We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting spot.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Baths

The Baths
Book In Advance
More Info
$154.99*
and up
Day Cruise to British Virgin Islands from St Thomas or St John
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most well-known attraction on the island, these giant boulders or batholiths, brought to the surface by volcanic eruptions, are scattered about forming a beautiful grotto and tranquil pools.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting spot.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We took the catamaran from our cruise ship and the ride over and back was beautiful. Our tour guide on the island warned us that the Caves required a little work and he was right. You have to be able to stoop and walk through the huge rocks but it was managable for two 60 somethings and we are no athletes. We were both carrying backpacks and it was it was only a tight fit at one spot. The Caves are not really caves. They are large boulders that have sort of fallen on each other. We were the only cruise ship in port and the beach and caves were a little crowded but if you walk through the Caves to Devils Beach there is a very large stretch of beach that was empty. Also, I believe there is another beach in the other direction from the main beach area. To access the Baths you have to walk down a rocky bath that is fairly easy to traverse. There is a restroom at the bottom. We hiked back from Devils Beach up the car park route. That was longer than the walk down but I think it was probably not as steep. Again, a little vigorous but not bad. It was a beautiful spot and we are glad we went.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank boatride7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,800
    413
    111
    24
    10
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorks
Level Contributor
174 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very crowded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We visited on a cruise ship excursion which may well be part of the problem. The catamaran journey over and open taxi to the top of the baths was fine and views fantastic. We had no problems with the path down to the baths although it is irregular. The beach is very pretty but it was also very crowded and sea quite rough that day. My son went through the caves and described them more as gaps between rocks. A number of people we spoke to described feeling unsafe in the caves because there were too many people and some people were pushing through regardless of others.
I think this is probably a lovely place to visit but best to go before the cruise trips arrive .

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RJHNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Beautiful - Magnificent - but CAUTION...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Baths at Virgin Gorda are spectacular!! The rock formations (which are actually the "baths") are gorgeous! We were able to make it to the Baths with a day sail with Cruz Bay Watersports (check them out and my review there - great company!!).

A few words of caution:

1. The path through the baths are a TIGHT squeeze! I am a 2X and there were a few places that I wasn't sure I was going to make it though (but I did). This is also true when people are coming the opposite way from you as you will take the same path in as you do out!!

2. You WILL be ducking, squatting, lightly climbing OVER rocks, shimmying between formations etc. So if you are not agile and sturdy on your feet, this might not be the best trip for you. A man (not from our group) broke his ankle while making his way through the path. Lucky for him the emergency rescue team is actually stationed in Virgin Gorda according to our guide - so lucky him!!

However - note that this trip is TOTALLY worth it ... get out of your comfort zone and get moving - you may need to get creative, but you can do it!!

Items to be prepared for:
Two rocks that have fallen / formed near eachother that are about 1 1/2 high with only about 8 inches between them. Most people will need to climb over this - some stradled it, others tried climbing the sides - do whatever works for you!

There are also small spaces under where rock formations are resting upon eachother that you will need to shimmy through and under. If you are over 6 ft tall and have some extra pounds on you - this WILL be a challenge and may require crawling rather than the standing shimmy. These are not impossible and there is a good amount of open space the bottom 3 feet, so you CAN crawl if you are not able to walk and shimmy.

There are several places that they have put in stairs - which are steep, but managable just take your time and go down facing the ladder tushy first and you should have no problems!

There are also places where they have put in ropes to hold onto to help you out - some people found them helpful, others not - I used them more going DOWN then coming in... go with your own comfort level on these!

There are water ways that you will need to cross - nothing deep, and honestly you should NOT wear shoes on this excursion - and for your own safety. And to ensure your enjoyment, leave ALL bags behind!! You will not have room to have a bag on your person and it is not stable enough to have items in your hands!! You CAN bring a regular camera on this excursion as you will not need to get wet (unless you fall or swam in like we did).

They say it should take about 20 minutes to get through it - we took much longer... possibly because we were stopping for pictures and to enjoy the formations, but I would plan longer than 20 minutes EACH WAY for this adventure!

There are little shops once you make your way through the Baths if they are of interest to you, bring a few bucks - but nothing you won't see on other islands except the Virgin Gorda t-shirts.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
15 Thank court10482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great lunch at the top, interesting hike to get there, physically challenging. Beyond Beautiful. Fresh pool back at the top with a Painkiller to celebrate the experience!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ETicketRide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A geologic marvel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The trail from Devil's Bay to the Baths is an adventure only detracted by the abundance of people. Try to go when no cruise ships are near. Best way to cope is to visit the beach awhile, then head up a trail to the fabulous bar overlooking the area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2harness_entropy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Baths also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to The Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing