We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool day trip”
Review of The Baths

The Baths
Book In Advance
More Info
$154.99*
and up
Day Cruise to British Virgin Islands from St Thomas or St John
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most well-known attraction on the island, these giant boulders or batholiths, brought to the surface by volcanic eruptions, are scattered about forming a beautiful grotto and tranquil pools.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool day trip”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The water was amazing. Crystal clear. It did get a little crowded. It's a must see. I would go back to the Baths for sure on my next trip back to the BVI's.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,843
    419
    115
    27
    10
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Trek to The Top!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our resort offered "Beach Drops" to any beach in the area. We were dropped off with a beach umbrella, towels, drinks and snorkel gear for three hours. They also called ahead to make sure that the restaurant at the top was open. If it is not, we recommend bringing snacks or a small meal and water bottles. We had a wonderful time climbing and exploring this beautiful part of the island. Make sure to wear water shoes/sandals. We stopped off at "The Poor Mans Bar" half way through our trek. The Pain Killer Drink is spectacularly yummy and refreshing. They also have bathrooms before continuing on your journey to the top. Once you reach this point the rest of the way is man made steps built into the rock. Once you reach the top there is a very nice restaurant/bar, two shops, a gallery and killer views. There is also a fresh water pool where you can cool off. One thing to remember - you have to go all the way back :) So save some energy for the trek back to your beach.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Terre143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We took the beach drop from Little Dix bay to Devil's bay and walked through the baths from there. It is definitely a must see while on Virgin Gorda- snorkelling was pretty good, too and the water was crystal clear.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank qtpykell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice snorkeling...”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great place for snorkeling. Pack a lunch and drinks. Good place for picnicking. Get there before 10:00 am to beat crowds. Avoid the day the cruise ships are in the area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerInNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“excellent snorkeling and exploring”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

beautiful way to spend a few hours. The snorkeling was spectacular and the beach beautiful. Note that we went when there was no cruise scheduled to be in the area...so it was not crowded at all - check to see if there will be a cruiseship - they bring a load of people over to the Baths and can ruin the moment.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CHD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Baths also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 
Road Town, Tortola
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to The Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing