We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant night at The Rock”
Review of Rock Cafe

Rock Cafe
Ranked #8 of 38 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: Caribbean, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Amongst the famous Virgin Gorda's boulders with waterfalls cascading down. Incredible natural setting. New addition: the Treehouse restaurant. A walk through nature for an experience ABOVE IT ALL !!!
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
299 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“A pleasant night at The Rock”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We decided that The Rock Cafe would be the first restaurant to try on our first night in Virgin Gorda. There were four of us, two couples and we went a little early, as we were pretty much starving. We were taken outside and up the stairs to the waterfall area. It was a beautiful seating area, surrounded by huge boulders and the waterfall. Even though it was night, they did keep the umbrellas up over the tables, which ended up being a good idea. We started the night with appetizers and bread....both very good. Three of us chose the Red Snapper as our main course, which was a special that night...and one chose the Swordfish. It really was a great Snapper that was actually breaded and all who had it enjoyed it. My husband decided he liked my Snapper a little better than his Swordfish, so he "helped" me finish it off (thanks honey...like I needed the help :) .....although he enjoyed his as well. A bottle of wine accompanied our dinner and we finished with two Cream Brule to share with the table. During dinner, it began to rain, but the umbrellas were large enough to keep the entire group protected. We were asked if we wanted to move inside, but it was just too nice outside...even with the brief rain showers that passed by. It is all part of being in the islands! The wait staff were great and were there to take care of whatever we needed. They were also very friendly and gave us a nice welcome feel to the island. Upon leaving, the piano player had begun inside and sounded quite good. The crowds had started to pick up and there was some dancing going on. Seemed everyone was having a great time. One other night while in VG, we did order-in pizzas to take back to the villa and they were also delicious. It is a great idea if you are just too tired to go out. As good as the food is, I have to say that the outdoor seating up by the boulders really helped the entire experience. It is so much better than just going and sitting inside.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gldnpupper27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    96
    33
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Fair Food”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband and I went here with a group of people. My husband had the burger special which he (and others) said was very good. I ordered a Shrimp and Lobster salad with fruit (as described on the menu). I understand it was low season but my salad had four shrimp on it and no lobster and not one piece of fruit! So it was basically lettuce, feta, few shrimp and dressing. We had originally ordered an appetizer and were told it wasn't available but no mention of all the fixings for my salad not being available. However, I would give it another chance because the service and atmosphere were wonderful! Sunday night's are karaoke nights and it was very busy, even in the low season!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank WanderWasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwards, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't go here!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We went for our last night in paradise to have our experience ruined. Started with them forgetting to cook my husbands swordfish, so he watched us eat. When the swordfish came it was only seared and in a hurry, it was very disappointing. To add insult to injury, we were told by our charming waiter, Anthony, that the 15% automatic gratuity (unseeable on the menu anywhere) was only for the kitchen and the bar, and he would receive none, to use the guilt technique to extort tips. Total cost....ruined last night in paradise, specially because the lack of honesty.

Helpful?
2 Thank Skigalena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Rock Cafe, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Skigalena,

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologise for the bad experience you had with us. Please be assured this is not a common happening unfortunately it happened to you and ruined your whole experience for which we are deeply sorry.
As soon as the owner learned of the inconvenience you had, he tried to reach you at your hotel to personally apologise but you had already left.
If you come back to the BVI please visit us again and let us show you what we really are about.

Sincerely,

The Rock Cafe & Sam's Piano Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rockin' at The Rock Cafe, Something for Everyone!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

While sailing in the BVI the past two weeks we happened upon the Rock Café & Sam's Piano Bar while docked in Spanish Town, Virgin Gorda. This is a must for anyone in the area! They sent a cab for us, thanks to Jonathan, as it was pouring rain. There were seven of us and we managed to try several excellent dishes on the menu: the calamari & Zuchini appeizer, Shrimp & Lobster salad, gnocchi, fettuccini with salmon, lobster, pizza, catch of the day of mahi mahi and ... as well as excellent desserts. The service was excellent, both in the restaurant and bar, one fellow was clearly hospitality trained... very attentive to all our needs! Then we moved to the bar area and danced til it closed to the music and entertainment of Alan Shepperd. As it had stopped raining we were shown the other areas to eat... outdoors on a number of levels amid giant boulders and waterfalls, and the new treetops gazebo with a fabulous view overlooking the water. To my delight, they also had 3 TV screens with different sports games on and I was able to watch the Vancouver Canucks beat Toronto Maple Leafs between dances.... much to the disappointment of a local from Toronto! We were so impressed with everything that we split off from a group of sailboats we were travelling with to go back once more before leaving for the food and dancing! It is so convenient for boaters as they monitor VHF Channel 16 so you can make reservations... a must!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Rock Cafe, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Gail925,

Thank you for your kind review. We´re very happy that you had a fabulous time. Come back soon!
Have a great day!

RC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“RED SOX NATION in VIRGIN GORDA!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

It was October 30, the night of the last World Series game, and the first night of our vacation in Virgin Gorda. Where to cheer on our local team, The Red Sox, while having a great dinner? Since we're frequent visitors to Virgin Gorda, the solution was easy: The Rock Cafe! Normally we sit outdoors amongst the massive boulders which are uplit and have water flowing down the face the biggest boulder and provides delightful background sounds with coquis singing in the night as well. This evening we chose instead the massive indoor projection tv with baseball players larger than life! And what a JOY it was to watch our RED SOX win the pennant! Of course the game was in Spanish, but that was a minor detail. The bartender spent almost an hour trying to find the game for us on a million channels, and while he did this, we enjoyed delicious island drinks.

Dinner at The Rock Cafe was up to its usual high standards. The menu has been expanded and given more penache by Giorgio Paradisio. I enjoyed a tasty salmon filet with olive tampenade, my husband ordered a favorite: the Spaghetti Rock, and a friend mahi mahi. We shared an appetizer of calamari and zucchini with a light batter. Dessert was two chocolate mousses and one tiramisu. 5 stars!

My husband and I came back again for dinner Nov. 6 so we could enjoy sitting outside in the boulders, and again enjoyed a great dining experience. New this year is THE TREETOPS, a party room way up in the treetops where parties of 25 -30 guests can have a special event. Inside The Rock Cafe is "Sam's Piano Bar," so we came indoors for dessert to enjoy some fine piano playing and crooning before we called it a night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachbuddy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Rock Cafe, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your great review!
We are pleased that you had a great time with us!
Come back soon!
Kind regards from The Rock Cafe & Sams Piano Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Cafe also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing