We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Takes Your Breath Away”
Review of The Baths

The Baths
Book In Advance
More Info
$154.99*
and up
Day Cruise to British Virgin Islands from St Thomas or St John
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most well-known attraction on the island, these giant boulders or batholiths, brought to the surface by volcanic eruptions, are scattered about forming a beautiful grotto and tranquil pools.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Takes Your Breath Away”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Baths of Virgin Gorda are a treasure not to be missed on your visit. It's even better if you join a charter group that takes you in their dingy or if you're an experienced snorkeler, exploring the reef will enhance the experience exponentially. Otherwise, the trek can be a test, the faint of heart need to be prepared for the challenges that will be encountered.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TejasVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,843
    419
    115
    27
    10
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
179 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed on St John and decided to take the ferry to Virgin Gorda for the day. Although we spent close to 5hrs roundtrip on the ferry, I'm glad we took the ferry instead of a guided boat tour. Most of the boat tours don't spend much time at the baths. We had a solid 4 hours at the baths which allowed us to explore all the rock formations and caves, and snorkel. At the top of the baths there are two trails, one to the baths and one to Devil's Bay. Both trails go to the baths, just different ends. If you take the one to Devil's Bay, there is a bigger beach at that end. If you take the other trail, there are lockers at the bottom (we left our stuff on the beach, including passports, and no one bothered it).

From Devil's Bay beach you would walk right (as you face the water) to go through the baths. Definitely walk through the baths from Devil's Bay to the other end (or vice versa)...it's an awesome experience. The snorkeling was pretty good. We started snorkeling from Devil's Bay beach and made it to the beach at the other end then walked back through the Baths.

We ate lunch at the Top of the Baths restaurant which I recommend. We paid $8 roundtrip per person for a taxi from the ferry to the baths.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank megs828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Do some research ahead of time to see which days cruise ships are in port”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Baths are gorgeous but your visit will be much enhanced if you do a Google search in advance to find out which days cruise ships are in port nearby. Some days there may be 2-3 large ships and other days none, and that can make a big difference. Come prepared to crawl over and through narrow, wet openings between the boulders.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lisak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Such a beautiful place but if you are staying on Virgin Gorda, go early. It gets very crowded when the cruise ships send cruisers up by the truck loads. We were the ONLY people there at 4pm. Be sure to follow 'the cave' all the way to Devils Bay. Such a cool experience. Reminded me of the movie goonies:) You are not in a cave, but a walk way thru the huge boulders. They have built some stairs and ramps to help you get from one place to the next. The water was knee/thigh high in some places and absoulety beautiful. We watched the sunset from the beach.

We went back a few days later in the middle of the day and it was very crowded. Not as enjoyable but still amazing.

You can swim and snorkel right off the beach. Not many fish to see when snorkeling but the water feels great and it is very peaceful.

Be sure to have a drink at Mad Dogs or Top of the Baths. Both are great little places to take in the view.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL OVERCROWDED MAZE”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Sometimes the hardest thing to do is to be truthful and while I have subscribed to the edict that "if you can't say something nice, don't say anything in my Tripadvisor feedback, after our day at this famous beach, I feel I must break the rule. The Baths is a nice beach with gigantic boulders strewn about creating numerous passages and enclosed pools of the ocean. On the "trail" to Devils cove, it is precisely this condition that when populated with hundreds of tourists, many who have spent a great deal of time money to visit here from a cruise ship moored an island or two away, and who are determined to experience for themselves and their children this natural wonder. On this overpopulated, claustrophobic route uncontrolled bursts of anger and outrage erupt all due to this really being a one lane highway without a traffic light.
Having been through this I ask my self was it worth all the trouble?
On this trip we based on Tortola, and enjoyed uncrowded beaches equally as beautiful. We also ventured to Anegada to enjoy Loblolly Bay, truly a beach to go to the end of the earth to experience.
As for the Baths, sometimes a shower is better.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CliffWalkCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Baths also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 
Road Town, Tortola
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to The Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing