We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Top of the Baths

Top of the Baths
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

The food was adequate, not great. The menu was rather meh, wish we would have packed a nice lunch instead of stopping here. The tour busses/taxis fill the place up; I'm glad we got there in a lull, as I would have been irritated to have waited to get such mediocre food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhoKnew55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    235
    107
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
303 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Average food. Great Views.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

This spot is convenient to the Baths, has awesome views and a great casual setting, but the food and service could have been better. We stopped by on a Sunday morning and had the BBQ Specials. The prices were good, portions a bit small and food just average or "so-so." Our mahi sandwich was not fresh and not so good. Service was average. The setting itself is attractive and fun. The restaurant even has a small freshwater pool on the patio for kids to enjoy. Since it is located above the beach you can wear your beach clothes. There is also some nice gift stores / shirt shops next door. If they could get their act together and provide great service and great food this place could be terrific. Unfortunately it is just average. We would likely not go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pirateparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Really good. Beautiful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Nothing fancy on my plate, but really really good. Tuna sandwich (I'm terribly picky about these!) was perfect. Pina coladas not to bad either! So good I had to try another....The bouganvillas are amazing. Good gift shop/clothing store on the site. Glad we went.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kayakutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,Il
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“beautiful view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

The food here is fair, the drinks are scrumptious, the waitstaff is not friendly. We always end up here on our vacation because its so nice to sit at the top of the baths after soaking up the sun at the beach. The pool is refreshing and the place is in such a beautiful setting. Also, we like the shops that are right there.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank VIwannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very lazy service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We arrived at the host podium here (where people would typically wait to be seated) and our host/server was over at the bar shooting the breeze, just looking at us until my husband finally signalled to him that we need to be seated. There would be no other reason we would be standing there. While he was serving us, he looked completely bored, was barely audible, and never came back to check on us after the food arrived. Food itself was really yummy. We got the wings and chicken roti. My husband predicted that the only time the server would come back was when our plates were empty and to give us the check. He was right. It wasn't until it was time for us to pay the bill (read: TIP TIME) that he gave a half an attempt to be friendly and asked if we were staying on the island.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KStarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top of the Baths also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Top of the Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing