), and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleTRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Its been 2 years since our honeymoon (June 2010) ... and I can't stop thinking about how beautiful, romantic and peaceful our honeymoon was at this wonderful little bay. It was daily serenity combined with luxurious little reminders of beauty .... you have to visit the spa... PLEASE go to the spa! And if you can sail to Anegada with Keith that will be the icing on the cake. I wish I could go back ....

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJWillis40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
20.2 mi away
Anegada Beach Club
Anegada Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Anegada
192 reviews
7.4 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
16.7 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
501 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mango Bay Resort
Mango Bay Resort
#3 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Little Dix Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Little Dix Bay

Address: Lee Road, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Virgin Gorda
Price Range: $594 - $1,096 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Little Dix Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive renovation and is scheduled to re-open in late 2017. The iconic Rosewood Little Dix Bay is currently closed for a comprehensive, multi-million dollar restoration, which will be the most substantial beautification project since the resort was founded by Laurance S. Rockefeller over 50 years ago. The restoration will include the complete redesign of the resort’s guestrooms and suites, its three restaurants and overall enhancements to the resort’s gardens and landscaping. New York City-based Meyer Davis Studio will lead the restoration, working alongside Miami-based architectural firm OBMI. Together these agencies will honor Laurance S. Rockefeller’s unique vision of a luxurious hideaway set amidst the pristine backdrop of Virgin Gorda. The renewal will bring about a new level of sophistication in keeping with the natural setting, whilst introducing brand new signature suites for the ultimate in relaxation and style. A rebuilt Beach Grill will offer a one-of-a-kind beach dining experience, while the iconic Pavilion and Sugar Mill buildings will remain intact but will feature extended indoor/outdoor dining areas. Guests will also enjoy an elevated arrival experience and the resort’s vibrant tropical gardens will be enhanced with new lighting, signage and improved access to Little Dix Bay beach. The renovation will also bring the addition of new restaurant concepts for The Pavilion, Beach Grill and Sugar Mill; new world-class amenities; elevated service standards and an increased focus on sustainability. Upon reopening towards the end of 2017, Rosewood Little Dix Bay will reaffirm its legacy as the Caribbean’s leading luxury resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosewood Little Dix Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Gorda
Little Dix Bay Resort
Little Dix Bay Virgin Islands
Little Dix Bay Hotel Virgin Islands
Rosewood Little Dix Bay Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing