We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Relais San Maurizio
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend escape”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Relais San Maurizio is located in the vineyards of Piemont, near the Barolo area.
The hotel offers all expected amenities, additionally surprises by excellent service and calm atmosphere.
As the hotel is remote from major attractions, the hotel infrastructure itself, the spa and the surrounding vineyards are the main options.
It is worth mentioning that the hotel offers E-bikes to explore the nearby landscape. We were taking advantage of this service and were surprised by the comfort and distance those bikes provide. The hotel staff arranged a tour through one of the nearby wineries as well. We just stayed 2 days and left the Piemont relaxed and full of new and positive impressions.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INe0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    98
    28
    8
    12
See reviews for
50
281
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We decided to spend one night at Relais San Maurizio so that we could enjoy dinner at Guido and not have to worry about having to drive home after dinner. The property, a converted monestary is beautiful as are the views. However our sleeping room and private patio were only average. In fact, my husband and I both agree that the bed was the hardest and most uncomfortable we encountered in all of Italy. The front desk staff was extremely friendly, but we found the servers at breakfast and in the bar to be snobby. We found better accommodations and service in lower rated properties in Italy. And we have stayed at 5 star properties in the US and found this hotel to be lacking. Overall, we do not plan to return and would not necessary recommend the property although I cannot imagine doing the drive up/down the hill in order to enjoy dinner at Guido. Unfortunately if you plan to eat at Guido, one night at San Maurizio may be your best bet.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank schk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

A two nights stay to enjoy the white truffle fair in Alba close by. Despite regular single room a bit small in my opinion, everything was close to perfection: welcome, staff, cleanliness, bar, wine list, cigar room, panorama and a fantastic spa

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pascalakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Like some of the recent reviewers, we were fortunate to spend 2 nights here while visiting the Piedmonte region. We found this place on the Relais & Chateau web site, and must say that everything about is perfect. The setting is breath taking, being located on a hill overlooking the vineyards of Piedmonte. Our room, number 118, had the same spectular views. The pools (indoor & outdoor), spa, bar and common areas are beautiful, the outdoor pool being particularly so. The grounds are extremely well maintained, and the service, from arrival to departure, was professional and attentive. The resto in the cellar is special and well worth giving it a try. Breakfast buffet was copious and delicious with a wide range of brads, meats, eggs made to order, fruit, etc

Room Tip: You can see all the rooms on their website so you can actually select the one you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheerleader99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

My husband and I were fortunate enough to stay here for 1 night during our week long bike trip in Piedmont. It was the best night of the week! Everything was perfect; the room, the pool, the views. Dinner in the wine cellar restaurant was magical. I hope to get back here soon!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynMacEachern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

This was my third time in this hotel. The service from the moment you drive up the gravel drive atop an enormous mountain, to meet a concierge, who will take you bags, and even park your car. A warm welcome, and then you are shown to your room. An old monastery with spacious rooms, too many drawing/sitting rooms to mention, an outdoor pool, luxury spa building, a 2 Michelin star restaurant, several terraces affording exquisite views of the surrounding vineyards. I cannot say enough about the view, it truly is unbelievable! Dinner at the restaurant was fantastic, and breakfast on the terrace outside was extensive and unbeatable. This really may be the best hotel in the world!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed with our son for 5 nights earlier this month. Pricey but worth it! Amazing views of the surrounding wine country. Service from most of the reception and serving staff very warm and efficient. Very comfortable duplex suite, which was just right in terms of size, comfort and convenience, especially with the large, well-equipped bathroom located upstairs next to the master bedroom, unlike most duplex suites. We enjoyed the expansive grounds and historical feel of the hotel and also enjoyed the fantastic outdoor pool with its glorious views. Three dinners in the Guido fine-dining restaurant were excellent, with the atmospheric cellar setting, warm service and delicious updated Piemontese classics. Negatives: Dinner in the hotel's bistro overpriced and mediocre, far better to eat out in local restaurants; the buffet breakfast could be better in terms of quality/variety of some items; the single staff at the swimming-pool could be more personal in dealing with guests and better trained to handle parasols etc; guest rooms could be given a more welcoming touch with some fresh fruit, water etc.
A footnote to our stay was that, on checking out, our car broke down an hour later as we were enroute to France. As a result we returned to San Maurizio for an extra night - and they had taken note of my comments regarding fresh fruit and water in the guest rooms!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 17lydia45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Stefano Belbo
9.0 mi away
Castello di Guarene
Castello di Guarene
#1 of 3 in Guarene
151 reviews
12.9 mi away
Il Boscareto Resort & SPA
Il Boscareto Resort & SPA
#1 of 2 in Serralunga d'Alba
420 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Le Botti
Hotel Le Botti
#2 of 3 in Guarene
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Villa d'Amelia Relais
Villa d'Amelia Relais
#1 of 1 in Benevello
328 reviews
14.5 mi away
Corte Gondina Boutique Hotel
22.5 mi away
Relais Sant'Uffizio Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais San Maurizio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais San Maurizio

Property: Relais San Maurizio
Address: Localita San Maurizio, 39, 12058 Santo Stefano Belbo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Cuneo > Santo Stefano Belbo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santo Stefano Belbo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais San Maurizio 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais San Maurizio is a unique, unforgettable place. Refined and romantic, it is the ideal place for a true time of wellness, relaxation, soothing the senses and the spirit. An unexpected, happy discovery. The frescoed halls, the 31 rooms with unique decorations, the gardens and the park with centuries-old trees are all truly enchanting. The large outdoor swimming pool at the top of the hill provides a 360° view of the surrounding landscape. The hotel is also home to the Michelin starred 'di Guido da Costigliole' restaurant and the exclusive 'La Via del Sale' Medical & Beauty SPA. It is a partner of the Relais & Chateaux chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Relais San Maurizio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais San Maurizio Hotel Santo Stefano Belbo
Relais San Maurizio Italy/Santo Stefano Belbo, Piedmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing