We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
Review of The Baths

The Baths
Book In Advance
More Info
$154.99*
and up
Day Cruise to British Virgin Islands from St Thomas or St John
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most well-known attraction on the island, these giant boulders or batholiths, brought to the surface by volcanic eruptions, are scattered about forming a beautiful grotto and tranquil pools.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is truly a beautiful sight. We spend a little less than a week in St. John and this was definitely the highlight of the trip. The rock formations are so unique and it would be a mistake to pass up the opportunity to see this if you're visiting USVI or BVI. There are lots of beaches in the Caribbean, but The Baths are one of a kind.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,829
    416
    112
    25
    10
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarzana, California, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Wonder of the World!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The first time my husband and I went to the Baths we didn't really know what it was. We thought it was a place to snorkel so we stayed outside the rocks. We didn't go climbing inside the rocks because we had no idea what was in there. This past trip we were with friends who have experienced the baths often so they took us in them. It's a climbing & walking experience. There are steep stairs and lots of bending and squeezing through places. Being in pretty good shape is a plus and if you can't do any of the activities I mentioned, then pass. There are no tunnels or dark areas - outside light is coming in everywhere. There is a nice beach when you come out of the rocks where people are swimming and sunbathing. I don't know if there is an alternate route back to where you began, but my group just back tracked. Also the restaurant at the top of the Baths is yummy!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsPL81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tha baths at Virgin Gorda”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Beautiful place to visit. We arrived by boat. Lovely friendly people and fantastic structure to visit. On no account attempt to land by swimming from a dingy mooring just away from the beach. If the yellow flags are flying be warned it,s very hard to swim. You will find the swell will tire you out. If you see yellow flags. Take the dingy to Spanish town. Have a cool drink and walk the short distance to the baths. It,s all signed. I learnt this thru experience. Take protective rubber shoes or deck shoes to protect your feet . Didn't see urchins but best to be safe. There,s a supermarket there where you can buy chicken feet .....yuk ! Seriously, you can stock your boat up very well here. If you go into Spanish town watch the swell going in. All good fun. Enjoy !

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuzzer1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, IA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome beauty and unique experience.”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The setting and experience is one of a kind in the islands. Must do. Take your beach things to enjoy the beach before the hike and enjoy lunch at the restaurant as well. Good way to spend the day. Arrange for your taxi driver to come back and get you at the appointed time though.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PKarll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“MUST DO”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Baths are a must-do for anyone near Virgin Gorda.

My husband and I went on our honeymoon. We arrived early one day and not too many people there. Since we weren't part of a tour, we took our time wandering through the little caves and paths, exploring everything we could find. It was so much fun!

We saw David Hasselhoff while we were there!

After exploring, we spent some time on Devil's Bay, which was so so beautiful.

Coming back through the caves, we ran into cruise ship tours and had to wait 10+ minutes for them to all file through a section before we could escape. Not fun.

To mitigate, we got Blast Off drinks at the bar on the beach there. Quite delicious.

We came back at sunrise another day to take photos while nobody was there, it was awesome!

It was $3 per person to enter during hours, but if you get there early enough, it's free!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Baths also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to The Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing