We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVERAGE”
Review of Fat Virgin's Cafe

Fat Virgin's Cafe
Ranked #5 of 38 Restaurants in Virgin Gorda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: At Virgin Cafe's simple "Caribbean fusion" menu offers the best casual waterside dining in the BVI. Our delectable home style dishes include tender guava glazed baby back ribs, West Indian boneless chicken roti, grilled wahoo fish, gourmet sandwiches, fritters and homemade soups. We always use the best quality ingredients, including locally grown produce, freshly caught fish and Angus-grade beef. Homemade sauces and dressings such as sun-dried tomato aioli, lemon-poppy seed salad dressing, and mango chutney are house specialties. Gourmet magazine loves our Fat Virgin Hot Sauce. You can relax on our front deck with a drink or a 3-course meal. Bring the whole family or make it a special occasion for two. As long as you're ready to slow down the pace and savor our culinary delights, it doesn't matter if you come in your high heels or your bare feet.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
264 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“AVERAGE”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Not every restaurant can be excellent. Did not eat here but my wife and I had a couple of "Pain Killers" while waiting to go Lobster fishing. The drinks were good but the fishing was better...caught a 8 pounder!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gbusiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Fat Virgin's Cafe, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello George,

Thank you for visiting Fat Virgin Cafe and writing a review about us. We're very glad that you and your wife enjoyed our drinks although you didn't try our food and still wrote a review!!
Next time you visit us please try our food, it's great, our dishes are unique, we always receive great compliments and our ingredients are fresh and local. We're pretty sure that you are going to love it!!!

Thank you for your visit and kind regards from Fat Virgin Cafe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    51
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virgin Gorda
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Best, best, best food in the world! To die for roti, killer chips, omg!
Don't miss this one, you will be back for more!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank indigo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Fat Virgin's Cafe, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear bassbottle!
Thank you very much for your review!
Kind regards from Fat Virgin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The View”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

A great little hide away, around the corner from the Bitter End Yacht Club. Motor over in your dingy, have a cold brew and a wonderful outdoor lunch. Great grilled burger with blue cheese, or how about a BLT with Brie ? The fries are fresh, the water is blue and the breeze is refreshing. Give it a try after a day on the water.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zek7717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Fat Virgin's Cafe, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hello indigo99!

Thank you for your review! Come back soon!!
Fat Virgin Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cheeseburger in paradise!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great casual little outdoor restaurant on the water near Birras Creek. Also right next door to their gift shop for souvenir shopping. Our party enjoyed fish sandwiches and burgers. Like most things in the islands, nothing is rushed. Order a cocktail (or a cold beer), sit back and relax while you wait for them to freshly grill up your meal!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PiperNeedsMoreTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgarraus, Public Relations Manager at Fat Virgin's Cafe, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear kspellman02

Thank you for your kind words, we are very happy to serve costumers like you and we always try to do our best.
See you soon,
Kind regards,

Fat Virgin Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“I love it! I simply love it!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Every time I go to the Fat Virgin I am always thrilled. The Chicken Roti is the BEST on the island, if you ask me. The place is truly delightful, warm, welcoming, and always perfect!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank soncijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Virgin's Cafe also viewed

Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
Virgin Gorda, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Fat Virgin's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing