We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Virgin Gorda Hang Out”

The Restaurant at Leverick Bay
Ranked #6 of 37 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Virgin Gorda Hang Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Absolutely charming get away. Bit like your regular coffee shop in a city. Clearly has a lot of regulars who must come here every day. Really good simple food. Hamburgers to die for by the way, plus all the seafood you would expect at this location. We used it a lot after visiting one of the great Pussers stores located at Leverick Bay.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GordonAbben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    75
    13
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Moko Jumbies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just returned from Virgin Gorda and went to the Jumbie BBQ at Leverick on the last day. What a lot of fun! We had rented villas at Mahoe Bay and didn't want to drive the roads to Leverick with alcohol on board. We discovered that a taxi will pick you up and deliver you home after the show for free! You just tip the driver. All 18 of us got picked up at 5:00 pm so we could partake in the happy hour and a little shopping before eating. Food starts at 6:30 with a whole pork on a smoker, ribs, chicken, fish, salads, veggies. Dessert is minimal, but who had room? Band starts playing around 7:00 and lots of folks were dancing. Jumbies arrive around 8:30 and are really a crowd pleaser. Kinds of fun, as we have been watching this energetic group for around 7 years and seen them grow up. Taxi arrived at 9:15 and were ready to leave as we had a long travel day on Saturday. I'm really surprised at earlier reviews of the food and cost. On an island where a hamburger is $15-20, everyone in our group felt that the $35 (includes BBQ, tip, band and jumbies) was the best deal of our visit. We highly recommend it for a lively, funfilled evening.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TennesseeSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
303 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Good fish and chips. Would go back.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Was in VG for a few days and headed over to Leverick Bay for supper one evening since we were staying close by. We wanted a casual meal and thats exactly what we got. Everything was delicious. Keep in mind that Leverick is a very casual family friendly resort. It is not an upscale expensive spot. The tables are white plastic directly on the sand covered by a straw palapa which was fun. They also use those huge wooden cable spools for tables too if that gives you an idea of what kind of place it is. We had great fish and chips served piping hot and crispy. Due to the location in the VG expect to pay about 30% more for anything than you would stateside. Our server was good, polite and smiling - a bit quiet - seemed to be a true local. We would definitely go back for a quick casual meal. Also, we did go back on a Friday night upon a friend's recommendation for the Friday Jumbie Show. We did not have the Friday "BBQ / Buffet" as it was a bit pricey and all you can eats do not appeal to us. We did go to the bar and enjoyed the show. The Jumbies are the colorful stilt dancers. It was fun to watch and there was a big crowd. Even though drinks flowed from the bar the show was definitely family oriented and one big dance party. The show lasted one hour. Kinda cheesy but a fun experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pirateparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
269 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“$8 pizza on Tuesdays - - yummmmm..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Went to Jumbies on Tuesday for the $8 pizza and $2 beers. This special was from 7-9pm. Happy Hour is from 4 to 6pm (they extended it an hour). So there is a one hour window of full price food and drinks. Got a table by the water and had a blast. Lots of pizza, great view and the DJ was playing some good tunes. Take along the OFF - - the biting bugs come out at dusk.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WileyPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Avoid the Friday Barbecue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Mass produced food, buffet style, not really a barbecue. The entertainment and the location help make up for some of that, but it was way overpriced for what was delivered.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gr8BritinUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Leverick Bay also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to The Restaurant at Leverick Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing