We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Interesting and Beautiful”
Review of The Baths

The Baths
Book In Advance
More Info
$154.99*
and up
Day Cruise to British Virgin Islands from St Thomas or St John
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most well-known attraction on the island, these giant boulders or batholiths, brought to the surface by volcanic eruptions, are scattered about forming a beautiful grotto and tranquil pools.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“So Interesting and Beautiful”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were recently lucky enough to get to sail around the BVI's for a week with some freinds and made a stop at here (twice) and it really is amazing. As others mention, there are some tight spots to get through in a couple of places and a little bit of trekking up and down some rocks, but well worth it and nothing too difficult. The pools of water that are created throughout are beautiful with the best being the famous "cathedral" portion and you will find yourself staring at those massive boulders and wondering how they all stay in place. The first time we went was a little before sunset and we nearly had the entire place to ourselves - our second stop by for some others in our group to go was around 10am and a couple tour boats were there which made it crowded and a bit too noisy to really get to enjoy it, so try to go around sunrise or sunset for the best experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank texas_Tmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,827
    416
    111
    25
    10
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Wonder!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Everytime I visit the BVI's I go see the Baths. I love to take someone there for the first time. Boulders as big as houses at all different angles becomes mesmerizing. Seeing what the water and elements have done over the years is absolutely awesome.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn29681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool day trip”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The water was amazing. Crystal clear. It did get a little crowded. It's a must see. I would go back to the Baths for sure on my next trip back to the BVI's.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Trek to The Top!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our resort offered "Beach Drops" to any beach in the area. We were dropped off with a beach umbrella, towels, drinks and snorkel gear for three hours. They also called ahead to make sure that the restaurant at the top was open. If it is not, we recommend bringing snacks or a small meal and water bottles. We had a wonderful time climbing and exploring this beautiful part of the island. Make sure to wear water shoes/sandals. We stopped off at "The Poor Mans Bar" half way through our trek. The Pain Killer Drink is spectacularly yummy and refreshing. They also have bathrooms before continuing on your journey to the top. Once you reach this point the rest of the way is man made steps built into the rock. Once you reach the top there is a very nice restaurant/bar, two shops, a gallery and killer views. There is also a fresh water pool where you can cool off. One thing to remember - you have to go all the way back :) So save some energy for the trek back to your beach.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Terre143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We took the beach drop from Little Dix bay to Devil's bay and walked through the baths from there. It is definitely a must see while on Virgin Gorda- snorkelling was pretty good, too and the water was crystal clear.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank qtpykell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Baths also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to The Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing