We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite”
Review of Villa Aquamare

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virgin Gorda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Aquamare
Washington DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Top notch! I don't think any villa can compare to Aquamare and I've stayed at several (on St. John). I'm not sure hotels in the Virgin Islands can compare. Outstanding, spectacular, perfection.
We stayed in villa 1, the one with direct beach access. There isn't a lot of space around the pool to get sun but it didn't bother us because the beach is so close.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChefJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We are discerning travellers from London who have been to several exotic destinations around the world (Maldives, Thailand, Bali, Hawaii, Mexico, the Mediterranean) and Villa Aquamare is, without a doubt, the best luxury property we have had the pleasure of staying at.

We stayed in Villa One which is set at the front of the property on your own private stretch of beach. The other two villas are nestled not too far behind in the colourful landscaped gardens.

What strikes you first is the picture perfect view out to the glistening turquoise sea bordered by swaying palm trees and mountainous islands in the distance. The resident flock of pelicans which glide by set the already perfect scene. Our villa was obviously designed to maximise the spectacular view from every angle given the floor-to-ceiling windows in the lounge and three master bedrooms (yes, three...more on that in a bit). The villa's lounge doors open out to your own private patio and azure horizon pool which trails off into the sea...it is truly mesmerising.

When you're able to draw your eyes away from that view, you can then retreat to the luxurious but cosy open living space with peaked dark wood ceilings and soft natural furnishings. If only my home looked like this... The bedrooms are even better. The three master bedrooms at the front of the property all share the beautiful sea view from the ground to the third floor. Each has their own patio with a hammock to laze in, a spacious lounge, king bed laiden with silken Frette sheets and a huge bathroom with a spa bath and outdoor waterfall shower which again has a sea view... There are a further two large double bedrooms nestled in the garden at the rear of the property if you need to sleep more than six.

The villa is so amazing that we hardly left it. Our days were usually spent meandering between the pool and the beach moving from the swinging sun bed to a sun lounge or chair. We occasionally sat at the long dark wood dining table gazing out to the sea to enjoy a light lunch or dinner. The modern kitchen is fully equipped for you to self-cater or call in a local chef and the villa staff kindly clean up after you too. Nothing is too much trouble.

For those who like a little more activity you can go snorkelling and kayaking from the private beach (all the latest equipment is provided). The reef is right there for you to observe the resident sea life and you can kayak out to nearby deserted beaches or the volcano-shaped island if you have the energy.

And if you can tear yourself away from the villa, 'the Baths' and 'Devil's Bay' which are a collection of coastal granite boulders and caves that you can wander through, are only a 10 minute drive away. Swimming with the dolphins is on nearby Tortola island which is a half hour ferry ride away. And for cocktails on another beautiful beach in Virgin Gorda and a fusion dinner, nearby Cocomaya is a must.

If you're looking for an unspoilt Caribbean island destination where you can relax in a private luxury villa with your friends or family then Villa Aquamare is the place to spend your next holiday. We will certainly be returning...

Room Tip: If you want to be right on the beach, choose Villa 1. If you want to be nestled in the gardens with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldTravellerNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Aquamare is amazing! There is unlikely any better getaway in the BVI --- beautiful sunsets, a fabulous beach, a relaxed atmosphere, and crystal clear water. The furnishings are top notch combined with great personal service by an attentive staff. The hammocks and the unique beach bed make for an unbelievable experience. Highly recommended for a family getaway to the BVI!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank gfbiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Our family of 15 stayed at Aquamare (Villa #1 and Villa #2) for 10 days in June. Each summer we take a large family vacation. This summer our destination was Virgin Gorda and Aquamare.....and it was one of the best!!
The villas are truly lovely and very spacious. They are well appointed with luxury linens and Bvlgari toiletries. The bathrooms are large and the rain showers are wonderful! The kitchens are stocked with any tool and appliance you could need, along with 2 full sized refrigerators and a wine cooler. This was great since we had such a large group to feed!
The beach park is very nice with lots of beach loungers and umbrellas. We also used the kayaks on multiple days and appreciated that there were enough life jackets for everyone!
The best part of Aquamare is the staff. They are friendly and helpful and go above and beyond to take care of your every want and need. They truly make it an outstanding destination!
I highly recommend Aquamare for a luxurious, relaxing beach vacation!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jenw89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Our family spent Christmas at Aquamare and it was the best! There were eight of us in the house and there was plenty of room for everyone. We stayed in Villa 1 and my favorite place was sitting in the infinity pool looking out at the water -- best view of my life. We spent many hours on the beach just relaxing and making memories. We also spent one day island hopping and the consensus from all was that it was the best day of our lives. A vacation at Aquamare is a wonderful experience and the villas are spacious and truly beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hockeylaw27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Every year, my in-laws take the family on vacation and this year we headed to Aquamare. We had an amazing time at the villa and highly recommend it to others. The kids loved the infinity pool and the beach while we adults enjoyed preparing nightly feasts in the kitchen. For a special treat, I suggest renting the yacht for an afternoon. We hope to make this a tradition and look forward to coming back next year for another week in Caribbean paradise.

Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sparrow4323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin Gorda
2.6 mi away
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
Fischer's Cove Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
18.3 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
19.3 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mango Bay Resort
Mango Bay Resort
#3 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
#1 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Aquamare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Aquamare

Property: Villa Aquamare
Address: Plum Bay Road | The Valley, VG1150, Virgin Gorda
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Virgin Gorda
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Virgin Gorda
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Aquamare 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AQUAMARE is a unique and new standard in luxury, in Mahoe Bay, Virgin Gorda. A few minutes away from Virgin Gorda's airport, downtown and marina, these are state of the art, luscious and romantic beach front spa-villas with central air conditioning and many more luxurious amenities you can't find in any other villas available in the area. It's a secluded enclave comprised of three 8,000 sq.f. five-bedrooms villas, each situated on a different elevation and surrounded by lush landscaping for maximum privacy, yet angled to maximize views of the breathtaking Sir Francis Drake Channel. Guests have the rare option of renting more than one villa, or even all three to accommodate large gatherings for up to 36 people in one private enclave. AQUAMARE’s private Beach Park is the ideal setting for destination small weddings, meetings or special events. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Aquamare Hotel Virgin Gorda
Villa Aquamare Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing