We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck!”
Review of Top of the Baths

Top of the Baths
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yuck!”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

The drinks here are good, the food is not. If you are an adult partier, there is a fresh water pool at the restaurant that may appeal to you. However, this did not appeal to us. The food was by far the worst we had on the island. We only ordered appetizers, and decided to go elsewhere for lunch because they were not good. We had conch fritters from five different restaurants while in Virgin Gorda. Hands down, these were the worst. Go to Mad Dogs next door instead of Top of the Baths. The view is nice, but thats about it.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank l0well01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    241
    109
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
293 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

The location can't be beat, and the pool is awfully nice after a day at the Baths and the hike back up the hill. Drinks seemed to be somewhat reasonable, but the food (although tasty) was over-priced.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good for Lunch at Baths”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Good food, a little expensive, but priced comparable with any place on island. Drinks were excellent and cost between 6 and 8. Free WiFi and service was good. Would probably not recommend for Dinner. We both got wraps and enjoyed them.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDave1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
145 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great place for a quick lunch....”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stopped in for a late lunch after we'd been at the beach most of the morning...they had a good array of sandwiches, wish they would have had more salad offereings...

but the sandwiches they had were great, although I will say the service leaves a bit to be desired....however you have to remember Island time...

They had the pool you could swim in while you were waiting for lunch, before or after...nice touch

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahfina_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantasic view, tasty food, great service, pool, sunsets & free WiFi!”
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Our villa (Las Brisas Casita) was very close to here, so we ate at the Top of the Baths twice, but it should have been more. Really enjoyed their food! Our 1st time for lunch I had the Jerk Chicken on a bun with potato salad (you can choose your side). It was $13.95. Chicken was tasty & juicy, the bun was fresh, lightly toasted and big, came with lettuce & tomato. Potato salad was delish!

Hubby got a burger & fries, for $12.95. He liked it enough to order it again on our 2nd visit - (boring I know - even though I told him the chicken was awesome). My 2nd time I got the Mahi Mahi & potato salad. This fish was outstanding! Very lightly battered & so moist & yummy, there were 4 pieces.. Came with a tasty dipping sauce too.

Our service was wonderful, it was never busy in any place we were at (time of year I guess) so we always chatted it up with the staff. No one who works in VG is actually from VG! Most from Trinidad or Grenada, other various islands.
Our 2nd time we had actually tried to to eat at Mad Dogs 1st - but she wouldn't serve us at 5:25 pm - even though she was open til 6? She had put everything away - bla, bla. So I was kinda ticked, as now our $8 plate of food at Mad Dogs would be more like $25 - $30 because Top of the Baths switches to another pricier menu for dinner. So I walk in there & wine about Mad Dogs to the waiter & asked if we could still order off the lunch menu (its before 6). He says no - BUT the 2 ladies by the bar heard all this & they knew us from a couple days prior at lunch, so they said it was fine. So I was happy to have our meal only be $30 total, instead of $30 each! That being said I'm sure they have lovely dinner items - I'm just cheap! :)

The view is super (I'm posting lots of pics). There are lots of tables inside, to get out of the sun, or lots of comfy wicker furniture to eat on outside, its all open concept. The bar is big & the murals of sealife done around place give it some extra life.
The pool is a wonderful thing to have & if our house didn't have a pool, I would have been in Top of the Baths probably daily!
The sunsets from up here over the water are amazing.
We were aware that most BVI restaurants include the 15% tip to your bill & the Top of the Baths is no exception, so just realize this, so you don't tip twice, unless you want to!

Remember the bonus of FREE Wifi!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lovewaterview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top of the Baths also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Top of the Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing